We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alamo to your Saves list
Alamo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

stay away ... have never stayed in such a terrible place. CSI Miami must use this hotel as their divey crack house downtown hotel. Filthy, smelly, paint peeling, mold on the washroom walls, looks like the elevator has been boarded up for years. We had to keep the window open all night to try and air out the room from the cleaning product smell. Disgusting. Only 5 or 6 spots for parking right in front. Not within walking distance of the interesting beach front shops and night life. Found a great Italian restaurant a few blocks away. Had supper and hung out there. Got back to this hotel as late as we could and out as early. Stay away ... awful experience.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    20
    13
    26
See reviews for
16
21
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Think about a cheap crappy motel from a Miami gangster movie, but the problem is that it's not even cheap. I paid a disconted rate of approx $135 and if you're not familiar with the hotel, you think it's a good budget accomodation. When I got there, I regret not having spent $40 more for a real hotel.
As mentioned in other reviews, the elevator was broken, bathroom with mold, obsolete room furniture and appliances, old doors painted roughly over and over, windows too scary to be opened. Expedia advertises limited free parking but there are actually only 6-7 spots for a total of 40 rooms, but after you walk in, this becomes the less problem. Only thing worth to remember, the lady at the concierge was very nice and friendly. It could be a nice vintage boutique hotel with a major renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for a night during the boat show because everything else was booked and this was close to where we needed to be. We paid $300 for a night and got what I would expect of a $49 a night or an hourly motel! I don't even know where to begin. The place smelled, they advertise on hotels dot com free parking but they told us the lot was full. Elevator was broken so walking up the stairs to the room it looked like a joke. Bathroom was in a complete state of disrepair. Mold over the shower, cabinets look beat up. The water pressure was a drip at best.
The glass in the window was cracked, the screen in front of it was broken and fixed with duct tape. The TV was a 18 inch, hung on the wall with the base still attached and using a rabbit ear antenna. We got 3 channels, sort of. There was a kitchen provided with chips and holes in the counter itself, the sheets looked 5 years old. There was an ironing board with no iron. They charged a $20 key deosit. If felt like I was staying in a crack house.
The guy at the desk upon checkout was nice but this place needs to be refurbished or torn down. I feel so cheated having paid 300 dollars to stay here. No matter what you're doing in Miami Beach, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: North side rooms have a good view if you can see through the disgusting windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashram S, Manager at Alamo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Obviously the boat show must have gotten the best of him. I have two porters waiting to assist guest with luggage or other bags to their rooms due to the instillation of a new elevator. The website of Hotels.com. & Expedia both state free but LIMITED parking, check it! Frustrations are not an excuse to lie about a place of business. Hopefully his next boat show experience will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The worst and dirty " hotel " I' v seen in my life !!!! I can't use the sower because it's insane and unsafe since rust everywhere , carpet black colored from dirt , bad smell , no service room , Tv don't work ... Be aware !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

this is a economy hotel. the location is a bit far from the downtown to go by feet. its is a litlle bit old and has some bad smel on the room. it has some other people hair on the bathroom. the people are nice.

Room Tip: You can find some better places for the same price. we did not have enough time do plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is by far one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at in my life!!! I had lots of stuff stolen from my room, and the hotel staff/management just turned a blind eye and could care less. The rooms are dirty, the place smells, and the staff is incompetent. I never write reviews on hotels like this; however, after my experience at this hotel, I want to warn everyone about staying here. Even if you found a good price—think twice—it isn’t worth it!

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has great rate compared with others at beachfront. Easy drive and public transportation to downtown and south beach. The hotel and the room is old. But it's really interesting. You can enjoy taking the historical elevator and having fun with it. Room is clean. But it's noisy outside of the room because the hotel is just at the corner of a crossroad. If you really care about your sleep quality, you may consider another one or you may make careful choice on the room.

Another thing great is Jerry. He's really nice and helpful. He like to share stories with you. I would like to sleep in the hotel again and have some fun chats with him.

Room Tip: check the room to see if it is noisy and facing the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Oceanfront
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#106 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Hotel Croydon
#16 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo

Address: 4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamo 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.