We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chesterfield Hotel to your Saves list
Chesterfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Every time I tried to find a positive during my stay it turned against me. I stayed for 2 nights and on my arrival the the guy at the reception Pedro was more concerned about the play list for the bar than checking me in. He started by telling me the hotel was fully booked and arranged for me to go over to the Shelley hotel instead......we went over there and then was sent back to the chesterfield as he had made a mistake.....the Shelley was across the road so carrying our luggage to and from was extremely annoying and Pedro did not handle the situation at all well.

We went to our rooms and they were dimly lit which wasn't a problem but the stench coming from the bathroom was unbearable. We asked to change rooms and Pedro switched us over to a room near by. This room had a dead phone, broken sink, faulty toilet, no Internet and limited tv channels. We were fed up at this point and couldn't be bothered to change again.

Valet service is totally not worth it, we paid $32 and on our request for the car he turned up 45 minutes later having used quite a bit of our petrol too which was noticeable. I know the valet is a separate company but they represent the hotel.

The best thing about the hotel was the location and the free shuttle out of there. Please avoid.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    492
    246
    149
    273
See reviews for
176
458
157
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

All staff were very friendly for our entire stay at the Chesterfield Hotel, esp. Pedro and all of the vallet/door guys. We really felt that they went out of their way to assist us, esp. when we were putting our luggage in and out of our car. Pedro was very helpful in booking our activities and was able to get us some good discounts. Rooms are a little small and dark, however, they have an African feel to them. The hotel also has a bar downstairs - def. a hotel for younger people or anyone who knows how to have a good time. Vallet was a little pricey ($32 a day!) Def. enjoyed our stay here...and like my title states, 'Vote for Pedro'!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

i stayed here from 1/26 - 1/28 just on a getaway from the freezing NYC weather. The staff, especially Daniel at the front desk were very friendly and personable and offered great suggestions. Daniel also gave us a great room, very spacious. The roof sun deck is a nice touch too. The location can't be beat and i thought the price was very reasonable. Bellman was super friendly, i think his name was Jose, he stored our bags sat 1/26 during the day and retrieved them 1/28 during the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

“Whatever is worth doing at all is worth doing well,” Lord Chesterfield said. Sadly, the boutique hotel that appropriated the gentleman’s name—Chesterfield Hotel and Suites at 855 Collins Avenue in Miami's South Beach—falls far short of his counsel. In curb appeal, with a wide and inviting front porch, this 92-room hotel made up of three small inns that have been cobbled together, holds its own among South Beach’s many art deco competitors. hotels. But the Chesterfield needs some serious well doing.

Rooms in South Beach were quite scarce in mid-January, so we turned to Orbitz for help. They found a king-bedded standard room at the Chesterfield for $227.99 for one night (plus $27 in taxes and fees, $15 in unexplained “local charges,” and a remarkable $32 to park for one night, for a total of $301.99). Upon our arrival, the desk clerk announced that he had upgraded us to a “premium suite.” The room, No. 410, was nowhere in the structure overlooking Collins but down a narrow courtyard and up a flight of stairs.

With its curtains closed in mid-afternoon, the bedroom—the main room--was eerily dark, in part because of its dark brown, nearly black floor, muted lime-green walls, and a recalcitrant Venetian blind with brown slats that age or hurricanes had broken, bent and misaligned. We pulled the cord to raise it, but the it got stuck midway up and fell back down. Worse, in our view, we could not crank open the jalousie window to bring in fresh air, although the window was slightly ajar.

As a suite, No. 410 had a second room of sorts, an alcove with a couch, and a television screen, a stocked refrigerator, but no window, tables or chairs. The bathroom, by contrast, was a decorative tour de force, with brown concrete tiling, dramatic lighting and a most attractive glass bowl, set atop the counter, for a sink. But this was an instance of form leading function. We could not fill the sink because the plumbing does not include a means of plugging the drain.

And so we complained, especially about the window and the blind. A manager explained that the window should not be opened because the fresh air would encourage smoking. A maintenance man was dispatched to inspect the blind but could neither repair it nor replace it.

We asked the manager for another room and were shown two. We settled on 410’s twin, No. 412, which was deeper down the courtyard and up a flight of stairs. The blind there was fine. The window in the bedroom was sealed, but the window in the bathroom worked like most windows. It opened. We just ignored another issue: That chain that hotels install inside the doors to their rooms to slide into a slot to protect guests inside didn’t work.

Presumably the Chesterfield has better rooms. Maybe we just got the dregs that were left by the mid-winter crush of visitors to South Beach. Among the personnel, the white-coated men who managed our luggage were cheerful, quick and competent. But because of management’s indifference to our and the condition of the rooms that we were assigned, we would suggest that visitors to South Beach could do better just about any place else, for a more suitable price.

Room Tip: Consider a room in the main hotel, and one with windows facing Collins Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this property for the third time since June of 2012 and had a blast. Stephen Morales the manager of this site was the best. He made sure that my stay was memorable and suggested all the spots to visit that I had not gone to during my previous visits to Miami and South Beach. I saw another great side to Miami, Laura and Francesca made sure we had a smooth check in, and kept us up to date with all of the information we needed to have a great time. We visited the Catalina via the electric car Shuttle and had a blast at this property as well. We met London the bartender, Eliana the manager at the site and Violet the general manager was also great in making us feel welcome and comfortable at this property. Stephen checked on us while we hung out at both the Catalina and the Chesterfield and the staff was friendly and helpful as to where to go what to see and assisted us with whatever we needed.Well done!
SSG New York

Room Tip: One bedroom or Jr Suite on the Garden path side, the rooms facing the street pick up the noise and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good Afternoon Ssg761,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!!! We are so glad to know that you are a returning guest!! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, yet again for the third time!!! Steven is such a great asset to our team! He knows about ALL of the hottest spots around Miami!! I will make sure to let all of the mentioned staff know about your wonderful praise!! Our electric go shuttle makes it an easy way to see our other properties and eat, drink and party at them too!! Please come back and stay with us for the fourth time!!!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The building is older, but is very well kept, and has a modern look. Their was a candle burning at the check in/out desk that made the lobby smell absolutely divine. The room smelled great and was very "comfy". This hotel is near EVERYTHING (i.e., beach, shopping, dining). We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely revisit this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello Enjoyurlife2010,

Your so kind for sharing your wonderful feedback with all of our future guests! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your weekend getaway!! We are glad that you got excellent service from our staff, and that they were able to help you. We do light up candles in the lobby to make it feel nice and cozy. It gives the lobby a great unique smell as well.
We hope that we can host your next weekend getaway!!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me and my daugther stayed there a couple of days ago for a week. Great hotel and closed to the beach, nightlife, and restaurants. The staff (Tavaris, asst mgr/Jose/Alex/Sandra) they were wonderful and they made us feel welcome and safe. It was only the two of us and the staff were so nice and they were for real, very friendly. I had a little accident in the bathroom and Tavaris was so understanding, he actually move me and my daugther to the suite because we couldn't stay in that paticular room anymore, he couldn't be more helpful. I recommend this hotel for the prices, nice staff, and perfect location. :) Hopefully I can take another small trip to Chesterfield South Beach...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Chelsea
#88 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#120 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#81 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,953 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Budget Places, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.