We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, ok hotel, good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clifton South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Clifton South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
trevor-wa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“great location, ok hotel, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In the perfect location on collins ave in the middle of southbeach one block off of ocean blvd.

the rooms are very small and the beds are on low pedistals 6 inches off the floor

the walls are paper thin so you hear anything the neighbors are up to

the staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: the two fronting collins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
trevor-wa - Thank you for your review, as a Top Contributor many people look to your reviews and I am glad you enjoyed the Clifton South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    86
    55
    32
    32
See reviews for
41
83
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had a very nice stay at this hotel; I would highly recommend it to friends and family. I liked the cleanliness and the hospitality from staff. Maria is an excellent and helpful receptionist. The rooms were super clean and you can't hear any noise outside so that it makes it easy to relax. The location of the hotel is very convenient because you can walk to ocean drive. This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel and i will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Martha M- Thank you for the Excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a cool Hotel, good location, good service and friendly staff but.... These are the thinnest walls of any hotel I have ever stayed in period. If you can get by that then you'll have a great time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
walbern- Thank you for the great review, unfortunately depending on your neighbors the noise from other rooms does travel however we try to address any noise issues immediately
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Clifton with my son. The staff was so friendly and helpful especially Michelle. She greeted us with a welcoming smile when we arrived and asked my son about his day every time she saw him! I would highly reccommend staying in this hotel. It is very convenienty located. You dont need a car at all! One block from the most beautiful beach I have ever seen!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
tallgilrpgh25- Thank you for the Great review and acknowledging our great staff members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This quaint eco-chic hotel was a pleasure to stay at. Located right in downtown Miami South Beach (awesome location)!!!

The staff were super nice, helpful and very courteous to our needs!!

Special shout outs to Michelle at the front desk and Razan at the door for making our stay that much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
erinmichelle1989- Thank you for the Great review and acknowledging our Eco friendly attributes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is probably one of the worst hotels I've ever been to. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are nice, tiny but nice but the service sucks. The lady at the front desk was rude and messy. She obviously did not want to be working. The T.V in the room was not working, houekeeping decided they wanted to only clean the rooms halfway and threw the towels wherever they felt like. The so called "breakfast" consisted of cereals and bread. I thought "Ok at least there's continental breakfast" NOPE! I was wrong. They wanted us to pay for our "luxurious fruit loops." The rooms were not sound proof, so you could hear EVERYTHING! Every conversation and every step outside of the door (That's a lot of heels considering it's located in South Beach) Once again, one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
emily u- Thank you for your review and we are happy that you liked the hotel and we apologize that our staff failed to exceed your expectations our staff usually is a shining star on our guests stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed 10 nights at Clifton Hotel in December 2012. The room was clean and they tyed it up every day. Before we got our room key, they also checked if everything is ok.

The stuff was very helpfull, especially Michelle helped us in all manners.

For us the only negativ point, but in our opinion it's an important one which the hotel should improve is, that it's really noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Scibby13- Thank you for the great review, unfortunately depending on your neighbors the noise from other rooms does travel however we try to address any noise issues immediately. Than you again for choosing the Clifton for your extended stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton South Beach Hotel

Address: 1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel was recently transformed so guests can enjoy a classic boutique experience that is fresh, hip and eco-friendly. We looked at all aspects of updating our 35 room Art Deco historic building using resource conserving technology and selecting environmentally friendly materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Clifton South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.