We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting waaaaaaaay worse! Don't let the other reviews scare you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alamo to your Saves list
Alamo
4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I was expecting waaaaaaaay worse! Don't let the other reviews scare you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I booked this blindly via hot-wires secret specials. Once reading the other reviews I was terrified of what I would find once I arrived. Well I was totally surprised to find a 1/2 decent place. The place from the outside looks nothing like the pics i recall seeing online. the location is ideal, as it was SUPER close to Miami flyer bus stop (i was coming in late from the airport Jan 1). It was only a 20 min walk down to the fabulous south beach area too. The place was clean, the guy at reception (a young Russian?? gentleman) was totally helpful and friendly. The room was absolutely clean, and even better than a motel 6 (which i was thinking would beat the pants off this place based on others reviews). The bed comfy, the bathroom clean and well stocked with expected amenities. Sure the place is on the older side, but for $88usd all in, vs the other hotels hotwire had available from $300 and up-crappy time of year to going through Miami for one night-this was really a pleasant surprise. I don't know if the owner has done more work on the place or what, but I would totally stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    20
    13
    24
See reviews for
15
21
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It's true that this hotel is old, but as mentioned in other review, if you paid really low price (e.g. 20$/person) keep your expectations low and you will be happy with your stay! To reflect on some previous reviews:
• The hotel has now a new, functional elavator
• No bed bugs
• Staff was not very talkative, but wouldn't consider them unfriendly
• There is free parking in front of the hotel. When I got to the hotel all places were taken, so I just parked at a meter nearby. About 2 hours later, I moved my car to one of the free hotel spots.
• Very close to the beach. About 20 minutes by bus to South Beach.
• Bathroom was really old, but we didn't have any mold there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place shouldnt be open by any means. It is old and the people who works there are not friendly at all. They are mean specially the lady in the front desk, the receptionist if you can call her that. They are doing false advertisement when they say you have free parking cause you dont. Overall they should close down..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The property is old, but me and my friend enjoyed our stay. If you go there with low expectation and paying it cheap then it should be fine! I would come back to this hotel, granted the room would be cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unsanitary hotel.
I was suffering for a month from the bites on my body after sleeping on their unsanitary unwashed bedding . There is no service of any kind, no exercise room, nothing works,
The hotel is situated though in the relatively good area, close to the bus, but far from the South beach, if that's where you would like to go for a day of swimming. The nearby cafe ( approximately 2 blocks away) is overcrowded , no place to sit for breakfast, very long lines, as there are no other places for grocery shopping other than a very small sandwich shop in the nearby hotel which is 1 block away.

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

stay away ... have never stayed in such a terrible place. CSI Miami must use this hotel as their divey crack house downtown hotel. Filthy, smelly, paint peeling, mold on the washroom walls, looks like the elevator has been boarded up for years. We had to keep the window open all night to try and air out the room from the cleaning product smell. Disgusting. Only 5 or 6 spots for parking right in front. Not within walking distance of the interesting beach front shops and night life. Found a great Italian restaurant a few blocks away. Had supper and hung out there. Got back to this hotel as late as we could and out as early. Stay away ... awful experience.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Think about a cheap crappy motel from a Miami gangster movie, but the problem is that it's not even cheap. I paid a disconted rate of approx $135 and if you're not familiar with the hotel, you think it's a good budget accomodation. When I got there, I regret not having spent $40 more for a real hotel.
As mentioned in other reviews, the elevator was broken, bathroom with mold, obsolete room furniture and appliances, old doors painted roughly over and over, windows too scary to be opened. Expedia advertises limited free parking but there are actually only 6-7 spots for a total of 40 rooms, but after you walk in, this becomes the less problem. Only thing worth to remember, the lady at the concierge was very nice and friendly. It could be a nice vintage boutique hotel with a major renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo

Address: 4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.