We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay if you're desperate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo

Save Saved
You added Alamo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alamo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay if you're desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The only good thing I can say about this hotel (and what other reviews seem to say) is that the location was good. The rooms weren't too dirty - the bathroom was disgusting, HAD to wear flipflops in the shower. Corridors stank of drugs and the pipes were ridiculous. At first we thought it was someone in another room having a 'problem' on the toilet till we realised it was actually the pipes making that noise. At least they provided comical value! Staff weren't too bad, very keen to sell us a lot of the tours. Personally I would stay somewhere else if I came to Miami again. For the price we paid, we could have found better accomodation. Would have preferred to stay in a hostel to here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    17
    13
    23
See reviews for
14
19
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

For this price, it would be crazy to expect greatness. Yet, the hotel wasn't a bad place at all.
The manager is welcoming, so is the lobby. When you first open the door to your room, a funny smell strikes you. It didn't disappear over the four days we stayed. The furniture is far from new but everything seemed to have been cleaned regularly. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. There is a big screen TV, but the signal reception was really bad, and the remote control hardly worked. We enjoyed our stay thanks to the friendliness of Geral and to the location : it is a great location to access the mid-beach, in a way quieter area than South beach. There is access to WiFi and to a computer in the lobby which is great. Basically, it is cheap, and a good place to stay for that price.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with an outside view on the river - our window faced an unused patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We did not find this to be a bad place at all. The staff were friendly and talkative and the location was great for getting to South Beach. It did not have the best appearance at first but our doulbe room was spacious and reasonably clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept well each night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice people, old furniture and bathroom, but spaceous and clean. Free coffee in the morning. Just a little walk from the beach. Some noise from the street at night, but this complemented the Miami Beach experience.

Room Tip: During our trip, we wanted to return there in the weekend, but there was no vacancy. The owner recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff.no hidden charges.for the price i paid($48/night) the hotel's quality exceeded my expectations.only 6 parking spots and they get taken pretty quick so thats the only problem i faced.you can find parking spots on the streets around this hotel with some perseverance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Us college students went to Miami on a budget, and even though this hotel isn't luxurious like the others, it was affordable and The service was great. Jerry helped us out and he was very kind and attentive to our needs. This place is also right next to the beach and bus stop to the airport and clubs so we didn't have to walk far at all.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

First off i dont know who uploaded that picture but the alamo hotel looks nothing like that..

Lets start off with the parking there is about 6 spots in front of the hotel and it is first come first serve on them. Parking other wise would be on the street or 2 blocks away from the actual hotel.

Good:
Very Close To Beach About A 3-5 Min Walk.
Decent Price For Location
Great For One Night Of Stay Or Sleep
Service Was Good During The Day Jerry Was On Point

Bad:
Cockoroaches Are In Rooms (I Killed About 10)
Beds Very Uncomfortable(Good For 1-2 Nights Only Before Back Pain)
Floors Are Dirty As Can Be,But Good Once Cleanes Properly
Toliet Flushes Very Loud,And Bathroom Looked A Mess
Service Was Horrible At Night Guy Was Always Sleeping
Attitudes Galore From Maids Cause They Had To Clean..(thats There Job)
Can Hear Traffic Passing By All Night
Guy Was Peeping Through My Window.

All Around This hotel is only good for a 1-2 night stay no more then that! Jerry During The Day Is fantastic but the night guy lacks ambission. If You dont mind killing a cockroach here and there Enjoy your stay other wise STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Stay On The Upper Floor. So You Can Have Quiet Privacy And Not Hear Footsteps All Nigh
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo

Address: 4121 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.