We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chesterfield Hotel to your Saves list
Chesterfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

The hotel is at a great location....nice place, one block away from south beach

We stayed there 6 days. We arrive a 9am and the check in is at 3 so they kept our luggage for us.

The room is good but a little bit small. The staff is very friendly.

They offer an happy hour which is very good from 7 to 8. after that the drinks are very expensive...its 9.50 each drinks

Nothing wrong happen, no thieves, nothing wrong......

p.s be ready to pay 5 dollars per day at the end of ur stay, its the administration fee and the service fees.

the check is at 12h......

the only bad thuing is the bathroom cuz its kinda small and there is no bath its just a shower from the ceiling..anyways everything was good

i recommend this hotel.....its a 3 star hotel....for what we paid its awesome...

warning, all the drinks in southbeach are expensive (at the bars and the restaurants) I suggest u buy ur liquor at the liquor store on washington ave.....its gonna be cheaper....

I love south beach, i will be back next yea!

  • Liked — Location, girls, south beach
  • Disliked — bath room..rooms was small but perfect for 3 people..not more than that
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    425
    223
    139
    264
See reviews for
148
417
133
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my entire life. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!! I stated in the middle of July in Miami and the AC did not work. It was swealtering hot in the room and the staff were unapologetic and rude when approached about the issue. They said they would take care of it but never did. The room was infested with mosquitoes. The bed sheets were stained and the room had a dirty appearance. We decided to book another hotel at the Sheraton and leave early. They completely refused to refund any portion of our stay there and never apologized for anything. Finally, the day we left we had to wait 1.5 hours to get our car for the valet guy because he left for lunch without bringing us our car first. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE< TERRIBLE SERVICE>

  • Liked — Getting out of there
  • Disliked — Service, Room, Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Our stay at the Chesterfield was just a one night stopover on the way to South America. We figured it would be nicer to spend a night in SoBe than to wait in the Miami airport for hours on end for our connection. This might have been true if we had picked another hotel.

The hotel advertises a free airport shuttle, which awaits you in Terminal 2 on the 2nd level at the Miami Airport. That is, if the shuttle is operational (it wasn't), and your flight coincides with their schedule (every two hours, on the hour). We took a taxi. When we tried to arrange our ride back to the airport we were told that we could reserve the shuttle at any time. Yes, any time that fits within their schedule: every two hours, on the hour. First shuttle at 8am. Not helpful for a 9am flight.

Ok, so we couldn't take advantage of the free shuttle, which was part of the reason we booked this hotel.

The lounge in the hotel is directly in the lobby. I don't mean across from the front desk or on the other side of the lobby, I mean IN THE LOBBY. So once 5 or 6pm rolls around, you can't even have a conversation with the front desk manager (if there is one) because the music is so loud, and you have to literally crawl over the underage lounging population in the room.

We did not hear the music from the lobby in our room, thankfully, but our A/C was uncontrollably cold, and the cement floor in our room did not help matters. The all-white sheets smelled clean but had faint stains all over them, and it is indeed true that the bathroom floor is also the shower floor - only a curtain to separate the shower from the rest of the room. So bring your flipflops and get ready to slosh around while brushing your teeth.

The front desk staff is completely unapologetic about anything and everything that might be bothering you.

In the end, it was a cheap hotel. Our door locked well and nothing was stolen. It is not in a great part of town, so I suppose we should be thankful for our safety.

You get what you pay for. Next time we'll gladly pay a litle more.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonsg5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

People need to quit their bitchin`! I just got back from a trip in South Beach and stayed at the Chesterfield. After we booked, I read the reviews about this place. I was a little sketched out, but tried our luck and everything worked out great!. There was no long line to check in or check out, there were no clogged-up drains in the sink or shower, the AC was working great, we got beach and bath towels upon request at the front desk, our room was never broken into and we weren't robbed, the beds were comfortable, there were no extra charges with our bill, and there were no bugs or other creatures in the room. Only complaints were the room was too small - especially for 4 people - and water did leak all over the bathroom floor from the shower - which was awesome!! - but we simply put our towels down on the floor after we used them resolving this minor issue ourselves. There was a party in the lobby Tues night until 6am. We were on the 1st floor but only 1 out of 4 of us were kept up buy it. Might want to look into a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor...The bar and lobby was really cool, and the bartenders were awesome. If you're looking for a reasonably inexpensive place to stay, a place to pass out after drinking your face off in SoBe, a place to shower and keep your stuff during your trip, then I would recommend this place. Also if you're the type to nit pick on every nitty gritty thing that you can find that is wrong with a hotel just so you can post up a complaint in Tripadvisor, then I would also recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location, late night bar
  • Disliked — Water on the bathroom floor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. We booked a long w/e in June and booked a deluxe suite. Upon arrival we were given a v small double room that was grim and stank of smoke. They would not change our room until the next day when the manager arrived. The next day they offered us a junior suite and refused to compensate us for the difference! We also had v little maid service or any service full stop! To date there has been no apology for the mistake, they were rude and did not care about customer service, we are still waiting for our money back.

  • Liked — Nothing, would not recommend this hotel
  • Disliked — Service, rudeness of staff, incorrect booking, no apology, no refund
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

What a terrible hotel! We have never had a worse hotel experience than this, I honestly don't know how this place stays in business. If only we'd read the reviews on this site before booking we'd have saved ourselves a week of heartache. Do yourselves a favor, book somewhere else, anywhere else, DO NOT think that this place will be OK!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

OK...I have stayed in many hotels on South Beach over the past 8 years. The service is not usually outstanding, that's ok I go for a girl's weekend we need a clean place to lay our heads-that's it! But this place was ridiculous! To begin, the AC never worked properly. We
were in Miami in July, I love hot weather but you need AC in JULY in MIAMI. During the day it was very hot and at night it was still pretty sticky. We complained, they said they would come fix it, they never did. The ceiling fans would have helped, right? But only one of
the two in the room worked. The front desk provided us with a desk fan to compensate. It really helped cool our "premium suite" down. Our phone never worked. The toilet was broken and did not flush. We called three times before someone came who....couldn't fix it!!!! Finally my friend fixed it with a safety pin and a rubberband. The housekeeping cleaned the room every night and never left any towels, not one set! Back down to the front desk because....Oh right the phone doesn't work! The housekeeping didn't leave any towels but they
left our empty pizza boxes though, I mean they could take out the trash?? It started to become a comedy of errors. I could go on but I think most folks have gotten the picture by now. I don't know anyone who would be happy staying at this dump. You expect AC and a working phone and toilet for $170 a night....Beware....

  • Liked — Nothing.....
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.