We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...if you stay out late” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chesterfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel...if you stay out late”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a good hotel if you want somewhere to put your bags and sleep for a few hours.
The staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Alex and Daniel). I would actually give them a 5 out of 5 for customer service.

Our room was clean with bohemian chic decor. First two things I checked were the bathroom and bed, and both were clean. The room is dimly lit, and it helped to hide some of the sloppy painted spots, but we really didn't care about that.

The reason I gave it a 3 is because it was extremely noisy. My husband and I got back at around 2 am and at 5 am, we were still awake. The rooms are not sound-proof at all, so you hear absolutely everything. There were a group of girls running up and down the stairs and over our room with clunky shoes all night. It sounded like there was a herd of elephants. Now, we didn't exactly try to resolve the situation by asking to be moved. We were only there for one night so we didn't bother. Perhaps the front desk could have moved us?

I would say stay there, but ask for a room on the top floor and away from the stairs.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from any stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good AFternoon Melaniejax,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that the service that you received by the two gentlemen was good! Our housekeepers work hard to ensure that you are checked into a totally clean room. The room is also inspected by 4 different people before it's put 'clean' in the system! We are working hard to take care of the issue with the noise! Were you able to speak with the front desk in regards to switching your room? If so, who did you speak with?

We would hope that you would give our group a second chance!

We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    335
    179
    124
    234
See reviews for
116
329
107
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We highly recommend this hotel! The staff was really friendly, our room was perfect (very modern and clean). Hotel has a great location and free shuttle to the airport - can't get any better than this!
We also have to say a special thanks to Alex Garcia (front desk supervisor) - you've been extremely helpful and understanding and you made our last night in Miami perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello TadejaRok,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful and honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a perfect stay while staying with us!! Our location is prime! Walking distance to everything. All of our guests love our R/T shuttle! It's a great money saver and everyone loves to save money! :) I will let Alex know of your kind praise! He's wonderful and all of our guests say the same! We are glad that his services are unforgettable! Come back and stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our bags missed our connection in Atlanta and we arrived at the hotel with no luggage. Upon checking in, we were told that our room wasn't ready but that they had a nice suite available if we wanted to wait about 15 minutes. We had requested a room in the rear of the hotel based on some reviews about the noise. We're glad we did.

When our bags still didn't arrive the following day when we needed to leave for the cruise port, the staff was very helpful and even offered to call us if the bags arrived after we left. I would definitely stay in this cute boutique hotel in a great location in South Beach again.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise from the street and the bars, ask for a room in the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good Afternoon JMR_CMH,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad that you had a good time with us! Our staff is always ready to help with all kinds of problems that you could run into. It's unfortunate that you had to deal with your luggage not arriving on time! I know the feeling of that- especially when your not even at your final destination! We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the worst hotel ever
.i paid for a taxi lift to the airport that was supposed to be free on the website.
The staff is very rude and unprofessional .(Anna and Pedro)
The bar tender is looking just for your money and had a big argument with her.
The room has no light and very dusty

The only good thing about this hotel is the location .but for the price you pay there you can get a much better quality .

Becareful on your credit card.
I will sue this hotel and make it visible to all clients in different websites.

Don't try to call or send an email or even talk to the managers because nobody care.

So guys .NO NO NO you will regret .as it just blowed all my mood during my vacation with my wife

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello Wahab H,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for sharing it with us! I am sorry to read that the Chesterfield was not suited for you. We do not provide complimentary taxi service from the airport. We do provide a shuttle that does pick ups every hour, on the hour. We like to keep the style of our rooms a little more dim then your average hotel. We do provide extra lamps for those who would like to illuminate their room some more. Were you able to speak with the front desk or the operator in regards to them bringing you another light? We are in the heart of South Beach. In the middle of all the action!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was really lucky to stay at chesterflied hotel. normally i am not a big fan of hotel chains, but the southbeachgroup.com kept individual style in every hotel. i stayed in Chesterflied Hotel which was great price for value. Really nice and classy rooms, good drinks on the bar and nice rooftop tub and sundeck. Expecially the managment amazing. they takeing care of you way beyond common costumer service. it was a great pleasure to stay there. just a minute to the beautiful beach and shop, restaurants etc are in walking distance.
Great location, excellent, friendly and professional staff and managment, artsy and spacious rooms. I was very happy there :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good Afternoon AlexSchmizzi,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you loved the Chesterfield!!! Each and every one of our hotels has it's own personality to it. They are all different and amazing in there own way! Our team works hard to provide you with excellent customer service!! We are in the heart of South Beach, in the middle of all the action! We can't wait to have you stay with us again, sometime soon!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was my second time staying with South Beach Group Hotels and it was great. I reserved a double standard room and at check in was upgraded to a Suite. We were only staying one night for my boyfriend's birthday so this was a nice surprise. The shuttle to and from the hotel is great. They have been on time each time we stayed. The hotel lets you leave your bag so you can go to the beach until your room is ready. The Happy Hour is great to get your night started. I have nothing but good things to say about the Chesterfield and we will be back. Pedro at the Front Desk was very nice and helpful as well as the Bellman Marcial. See you guys next time!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello Mr Miss T,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! All of our future guests love to read what you have to say about your recent stay with us!! We are very glad to read that you are a returning guest and, that you loved our hotel again!! I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle from the airport! It's a great money saver, and who doesn't like to save money? :) All of our guests love the fact that they can drink for an hour on the house, as well! It's also a fun time in getting to know who your temporary neighbors are! I will let Pedro and Marcial know about your kind praise! They are both hard workers and so good with all of our guests! We can't wait to host your next visit to South Beach!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are looking for the 5 star international,its glitz and bling bling standard, forget it. But if you like authenticity, some hispanic flair, art deco architecture and a warm and friendly atmosphere with comfort, it's the place to stay.. Staff in both hotels (Sheffield opposite) as well, is very nice and trying its best to make you happy ..happy hour. Chesterfied is a better location though, because of the size and decoration of the rooms. Being there in November after Veteran's day allowed us to have a very competitive rate. Booked in advance, an invoice error but corrected swiftly. Crossing the noisy but colorful Ocean Drive, the beach was clean and water warm and no damage from Sandy,. We were really pleased with Daniel Francesca Pedro Jose and the bellman services. Another advantage Airport pickup and drop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good Afternoon Charlesg187147,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!! We are glad that you liked the personality and style of our hotel! We always give great service to each and every one of our guests! We are very glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cocktail hour! It's a great hour of mingling and having a great time right down stairs from where your staying! We are very grateful that we were not affected by Sandy! The only beating our beach got were really gooood waves! We were all satisfied with that! :) I will let all mentioned staff know of your wonderful praise!! We hope to have you stay with us again sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.