We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Century Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

First night here.. And last. Grotty smelly room. Damp on the walls and it cost $179 plus tax plus $25 parking.. No blind at bathroom window, and loud humming noise from some machinery somewhere all night. Holes in the wall and cupboard doors. Looks, and is,very poor and run down.
Biggest rip off city I have ever been to.
Art Deco.?? It needs demolishing.!
Spent 5 weeks in the US on this trip in Orlando &vegas, which was excellent in every aspect.. Miami..... Disgusting.!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    118
    75
    34
    36
See reviews for
41
123
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent hotel. The manager is extremely nice and helped us in everything. Breakfast is included and is very good for american patterns. The rooms are not very big, but they are modern and very clean. The beach is just in front of the hotel. Lincoln Road is far, so it is necessary to go by car or take a cab, but there are many restaurants nearby. There is no parking lot at the hotel, but you can pay for a valet parking, as in most of the Maiami Beach hotels. I strongly recommend this hotel, even if the location is not the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year's, when the prices were probably at their highest (~$250 per room per night). I agree that the desk staff were very friendly and the location of the hotel is really good. We weren't expecting anything fancy - but the standard in the rooms (we had two on the upper floor) was not up to scratch - in one room whole pieces of the parquet flooring had come free in several places, leaving the floor uneven; in the other room, the mattress was in worse shape than I'd ever seen in a hotel, with a spring actually sticking out the side and making a loud creak if you sat or moved in bed. Also, the hallway had a dormitory-like feeling, dark and a bit musty, with lots of visible dust and dirt on the carpet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good value, nice stuff. You have shops, beach, party and main street just 10 minutes walk. Our room had a extra large bad. The only problem was construction side near Hotel. It could be laud from time to time.............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This one is a hard one to review because the desk staff are great and the location is perfect!!
Parking is impossible without paying the required valet fee of $25. Parking on the street does not become available until 3 a.m. and lasts until 6 a.m.! As I said, the desk staff are very accommodating and even changed our room when the television failed to operate properly.
The room was rather stark. White tile floor with a queen bed. There was a television on a desk a few chairs and a refrigerator. The bathroom was marble and offered shampoo and deodorant. We were on the first floor so the view out of the windows was alleys and parking lots. We stepped outside, took a left and headed down to the restaurants and shops of South Beach. After approximately 1 block, you came to a park with the ocean directly on the other side of the wall. Lots of food options and the South Beach atmosphere we hear so much about. We only stayed for one night after returning from the Keys. I would definitely stay here again now that the initial shock of seeing the room has faded. The hotel also offers a continental breakfast but, wanting a little more, we were directed to Big Pinks restaurant around the corner. Great food and lots of it!!!! Not sure the parking situation can be avoided since I don't know the area well, but $1.75 every hour is more work than I want to deal with when I'm vacationing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pros:
The hotel is right across the street from the beach.
Upon waking Ocean Drive at around 2 am, the hotel resides on the quiet block. If you dropped something you would hear it. Ten blocks left of the hotel, the bass is so heavy that it vibrates you out of your seat.
Within walking distance to Joe's Stone Crabs.
Serves breakfast (mini bagels, toast, and juice).
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
ATM located in the hotel.
Nice bathroom.
Damage Deposit was only $50 for two days.
Room had a mini refrigerator.

Cons
No elevator. Room was located on the 2nd floor. Luckily we only had to go up about 11 steps.
No alarm clock and the clock on the wall always stated the time was 6:42.
Walls are pretty thin. I could hear someone else in the room above me.
If you are a person who loves to have a pitch black room at night, this hotel is not for you. The hallway light shines into the room from the room number cut out.
The bed was uncomfortable and I woke up with a back ache.
Even though the blocks in Miami are small, be prepared to walk if you are looking for entertainment and food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off i need to say it takes quite a bit to upset us when staying at a hotel. This place was horrible. The only good thing about it was the location. We paid $250 plus tax for 2 nights so I wouldn't say it was cheap. The lobby and hallways smell horrible. When taking a shower you need to turn the tap to cold to get hot water and turn the tap to hot for cold water. A person could get burnt very easily. The bathroom was full of fruit flies (I killed 20 the first night). The shower door has a 1" gap at the bottom and rubbed at the top, made quite a puddle on the floor. There was no phone in the room so whenever you need something you have to walk downstairs to the lobby. The top 1/4 of the tv was all dead pixels so it was very hard to watch. I was also under the impression that a hot breakfast was included, it was not. It was bagles, cereal and coffee. Last but not least the bed was very comfortable but it squeaked so loud that anytime you roll over you wake everyone in the room. The comforter was rolled in a ball and thrown in the closet. We had to take the duvet cover off as it was filthy. I will NEVER stay here again and I would never recommend it to anybody!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#149 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Blanc Kara
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Fashionhaus Hotel
#141 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
South Pointe
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#79 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#151 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Art Deco Hotel situated on Ocean Drive, across street from Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.