We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Room Mate Waldorf Towers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Waldorf Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Waldorf Towers to your Saves list
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   860 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Schaan, Liechtenstein
1 review
“Great time at the Room Mate Waldorf Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed 14 nights at the Room Mate and we had a wonderful time. Everybody was very nice and forthcoming. It was very clean and location is brilliant. The valet service was perfect and only 25$ per day. We will revisit that hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro F, General Manager at Room Mate Waldorf Towers, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Sven how are you
You cant imagine how IMPORTANT can be your comment, you´ve been with us 14 days, thats a very long stay for something "unfortunated" not to happen and it dident happen, thas why this comment is so so important for us, something that I really thank you for your time awarding us with such a remarcable comment
We always try to do our best, I would say more, believe me that more than our best but some times the odds are not aligned with the stars and doesent occur as we wished. Any way, this time everyone acheived it, you had a great time and we could give it to you
Thanks again for this
Best
Fernando Ruiz-Casaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    237
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
282
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've spent three nights at this hotel, and we really had a great time at the heart of Miami Beach.
Superb location just in front of the beach and a nice little park where you can hire bikes.
Although Ocean Drive is a bussy and quite noisy place, the windows are double-glass and make their function.
The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We requested help for some attractions such as jet-ski, taxis, and information about malls and traffic.
The restaurant at the terrace was really nice, with a complete and very good menu for every meal.
Beautifully decorated rooms, with easy operating air-conditioned system
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro F, General Manager at Room Mate Waldorf Towers, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Blanca
Thank you very much for your comment, it is always a great pleasure knowing that our customers have found all our effort meeting your requirements, believe we make more than our best to acheive so.
Again thanks a lot for everything and you know in advance we are already waiting for you again
Fernando Ruiz-Casaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macaé, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and me stayed for 10 days in this hotel on the springs.

Location
Pro: Very well located if you like the crowd of the street and the noise coming from it. The beach is right in front and there is a rental Bike kiosk across the street.

Cons: Parking around is just impossible even costing $1.75/hour with parking meters. the city garages are not too close and are all full on weekends (cost $1 per hour). Valet does not belong to the hotel and cost $25 until noon next day.
The ladies from the restaurant in the porch of the hotel invites you to join them every time you leave or arrive the hotel. It is annoying after 2 days.

Rooms:
Pro: Rooms are cool.

Cons: Very small for the price they charge. Bathroom is not excellent and the shower is also small with a plastic curtain. The room amenities are: a small and fancy fridge you can use to put your stuff, safe, air-dryer, 32in TV, terrible bath soap, shampoo and conditioner. No coffee machine, microwaves, alarm dock... Floor and walls don't have a very good insulation and you may wake-up late night with people arriving from parties or doing particular stuff.

Facility:
There is no pool or recreation area.

Staff:
We didn't have too much interaction with them but they treat us very well. Payment is made in advance (no credit reservation on your card) and give me that feeling that I would not see my money back if I want to leave early.

Conclusion:
It is a good hotel for people looking for parties. Pricey for what it offers (just the location) and mostly if you are not willing to be on the beach all day. Do not rent a car.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have no step noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro F, General Manager at Room Mate Waldorf Towers, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Oi Brazil, meu querido Brazil
Aproveito este momento pra saludar ao pais donde fiquei cuando morei la melhor que a mia casa, ainda tenho saudade dele. Adorei a forma gente pega vida la, cada momento e um acontecemento pra celebrar, adorei Brasil.
Nao entendí muito bon o que falaron pra mi nesta vez, o título de seu comentario " so uma boa localicacao "
I assume as everybody knows, and thats why people packs this place year round, South beach is worldwide known for its night life night and on top of that our hotel is so priveleged that is located in the center of what everything happens in South Beach, you would never find a hotel like ours.
What does that mean, people everywhere, cars everywhere and of course is difficult to park, thats why our hotel has hiered a valet service for our customer for not to have any problem with that issue in the middle of South Beach.
Ladies from the restaurant, but not only that, beautifull ladies from many countries are just trying to make everyone confortable always wellcoming our guests to have a fun time, I would really be disappointed entering a place and people acting like if I werent there just ignoring me, dont undertand really you critic.
You say our rooms are cool, let me present our rooms to the audience for they to vote. Our rooms are beautifully decorated by one of the most trendy designers in Spain, Nacho Vinuesa, keeping the art deco remembrace but merged with a very modern tendency.
They are new, and provided with everything someone would need, iron with its table, fridge, 32¨ TV, individual air conditioning system, ceiling vent, music instalation with integrated ceiling loud mspeakers wher you can paly your own music, but yes we dont have coffe machine, a microwave or a stove , everything as said very new, our hotel is just two years old, things look like new.
What is a small bath room?, I wonder some times about certain statements. The bathroom is also beatifully decorated, in accordance to the room and the rest of the hotel. Its got a shower, yes with a courtain that of course has to have some plastic in its composition in order to dry out fast, a toilette and a sink with space for the hair dryer and things to be left.
Why soap and conditioner were terrible?. I wish I could give the name of who manufactures all this products for us but since they come under our brand its is prohibited to give that information by contract but for your confidence that youve been using a hig quality product the manufacturer is a worl wide company that of course sells in Brazil as it does in the rest of the world at a considerable high prices.
Floors, walls and windows are sound proof but as you pointed out, you can hear when people come from partying, but it is not because we havent sound proofed the hotel, it is just because as is supoused in South Beach and Im pretty sure doesent happen in a hotel in the Swiss Alps, peole when they come from partying are a bit alcohol over loaded and do things that wouldent do in regular circumstances. Its South Beach.
Our staf is more than incredible, as it is well shown in all coments, and for any reason you were charged at your arrival, you were just requested for your credit card as it happens in all hotels of the world, but never charged untill you leave.
Pool? right, we dont have pool but we never say we have it, we never lie about something we are not going to be able to offer, but is it needed a pool having that blue, clean watered and warm sea just by crossing the street? It is easy to have a pool but that beauty of a sea........
Conclusion, the hotel is the best hotel anyone can go looking to feel the magic of South Beach, we treat so well our all guest that when they leave the hotel they have turned into real friends

Fernando Ruiz-Casaux
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a decent place to stay. Nothing over the top, not a resort or spa but more of a small euro hotel in the middle of it all. It's a great location for people watching. The beach is directly across the street and tons of great restaurants right around the corner. There is no need to ever get in a car. Everything you need is in walking distance. The hotel is clean, and true to the art deco motif. For those of you that love the soap, shampoo amenities, you will be frustrated with the very cute square bottles. Trying to get anything out of the small hole is a messy, frustrating, time consuming endeavor. Hopefully this small detail is something the hotel will change up. the restaurant in front of it, "Prime Time" is owned and run by different management than Room Mate. Though the food is good, service is lacking. I watched a few tables get up and leave as they were not attended to and the waitstaff were busy yucking it up in the corner. Also their bathrooms were consistently dirty. Sadly this reflects poorly on the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 301,302,303 are over the front of the hotel, facing the ocean. They are also over the front st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very nice hotel in a very good location. Staff were good and booked tours on our behalf, rooms are very small so manage your expectations accordingly, also, Ocean Ave is extremely loud until 5am, again, manage your expectations and take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Located in the middle of Ocean blvd, amongst lots of bars/restaurants and just across from South Beach.
Very modern with clean monochrome decor and very comfy king.
This was our last night of a 16 night fly drive and realise it I'd not ideal if you have a car. Parking is by a valet system at $25 per night!
Cuban staff were some of the best during our stay...most friendly, smiley and helpful especially when we needed to check in on line and borrow their printer...many thanks

Room Tip: Room 203 was enormous with wet room and great views down Ocean blvd and the sea, as a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro F, General Manager at Room Mate Waldorf Towers, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Cambridge couple, before anything let me tell you have a beautiful city
Thank you very much for apreciating the only reason we are here, and that is just to please every one with each one peculiarity, more over, is double apreciated for coming from a Senior Reviewer as you are.
It really makes us very very happy knowing we made it 100% this time
Any time you want any thing from us just let us know
Best regards
Fernando Ruiz-Casaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and found the location absolutely amazing. Directly on the Ocean Drive still not too loud during night. The service was excellent. We would recommend this hotel as if offers a very good value for the money

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Waldorf Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Waldorf Towers

Address: 860 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Waldorf Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Towers is a historic property that has been recently renovated achieving the green building design certificate, situated next to the beach that offers a perfect balance between a historic building and a modern hotel. The hotel is ideally located in South Beach, within walking distance of trendy shops, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Waldorf Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Waldorf Towers Hotel Miami Beach
Roo Mate Waldorf Miami Beach
Roo Mate Waldorf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Waldorf Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.