We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the hot clubs and restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shelley to your Saves list
Hotel Shelley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   844 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Close to the hot clubs and restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with friends for the weekend..we needed a place to crash, and this place was great..close to the beach..cool bars, I was greeted with a very knowledgeable and helpful customer service. Venderlyn took her time and patience and helped find the best bars and coolest areas to hangout..the hotel was a really good price and it did not break our bank..

Room Tip: The doubles beds are better..more bang for your buck if you are staying with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good Afternoon Tina P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located just blocks from all the South Beach action, and from the beautiful beaches. Venderlyn is absolutely amazing and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will make sure to share your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    251
    153
    101
    157
See reviews for
60
232
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

from the moment we arrived mr.Alton was very friendly, there was nothing he woudnt do for us gave us excellent advise for breakfast, he also help us with parking which we intially thought would be on site. The happy hour was excellent everynight. The manager Tavaris also was very helpful with an issue we had, which was solved immediately.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello J B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Alton. Alton is indeed a rock star and but one of many who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. I will make sure to inform Alton and Tavaris about your kind praise!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you expect a quiet time, this is not the place for you!! It has a good location, close to Lincoln road, ocean drive, the beach, bars and restaurants. I found a great offer booking through the expedia app, it was almost 40% off..!! Which was perfect for my budget. The staff was very nice and helpful, the only problem was that my room was close to the front desk and the bar, so I could hear the guest coming and going and drinking at the bar. But for the price I paid, it wasn't expecting much! I was so tired because of all the shopping and sightseeing, that I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Choose rooms far from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good Evening Annie M,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! We are definitely located in a prime spot here in South Beach! I am glad that you were able to get a great deal on Expedia. The rooms that are closer to the bar and street are typically more noisy. If we were aware that you wanted a quiet room, we would have placed you on a higher floor, towards the back of the hotel.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel os in a very good place in Miami South close to many stores and restaurants
Very close to the beach , you can go walking to do anything!
The hotel is simple but the attendees were very educated and the room is very comfortable
Really liked and would stay again there!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Good Day Leila-Ohta,

We are thankful for the time you took to share your feedback with us! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the hottest spots. The beach is a 5 minute walk away as well. Please come back soon for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We arrived late night on a Sunday and we had to parked a block or two away which is not a big deal because they don't have parking lot, otherwise you had to pay $32 a night for valet parking.

When we got to the hotel the front desk area and bar is nicely decorated.

BUT ...

The second floor lobby smelled really bad. Smelled like wet dog or urine. Stained carpet, really ugly and bad paint job. A hole by the exit door sign.

When we finally get to our room, my boyfriend opended the door and we saw other people stuff laying in the bed and floor. Unacceptable!!!. My boyfriend went to the front desk again to let them know that they gave us a key for a room that was still occupied, and at first the attendant said "ARE YOU SURE?". That honestly made me soo mad, but I just wanted to go to bed after a long long trip.

The room that they gave us after that big big mistake, had 2 queen size beds that barely fit in that small room, the view from our window was an abandoned building under reconstruction that was probably 15 feet way from our window. THE BATHROOM was a nightmare... Extremely small, the mirror was cracked, the toilet seat loose, there was a huge window WITHOUT curtains IN the shower. My boyfriend had to put a towel on the window because the construction workers could easily see us taking a shower. The shower knob had mold.

One of the beds was lumpy and uneven. The lighting was very poor. The bed headboard and footboard were scraped, very visible and hard to ignored.

Overall this place is a dump. For $136 + dollars a night you can find a better place, with better service. Don't waste your money and time in this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello FleurLais,

We value each and every one of our guests feedback. Thank you for the time you took to share yours with us! It's very strange that you experienced a strange smell in the lobby area. I will make sure that the housekeeping staff is aware of this. We did have an issue with our system not too long ago. We mistakenly checked you into a room that was already occupied. This is completely our fault and we are terribly sorry for that mistake! We will make sure that never happens again! We apologize that your time spent with us was not an amazing one! I will share your feedback with the rest of our staff. We are always working to improve our product. With feedback such as yours, it allows us to see what areas need work.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberlandia, MG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The front desk and lobby there is a bar, and this bar is frequented by prostitutes badly, strange people, and poor presentation. Is well located, but has dark, poorly cleaned rooms. The door to my room was broken and asked to change rooms the next day, the hall of the hotel has cameras, but it is so bad that the environment does not inspire safety. I often go to miami, and this was only once and never, never go back on it. Would not recommend under any circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Good Day Leonardorocha66,

I am genuinely disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not up to your satisfaction. We do like to keep the rooms dark and relaxed for our guests. We offer extra lamps for those guests who need more light. We want everyone that stays with us to have an exceptional time, and we apologize that you did not.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just wanted to comment on a short stay that I had at Hotel Shelley. The location is excellent and the staff that I encountered were very gracious and helpful...especially David at the front desk. The only complaint I had is that there was no fan in the bathroom so it makes for a very humid session when you have finished taking a hot shower but like I said that is the only complaint!.. AC was on point and the bed was comfortable for the minimum time I was in the room. They have a happy hour session for guests between 7-8 which was excellent in our eyes as drinks in SOBE bars can be pretty pricey.... and they also offer airport shuttle which was a nice bonus! I will most definitely be staying at the Shelley again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello there Pnut1071,

Thank you for the time you took, to share your honest feedback! Hotel Shelley is located in a hot spot here on South Beach. David our front desk agent is great, and all of our guests seem to think so as well! We offer a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of it! We can't wait to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Address: 844 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shelley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.