We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Bare Bones Lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Century Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Fernando, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Bare Bones Lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This one is a hard one to review because the desk staff are great and the location is perfect!!
Parking is impossible without paying the required valet fee of $25. Parking on the street does not become available until 3 a.m. and lasts until 6 a.m.! As I said, the desk staff are very accommodating and even changed our room when the television failed to operate properly.
The room was rather stark. White tile floor with a queen bed. There was a television on a desk a few chairs and a refrigerator. The bathroom was marble and offered shampoo and deodorant. We were on the first floor so the view out of the windows was alleys and parking lots. We stepped outside, took a left and headed down to the restaurants and shops of South Beach. After approximately 1 block, you came to a park with the ocean directly on the other side of the wall. Lots of food options and the South Beach atmosphere we hear so much about. We only stayed for one night after returning from the Keys. I would definitely stay here again now that the initial shock of seeing the room has faded. The hotel also offers a continental breakfast but, wanting a little more, we were directed to Big Pinks restaurant around the corner. Great food and lots of it!!!! Not sure the parking situation can be avoided since I don't know the area well, but $1.75 every hour is more work than I want to deal with when I'm vacationing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veloris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pros:
The hotel is right across the street from the beach.
Upon waking Ocean Drive at around 2 am, the hotel resides on the quiet block. If you dropped something you would hear it. Ten blocks left of the hotel, the bass is so heavy that it vibrates you out of your seat.
Within walking distance to Joe's Stone Crabs.
Serves breakfast (mini bagels, toast, and juice).
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
ATM located in the hotel.
Nice bathroom.
Damage Deposit was only $50 for two days.
Room had a mini refrigerator.

Cons
No elevator. Room was located on the 2nd floor. Luckily we only had to go up about 11 steps.
No alarm clock and the clock on the wall always stated the time was 6:42.
Walls are pretty thin. I could hear someone else in the room above me.
If you are a person who loves to have a pitch black room at night, this hotel is not for you. The hallway light shines into the room from the room number cut out.
The bed was uncomfortable and I woke up with a back ache.
Even though the blocks in Miami are small, be prepared to walk if you are looking for entertainment and food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Travel-4-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off i need to say it takes quite a bit to upset us when staying at a hotel. This place was horrible. The only good thing about it was the location. We paid $250 plus tax for 2 nights so I wouldn't say it was cheap. The lobby and hallways smell horrible. When taking a shower you need to turn the tap to cold to get hot water and turn the tap to hot for cold water. A person could get burnt very easily. The bathroom was full of fruit flies (I killed 20 the first night). The shower door has a 1" gap at the bottom and rubbed at the top, made quite a puddle on the floor. There was no phone in the room so whenever you need something you have to walk downstairs to the lobby. The top 1/4 of the tv was all dead pixels so it was very hard to watch. I was also under the impression that a hot breakfast was included, it was not. It was bagles, cereal and coffee. Last but not least the bed was very comfortable but it squeaked so loud that anytime you roll over you wake everyone in the room. The comforter was rolled in a ball and thrown in the closet. We had to take the duvet cover off as it was filthy. I will NEVER stay here again and I would never recommend it to anybody!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very basic hotel,but in an ideal location in a lovely quite area of Ocean Drive,close enough so that with a short walk you are in the middle of all that the famous Ocean Drive has to offer.The beach is also just across the road as is the local Starbucks.
The hotel is very art deco on the outside but when you walk through the door it becomes very shabby and basic,the staff on reception are friendly and welcoming,the rooms are dated and extremely basic with a very noisy airconditioning system
Breakfast was included in our room rate (am I allowed to use that word again)it was very very basic,if you were stopping for more than two nights you would probably skip breakfast and grab one out as there are lots of brekkie deals about
This hotel was ok for one night and at a push we probably would have stayed two anymore and I definately would have upgraded to a better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4weeksaintenuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Many of our out of town guests stayed at the Century during the weeks before and after our wedding weekend in October 2012 because it is close to the ceremony and the reception venues. The staff was magnificent, incredibly helpful and proactive. Our guests came in from over seas and many cities around the US. Rosario and Orlando really helped to get everyone situated and accommodated our guests with many requests' unanticipated requests. They also allowed us to use the reception/lobby area to hold some gatherings impromptu. Our guests were very pleased with the hotel and thought it was well priced. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the South of Fifth neighborhood across the street from the beach, clear of all the madness but close enough to walk to it, if desired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tesorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London SE27
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Century ( total $198 + tax) which has a great location at the quieter end of Ocean Drive, just a few minutes from the beach & a short walk to restaurants etc.

The room was quite small, but seemed clean enough. However the aircon was noisy & for us a major inconvenience was not having any reading lights by the bed. There was only one central ceiling light which was extremely bright.

Flat panel TV was good, no in room safe.

Small shower/bathroom area: clean with a number of useful toiletries (sachets of branded shampoo, toothpaste etc) but the shower door did not close completely so the floor got quite wet.

Bed was comfortable, however there was a light outside which flickered on & off all night which disturbed my sleep even through the blinds.

Breakfast was unremarkable- bagels, toast, cereal, juice & hot tea/coffee.

There was a very unpleasant smell in the upstairs corridor-cross between urine & carpet freshener to my nose.

Staff seemed pleasant enough.

We would stay again- just for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#148 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Starlite Hotel
#154 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blanc Kara
#25 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#135 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#70 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Art Deco Hotel situated on Ocean Drive, across street from Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing