We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alamo to your Saves list
Alamo
4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It's true that this hotel is old, but as mentioned in other review, if you paid really low price (e.g. 20$/person) keep your expectations low and you will be happy with your stay! To reflect on some previous reviews:
• The hotel has now a new, functional elavator
• No bed bugs
• Staff was not very talkative, but wouldn't consider them unfriendly
• There is free parking in front of the hotel. When I got to the hotel all places were taken, so I just parked at a meter nearby. About 2 hours later, I moved my car to one of the free hotel spots.
• Very close to the beach. About 20 minutes by bus to South Beach.
• Bathroom was really old, but we didn't have any mold there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    18
    13
    24
See reviews for
15
19
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place shouldnt be open by any means. It is old and the people who works there are not friendly at all. They are mean specially the lady in the front desk, the receptionist if you can call her that. They are doing false advertisement when they say you have free parking cause you dont. Overall they should close down..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The property is old, but me and my friend enjoyed our stay. If you go there with low expectation and paying it cheap then it should be fine! I would come back to this hotel, granted the room would be cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unsanitary hotel.
I was suffering for a month from the bites on my body after sleeping on their unsanitary unwashed bedding . There is no service of any kind, no exercise room, nothing works,
The hotel is situated though in the relatively good area, close to the bus, but far from the South beach, if that's where you would like to go for a day of swimming. The nearby cafe ( approximately 2 blocks away) is overcrowded , no place to sit for breakfast, very long lines, as there are no other places for grocery shopping other than a very small sandwich shop in the nearby hotel which is 1 block away.

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

stay away ... have never stayed in such a terrible place. CSI Miami must use this hotel as their divey crack house downtown hotel. Filthy, smelly, paint peeling, mold on the washroom walls, looks like the elevator has been boarded up for years. We had to keep the window open all night to try and air out the room from the cleaning product smell. Disgusting. Only 5 or 6 spots for parking right in front. Not within walking distance of the interesting beach front shops and night life. Found a great Italian restaurant a few blocks away. Had supper and hung out there. Got back to this hotel as late as we could and out as early. Stay away ... awful experience.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Think about a cheap crappy motel from a Miami gangster movie, but the problem is that it's not even cheap. I paid a disconted rate of approx $135 and if you're not familiar with the hotel, you think it's a good budget accomodation. When I got there, I regret not having spent $40 more for a real hotel.
As mentioned in other reviews, the elevator was broken, bathroom with mold, obsolete room furniture and appliances, old doors painted roughly over and over, windows too scary to be opened. Expedia advertises limited free parking but there are actually only 6-7 spots for a total of 40 rooms, but after you walk in, this becomes the less problem. Only thing worth to remember, the lady at the concierge was very nice and friendly. It could be a nice vintage boutique hotel with a major renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for a night during the boat show because everything else was booked and this was close to where we needed to be. We paid $300 for a night and got what I would expect of a $49 a night or an hourly motel! I don't even know where to begin. The place smelled, they advertise on hotels dot com free parking but they told us the lot was full. Elevator was broken so walking up the stairs to the room it looked like a joke. Bathroom was in a complete state of disrepair. Mold over the shower, cabinets look beat up. The water pressure was a drip at best.
The glass in the window was cracked, the screen in front of it was broken and fixed with duct tape. The TV was a 18 inch, hung on the wall with the base still attached and using a rabbit ear antenna. We got 3 channels, sort of. There was a kitchen provided with chips and holes in the counter itself, the sheets looked 5 years old. There was an ironing board with no iron. They charged a $20 key deosit. If felt like I was staying in a crack house.
The guy at the desk upon checkout was nice but this place needs to be refurbished or torn down. I feel so cheated having paid 300 dollars to stay here. No matter what you're doing in Miami Beach, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: North side rooms have a good view if you can see through the disgusting windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashram S, Manager at Alamo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Obviously the boat show must have gotten the best of him. I have two porters waiting to assist guest with luggage or other bags to their rooms due to the instillation of a new elevator. The website of Hotels.com. & Expedia both state free but LIMITED parking, check it! Frustrations are not an excuse to lie about a place of business. Hopefully his next boat show experience will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo

Address: 4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.