We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chesterfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Meadow Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were moved to this hotel by the manager after we had a horrendous time at the Hotel Shelley. We were fortunate enough to be given a suite. The room was very nice and very clean. We had a nice jacuzzi tub in the room and the bed was very comfortable. The room was so tidy and smelled very clean. I really liked the lanai that was just outside our door. I do not know if we had neighbors but if we did the room was very soundproof.
The hotel staff was very knowledgeable and were able to direct us to pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. I really liked that the room was so bright and the lobby was brightly lit as well, very welcoming. I did have a bit of an issue with the Resort Fee as it didnt seem to provide much and once again we could not use the shuttle service as it was not running on the day we required it. I think the room was overpriced but I would rather pay more for something comfortable than to be disgusted in another hotel.

Room Tip: As for a suite in the detached part of the hotel, it is very nice and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Momwithlove,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad that you had a nice time while staying with us! I see that you were content with the cleanliness of your room. Our staff is very knowledgeable when it comes to things to do in South Beach! They know of all the hot spots, and have great connections too! Please come back and have another memorable stay with us!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    339
    180
    128
    235
See reviews for
112
317
99
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Anna is the best bartender in miami, thank you for the service. I stopped at few bars, but this one was a special place with appropriate attention to every customer. Thank you Anna for best coctails you made. Best muhitos, best vodka with cranberies. Wow this is one of the best evenings here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Botanikas,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated and I am really glad that you chose to share it with us and all of our future guests! Anna is definitely a great bartender and I will make sure that she is informed of your praise! She can whip up some delicious refreshing cocktails. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It started when they showed us our room. It was 10 by 10 and painted a bile green. There was no natural sun since the shades all had to be closed for privacy. (It was on the first floor) There were no drawers only poorly painted wood shelves. There was only one electric outlet in the bathroom. The floors had dark wood-like vinyl tiles that " bounced" when you walked on them. The cleaning crew was inconsistent often not coming till 4:30 or not at all . We had paid in advance for a conference and begged to be given another room. To make matters worse, the cost of the room for the conference was $319 but the usual price was $188. They were "kind" enough to cut the price for two nights out of seven. DO NOT GO THERE.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Peter G,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then the average hotel room. You are able to open your shades to get sunlight and still have privacy. The room attendants have a route that they have to follow. They have until the evening to clean the rooms. Unless you placed the "Do not Disturb" sign on your door, or requested not to have your room serviced, there should be no reason as to why they didn't come to clean your room. Can you please provide me with the number to the room that you were staying in so that I can look further into the situation? Our prices do go up based on special events that are going on in town, and supply and demand. When there are events in town every hotel here on South Beach will raise their price. Thank you for your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here with my fiancé upon our return from our cruise to the Caribbean. Located minutes away from Ocean Drive and the beautiful Miami beaches, we picked the perfect location. Our room was located in their auxiliary building and was fully equipped with jacuzzi tub, lounge area and free wifi! We had a minor issue with the water temperature in the shower, however we advised the front desk and they sent their maintenance person up right away to get it fixed. The bell boy was super friendly and helped us up 2 flights of stairs with our luggage. Front desk staff was very hospitable and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable! The lobby was very inviting and the bar offers happy hour during designated times which was a plus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chesterfield and we will definitely be coming back :) a huge thank you to all the staff for being so friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello FarrahMo,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your return from your cruise to the Caribbean. We are just steps from Ocean Drive and to many other great spots around South Beach. I apologize about the issue that you experienced with the water temperature of the water, but very glad to know that our team went to try to resolve this issue immediately! I hope that you would choose to stay with us, if returning to visit South Beach again! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 days at the chesterfield. Alex at check in was very helpful when asking for great local hot spots. Marcial was entertaining as the bell hop. The happy hour from 7-8 was great. The bartender Anastasia was really cool and was an expert at hookah.the breakfast at the hotel was delicious ... Their french toast was the best i had. The rooms were fairly small but enough space for two women to move about. The lighting is dark so if yoir doing your makeup you will need to step outside to check your not over doing it. The location was great your in walking distance of shopping and food. Overall i would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Good Afternoon Nisha_ renee,

Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to provide it to us, and for our future guests to read! I see that you were given exceptional service by Alex at the time of check in, and he was helpful when asking for local hot spots. Marcial is a great bell men and all of our guests love him and the service that he provides! Our complimentary cocktail hour is also a great amenity that we offer. It's a great way to start the night off right. I am glad that you were able to try the breakfast! They have really delicious food and so fresh! We do provide lamps for those guests that would like more illumination. Were you able to ask the front desk agent for one? Our location is definitely prime! We are located in the heart of South Beach, withing walking distance to all of the hot spots in the area.
Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I checked in at 11 PM and was offered a huge suite for all three nights even though I only paid for a standard room. The entire staff were friendly and very accommodating. The wi-fi worked well in my room despite being told that it would only work in the lobby. Nicely decorated rooms and stylish lobby was a great place to meet my clients. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to South Beach. Free airport shuttle bus was on time....a great way to start and end my short business trip in Miami.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Shane A,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful 5 star feedback! I am really glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! I am content to see that you we were able to accommodate you to a bigger room. Our staff is always eager to serve you and I am glad that you were given great service!
We hope to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work purposes for 2 nights. It wasn't as bad as I expected based on the reviews. It's South Beach - the accommodations, unless you're staying in the few huge hotels that will be the cost of some mortgages, will be small and older. Nothing can be done about that.

The Good
*Room size was great. We had one of the rooms that had a bedroom, sitting room with couch and large bath. Much larger than I expected.
*The rooms had great window coverings. At night there was NO light coming through. Impressive.
*Massive flat screen tv's.
*One block from Ocean Drive. Fantabulous! Easy enough to walk to many, many restaurants, bars and the beach.
*Clean rooms.

The Bad
*The noise level was super loud. The room was down an alleyway (there are several seperate buildings at the hotel) and the noise from the streets travels straight down the alley. The windows are super thin and you can hear people walking and talking past and you can clearly hear their conversations. You can drink 24 hrs down there and people are stumbling in at all hours so some more quiet would go a long way. Also the workers when cleaning in the mornings are laughing and talking loudly outside the rooms, which was annoying.
*The check-in area was very small which means only 2 employees at a time to check customers in and out. Makes for slow progress.
*The toilet runs. This seems to be a common complain on the board so obviously there are issues there.
*The bartender in The Lounge was indifferent and not very friendly. This is typical for South Beach unfortunately but it would make a great experience to have someone talk to you and act like they were happy for your business. She also didn't have change for a $20. Weird (I looked in the drawer when she checked - no $5's or $10's). Not a great way to get tips.
*The desk clerks announce out loud as you check-in your room number. A massive no-no in the hotel industry as someone could take advantage of another hotel guest by following them to their room. All that needs to be done is to give the key folder and point to the room number. Please, please stop this practice immediately for your guest's safety.

The Ugly
*The valet service STINKS! You pull your car up and wait over 15 minutes in the road while someone goes to look for the valet. This happened twice to me. At $32 a night you'd think there would always be someone available or to come back quicker. They say you can leave your car and give the keys to the front desk, which works of you can find an open space to park out front. But there were already 4 cars parked and waiting to be moved by the valet. So I was forced to circle around 3x two seperate times. Yes there were garages around and the valet isn't run by the hotel. But the hotel should have higher expectations of the company that works for them and services their guests.

Overall the stay wasn't bad. It they could tweek their customer service issues, which would take minimal training, they would have a hotel with a lot to offer and happy customers on their hands.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Evening GK95,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such an extensive reivew on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are glad that you had a good time while staying with us! I see that you were content with the size of your room, as well as the amenities that we provide in the rooms, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the location. We are located in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to all of the hot spots here. We are indeed working on finding a solution for the noise issue. We want the party goers to be able to party, and the sleepers to be able to get a great nights rest! Were you able to address the issue with the toilet to the front desk or the operator? We would have sent a maintenance personal to fix that immediately. It is constructive feedback such as yours that allows us to make the necessary changes we need to, in order to make Chesterfield Hotel a better and more enjoyable place for all of our guests! I am going to personally speak with the manager at the bar in regards to the service that the bartenders are providing to our guests. This is completely unacceptable and each and every guest should be given outstanding customer service- no matter what! Unfortunately the valet company that we use is not part of the hotel. The valet guys have to run and park cars in the garage, and when it's busy it might take them a little more time to do so. Parking has always been a problem in South Beach. So many people and so little space. We hope that you would give us another chance in the near future!

Have a great night!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.