We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Awesome Experience"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chesterfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“"Awesome Experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked a room with this hotel after returning from a Cruise. Just to stay a few nights to celebrate my best friends birthday. Even booking the room at the last minute, I was abe to get a great price. we arrived several hours before check in time and the staff totally made us feel welcomed. The suite we received was far beyond our expectations. It was absolutely beautiful. Tons of updates. The staff even supplied us with free beverages while we waited for our room. Such a caring group of people. Would definately stay there again!!!!! Two thumbs up.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello TwyonnaA,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to share it with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your return from your cruise and to celebrate your friends birthday! I am glad that you felt welcomed here! All of our staff is great at making guests feel comfortable, like as if were their home. I am glad that you were given such service! :)
We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    323
    173
    122
    233
See reviews for
113
322
102
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My week long stay was a great experience, even when I had a billing concern, the staff as well as management took a professional approach. The hotel is classy, comfortable, and set up well for business or pleasure. As a frequent traveler, I have stayed in three other boutiques and South Beach Group has been a great experience. A very special thanks to Ana, Pedro, Alexis, Jose R. and Francesca for all your service. I will be staying at Chesterfield again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Pamela A,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to share it with us! I am very glad to read that you had a great experience while staying with us! I am glad to read that the issue that you had with billing was resolved in a professional manner! Our staff is great and they are always eager to serve you! I will definitely let all of the mentioned staff know of your kind praise! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Typical Collins Avenue hotel, nothing fantastic but nothing bad, nice room decoration but a bit small and some of them smells cigarette smoke even if it is no smoking, however very good location in the heart of south beach and there's a happy hour between 7pm to 8pm free drinks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Jaw05,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you were content with the decor of our hotel. Our location is prime and we are within walking distance to all of the hot spots. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly. Please come back and stay with us again.

We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I have to start out with the normal south beach caveat. If you have never been to sobe before, throw away all your expectations of a decent hotel. Then think about your basic needs, how long you will be in the room, and what you can take and what you can't. Ive stayed in probably ten different "boutique" style hotels and each has it's negatives, and they are all different.

Let's start with the positives. Free shuttle to take you to Miami airport. Nice front porch with coach seating as well as small tables where you can get food. Staff is really nice and willing to help. Bed was fabulous sleeping, comfy. Hot water was plentiful. Free one hour happy hour was good as a meeting place for friends. Lock on my door worked well. Room was relatively clean and had room to walk around the bed (not always a given in south beach.) there was a nice stereo playing in my room as I got to it. There was a hair dryer and iron and mini safe in the room as well.

And the negatives. Elevator was old fashioned, but newly cleaned up. Crowded with 2 people. Inside decor was black, which means dark, dark. I was shown to my room, and within 5minutes had kicked my shin on the protruding wood bed platform, and run my toe into the 2" step up into the bathroom. Lighting was difficult in this room, with two bedside lamps, with black shades, with tiny lightbulbs, as well as a black chandelier over the bed. There is no way I could have read a book here. In the morning i ended up pulling up the venetian blinds, they didn't tilt open anymore, and getting enough natural light that I could pack. The bathroom was more like a nook off the bedroom, with no door. Glad I was alone. There was a short vertical glass partition by the toilet, with a sharp edge about shoulder level, ouch. And there was a black curtain that you could pull to cover the toilet and shower from the rest of the room. And no shower curtain. Maybe the stone wall and floor around the shower was designed for it? (in other rooms i understand there are mirrors in the shower.) The toilet ran a lot of the time. The air conditioning was so loud that I needed to turn it off at night to sleep so when it cycled on it wouldn't wake me up. Be prepared to use your suitcase as your dresser since there is nowhere to put your clothes other than the 6 coat hangars. And the hardwood floor needed a mop.

