We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Century Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and chose this hotel based on its location, reviews, and price. Big mistake! Bare minimum amenities. We had to ask for facecloths, tissue paper and toilet paper. The room was poorly lit, no working clock, only one nite stand, only 3 clothes hangers. The corridors were also poorly lit and dirty. Two out of 3 front desk staff had bad attitudes and could care less. The only thing this hotel has going for it is it's across the street from a Starbucks (the "continental breakfast" is also a joke) and the Marriott. We went to the Marriott to go to the beach and put on makeup.

Room Tip: None of the rooms Looked good Run away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sn0wc0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for one night before our reservation at another hotel across the street. This is considered a "boutique hotel" - privately owned, not franchise owned. That said, the standard is far lower than the likes of the Hilton Bentley, or the Marriott South Beach. I chose this hotel because of the location and price since we were literally only spending 9 hours there. I give them an "A" for effort as far as trying to make it look like a boutique hotel, but really it reminded me of my old college house. It is very old with alot of paint to try and make it look ArtDeco. The doors and the walls are very thin - I did not sleep at all. In all fairness, I am used to staying at Hilton properties - this hotel just isn't for me. It is perfect maybe for those who are just out of college, want to save some money and just experience South Beach without alot of emphasis on where they are staying. I would personally not stay here again, but I would recommend it to a younger generation on a budget that wouldn't be spending much time in their room. And, with regards to the previous reviews, I definately did not see any bugs, or cockroaches (and I looked).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have two things to say about this hotel, bed bugs and cockroaches. Buyer beware... Seriously sleeping I your car is a better option. Don't take the good reviews seriously and get wooed because it is a little cheaper then the surrounding places. We mentioned this to the front desk employee and his reply was... "It's Miami".

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWXOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the century hotel. Rooms are very small and very nice. Wood floor, soft bed, fridge and wifi. Good soap too. We bought more when we got home. The hotel decor is Art Deco and very fun. Starbucks and the beach right across the street. As well as the fantastic restaurants and bars a block away. Far enough your not being intruded upon and close enough to enjoy. There is also Joe's stone crab restaurant nearby. We ordered take away seafood and it was marvelous! What a treat!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here the night before leaving early on a boat from Miami's Port. A safe walkable area.
The room was clean and the staff was freindly. The walls are quite thin though. We had a group come in around 5:00 am (closing time for the South Beach bars) and the doors opening and closing were so loud it sounded like our door was opening. Parking was easier than expected. Find a spot on the street then find a parking meter. Once you have your"parking pass" you can park anywhere in South Beach. About $17 for street parking $25 for valet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed her for 5 nights with my husband in March. Hotel is in a really great loaction. It's literally a 3 minute walk to the beach (stunning) and about a 5-10 minute walk to all the bars on Ocean Drive. We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were always super friendly (Italian guy, sorry, didn't get your name but you were fantastic! thanks!) and the room was pretty okay. The decor inside the hotel is fab! Very modern and trendy, unfortunately our room wasn't so. Not that its a problem, I don't go to hotels for the room decor. But when the hotel is nicely done up and the room is very sperse it does seem very obvious. Our room was white walls (Verry badly scuffed) with white tiled floor. Again, it really didn't bother us but my pet hate with the room was the bed in room 219 was far too creaky. I mean, really badly creaky. Just the slight bit of weight on the bed made the wooden bed frame scream. It was obvious the bed had previously been broken and with an attemt to fix. The double plug on the wall at the foot of the bed kept losing its facing. And the double plug in the shower room was very lose. But to be fair, the price we paid for our stay was very reasonable. I would stay here again if I I decided to visit Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayLouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Basic, but adequate hotel in Miami beach if yoy want a good base for exploring south beach. Basic, but very clean room, modern bathrooms, but fan as an unbrelievable noise level. If you turn on the lights in the bathroom, the fan launches. So if yoy need to go to the toilet in the middle of the night you have two options. Either you do what you must in the dark, or yoy wake up everyone in the room and the rooms next door.
Breakfast is also basic, but provide with a smile.
The main asset of this hotel is its location, 200 metres from the beach, but in a quiet area. Restaurants 500 meters away. Can recommend if you want a place to sleep that is not too expensive and are exploring to city more than staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Would prefer rooms with even numbers because of less noise. Steep stairway to second floor. Stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#149 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
Starlite Hotel
#152 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Art Deco Hotel situated on Ocean Drive, across street from Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing