We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Waldorf Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Waldorf Towers to your Saves list
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just recently returned from a trip to the USA. . We spent our last night in Miami, at the Roomate Waldorf towers. I had no idea what to expect, it was perfect for us. You step right onto the pavement where it all happens. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, clean and modern.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is noisy until all hours of the morning, that is to be expected though. Good idea to use the earplugs that are provided.
It is situated in the Art Deco part of Miami, and South Beach is a must. Perfect end to a fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely a beach view, although a bit restricted by palm trees. Although noisy, so perhaps ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    266
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
44
314
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location can't be beat. We booked the day before so we go an amazing deal. For the price, the place was great. I would even pay more. The rooms have modern decor and it was very clean. The front desk staff was very friendly however, if you are checking in at prime time the lobby is awkward for a crowd.

There were many complaints on other reviews about noise. We were on the 1st floor facing 9th and very close to the lobby and we were fine. If you are really sensitive to noise they do provide complimentary earplugs.

The restaurant is not technically part of the hotel but is attached and you get 15% off as a hotel guest. There was a small fridge in our room but there is not coffee but the coffee at the restaurant is good. I had a bagel and coffee and I think it was around $6.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who want to go to South Beach. It is right across from the beach and right in the center of all the action.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view pay for it because the cheaper rooms have a view of the side streets. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent a week at this hotel in July and had a wonderful time! The rooms, staff, and separate restaurant were all amazing. I ate at the Restaurant pretty much everyday and didn't have a single meal that I didn't love! Everything from the Chicken Fingers to Blackened Chicken/Shrimp Pasta Alfredo to Blackened Mahi Sandwich. All three of the restaurant managers are really nice and welcomed me back each day.

The rooms are really nice and modern, and the hotel is located right on Ocean Dr right on the Beach. Right in the middle of the action. Fernando, Lazaro, and Juan Carlos took great care of me while I was there. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Miami.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent two nights at Waldorf Towers in July 2014. This is an excellent hotel in the heart of Art Deco district.

LOCATION: It couldn't be any better. Room Mate Waldorf Towers is in a prime spot right on Ocean Drive. All the fun of South Beach is right there, and the ocean itself is close by. There is a busy liquor store less then a block away on the 9th street. For groceries, best option is Publix supermarket about 15 minutes away by foot (and not much faster, while more difficult, if you take your car instead).

PARKING: Parking in South Beach is a b... it's tough. You can get valet parking ($25+tip), or you can park in public garage on 7th street ($20 a day), or you can do yourself a favor and take a taxicab instead. On the 9th street, there is a dedicated loading/unloading spot next to the hotel. Anywhere else and you will be holding up the traffic. Most of Miami Beach is accessible by foot, and I see more cons than pros in having a car.

ROOMS: This hotel is quite stylish and nicely appointed. Some rooms are facing back of the building, some - 9th street while some - Ocean Drive. If you want to get to bed early (that is, before 2-3AM), ask for a quiet room. Rooms are small by modern standards, but still bigger than rooms in Europe. Good thing to have is a minibar with enough space in it to store your own food and drink. Bathroom, however, is a disappointment. It's still pretty to look into, but practical use is not so exciting. There are not so many shelves and hooks, and you may have to be creative with where to put your clothes. Showerhead looks nice, but it's immovable, and if it pours not to the center of shower cabin but towards the side of it, that's where you should be positioning your body as well. Toiletries are hard to open and even harder to close. Sink on the floor is not well leveled, and that leaves pools in the shower long after you took it. Mirror lighting is up high on the ceiling and it means that your face is not well lit for makeup or shaving. That could be all right if what you are shaving is your head, while letting your beard grow.

But really, don't get dissuaded by these complaints, they are all small. I just could not understand how a fine Art Deco hotel like this allowed its bathroom's form to champion over function.

FOOD: Primetime restaurant downstairs is all right; food is good and prices are reasonable for Miami Beach. Apart from that, entire Ocean Drive is a line of cafes, bars and restaurants, food choices are literally limitless. Of all the other places, I'd like to note Pepper's Mexican restaurant a few blocks away on Washington Avenue. Delicious!

POOL/BEACH: The beach is just across the street from hotel, and hotel offers beach towels free of charge. Sunbeds and umbrellas, however, you can get for a fee on the beach.

STAFF: Hotel workers were attentive and helpful.

Pros: Location, location, location. Good looking, clean, comfortable.

Cons: Driving/parking (yes, location), bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beach front ,,very nice staf real friendly , room clean and beds comfortable good quality pillows mattress & covers , very modern decorations , I stay for 3 weeks and the services never change
was always good and they help you in every thing and the valet parking good . Recommended
100%

Room Tip: The window are double glass so is very quiet , restaurant is good , beach across the st. you are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to boarding a cruise ship. It also happened to be our anniversary. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel or location. The staff was amazingly friendly and the location was directly across from the beach. The room was beautifully appointed a modern decor. The first time we walked out of the hotel we ran into Justin Bieber! We stayed Wednesday to Friday. We did notice that the crowd picked up Friday morning. I can say that we were not affected by noise either Wednesday or Thursday night. There were complimentary earplugs on the nightstand, however, we didn't find need for them. We will be staying here again the next time we're in South Beach!!!!!

Room Tip: we had a corner suite with the view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent location on ocean drive. Remember ocean drive is famous for parties, so don't complain about noise. We still slept very good because of double glazed windows. Close to all restaurants and bars. Beach is just a step away. Bicycle rental in front of hotel, recommend a trip to empty and quite north beach. Lovely and very helpful staff, yummy breakfast and great espresso. Very good strawberry daiquiri. Rooms are super nice designed and always very clean, like on the pictures. Thanks again Waldorf!!, we'll be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Waldorf Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Waldorf Towers

Address: 860 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Waldorf Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Towers is a historic property that has been recently renovated achieving the green building design certificate, situated next to the beach that offers a perfect balance between a historic building and a modern hotel. The hotel is ideally located in South Beach, within walking distance of trendy shops, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Room Mate Waldorf Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Waldorf Towers Hotel Miami Beach
Roo Mate Waldorf Miami Beach
Roo Mate Waldorf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Waldorf Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.