The funniest part? The 6' tall wooden figure in the lobby with the enormous member. Not easy to explain to any kid in your group!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Marylander44,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you took your time to share it with us! I am very glad to read that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle from Miami International Airport. It;s a great money saver that all of our guests love. The front porch is a great spot to enjoy breakfast or lunch and people watch. There is a lot of eye candy that comes around the hotel. Our staff is always eager to serve you and I am glad that is what you were given! The cocktail hour that we provide for guests from 7-8pm nightly, is a great way to start the night off right. Also a great time to get to know who's sleeping in the room next to you. :) I am glad to know that you were content with the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeepers work hard to ensure that each and every room is deep cleaned and inspected by a supervisor before the room is given to a guest. The personality of our hotel is dark yet sophisticated. We do provide lamps for those guests who need more illumination in their rooms. Were you able to speak with the front desk or the operator about this? Our rooms are a bit smaller then average as we are a boutique style hotel, therefore we don't want to cluster the room so that you feel claustrophobic.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

OK ...I get it ...South Beach in February ...expect to get ripped a bit, but if you going to do it, at least give me a figurative kiss. Good location which is key. Check in is laborious, not sure why they go through all the stuff they do. $32 to park...ouch. Simple tiny cup of coffee in the lobby which should have been comp'd was $5.42. Later two small Perriers were almost $12. On the positive side Happy Hour free drinks from 7-8pm took a little sting out...drink em fast!

Room with two double beds was ok but dimly lit and not enough outlets. A bit of a problem with the toilet that no one likes to deal with in a hotel. Comfortable bed and good stock of snacks etc, that oddly enough are more economically priced than what you buy in the lobby.

Stuff that was not ok: refusal to answer the phone at the front desk ...5 different calls from my room at different times all went unanswered. Also, very slow response to outside calls coming in to the hotel. Bartender acted as if he was doing us a giant favor to take our money, I dont get it. Five menus for various restaurants were in the room, however, the first two I called were out of business. While using a stainless scoop to get ice to carry back to the room, one of the valets walked by and stuck his unwashed hand into the ice resevoir and helped himself to a handful ...glad I was getting the ice for an iceback for a balky back vs for my drinks.

I did a quick check of other reviews on TA and was surprised to see that management most often comments on only positive reviews ...seems to me it should be the other way around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Ncsccrdad,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you chose to share it with us! I am glad that you were content with the location of the property! We are in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to all of the hot spots. We do take certain procedures for checking guests in, to ensure that everything is taken care of and understood. Our parking is $32 a night but it's not mandatory. There are several other parking options to choose from such as street parking, garages and lots around the neighborhood. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly. It's a great time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. Our rooms are a bit dark, but we do provide lamps for those guests who would like more illumination in the room. Were you able to get one of those from the front desk or the operator?
I apologize greatly that your call was not tended to when you were trying to reach the front desk. I am sure that they were not refusing your call, they were most likely just super busy with other guests. I am definitely going to speak with the valet team about sticking their hands into the ice bin. That is completely unacceptable and I am glad that we are aware about this now.
We give attention and respond to each and every review on Trip Advisor, whether it's a negative or positive review. Most of the reviews that we have are positive though.

Have a great day!
Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the Chesterfield;staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Room was contemporary, spacious, and clean. Quite an ideal location central to South Beach's hotspots and restaurants. I shall definitely return next time I am in Miami!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good Afternoon HateHardRockMyrtle,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! Our staff is always trying their hardest to fulfill all of your request and make you feel comfortable, like you were right at home. I am glad that you were given that service! The location of our property is great! We are in the middle of it all, within walking distance to all of the action!

We hope that you will return to stay with us again, soon!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

For Miami, this was a pretty top hotel. It's a block away from the beach and in a great location for restaurants, bars and nightclubs. We had a bit of trouble when we checked in at midnight, and they gave us the wrong room (we needed two double beds and they gave us one). When we complained the front desk staff told us the hotel was full but that they would sort us out in the morning, which they did. The manager was very nice and gave us a new room the next day, which was better than expected - no complaints at all!
They give you a free happy hour from 7-8 and there's a great sushi restaurant next door. The service was really one of the best things, all the staff were very helpful and nice. Recommended!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Good Afternoon Andyislost,

Thank you so much for providing us with your wonderful feedback! Thank you for choosing to stay for us! Our location is great and in the heart of South Beach! We are extremely sorry for the issue that you experienced at the time of check in, but very glad to read that it was resolved! :) Our amenities are great and all of our guests love them! The complimentary cocktail hour is most likely everyone's favorite!
We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#86 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.