We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of South Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chesterfield Hotel to your Saves list
Chesterfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heart of South Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a great stay at the Chesterfield hotel in Miami Beach!
It is a really nice boutique style hotel, our room had comfy beds, good facilities and was very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, also with finding a parking garage.
You have the best location, the middle of south beach: shop, clubs, beach everything you need within blocks.
We had breakfast out on the terrace, which was very good. The sundeck is nice for some relax time in the afternoon. There are free drinks for guest at specific times.
Initially we stayed 2 nights, but added 2 more nights and decided to also come back and stay for 2 nights at the end of our trip, so 6 nights total in 2 different rooms. The rooms in the back of the hotel are more quiet.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello Sanne,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us and that the hotel was clean to your standards! We work very hard to make sure that all of our guests get the great attention they deserve! We are in the heart of South Beach! In the middle of all the action yet far enough to get a good quiet nights rest! Breakfast on the terrace sounds like a wonderful way to start your day! It is a great spot to people watch even in the early hours of the day! I am very glad that you were able to enjoy the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8!! Very happy to read that you extended your stay with us!! Please let me know when you will be in South Beach again and I would love to handle your reservation!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    516
    257
    151
    278
See reviews for
190
479
165
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had very pleasant experience staying in this hotel, it's nice and clean, very attentive workers. loved their bar, because the music wasn't crazy loud, so i could talk to a bartender named Anna and hear her. She was really nice and made amazing mojitos, i'll definitely stay in this hotel again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good Afternoon Esther,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very very glad to see that you had a great time and enjoyed the bar and our staff while you were staying with us! I will let Anna the bartender know of your kind praise! Please come back and have some more Miami style mojitos with us soon!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent great night in this hotel, loved the location, free upgrade was amazing. We had wonderful suit with jacuzzi that made our stay even batter. My husband loved front desk girls, Ana and Francesca , they helped a lot with places to go and recommendations for restaurants. Service was great, room was over our expectations, defiantly coming back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello Danny,

I am glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you loved the location of the property! I see that the front desk ladies were able to help you and give you some pointers on where to go and what to do. We can't wait to have you back!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon check-in, it felt like the lady hated doing this job (I think her name was Francheska or something like that). Beware, they have a $16.95 daily fee. After signing the credit card receipt, she gave me the keys(card) and said elevators on the left; no additional information about the hotel etc.

The hotel advertises that it has internet access, they fail to say that it is only available in the lobby (something I was able to ask & get answered by Francheska). This was disappointing as one of the reasons I booked this hotel is to check on e-mails at the end of the day.

The rooms was clean. They have a mini-bar. But Watch-out! Even though we did not take a single thing from the mini-bar at the hotel, I saw a $3.75 charge on the credit card when I came home. My guess is that they think no one would bother to see or call about it. I called them and after some time on hold they did finally refund that amount given that the $3.75 charge for some cheese crackers was a lie.

Given the location, this hotel has a lot of potential if they make things right. Charge people a honest nightly fee and drop this "daily resort fee" junk. If your internet is in lobby only, then say so.

For now, I will look at another placer the next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good Afternoon Michael,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very sorry to read that you didn't have an amazing time while staying with us! I will bring up customer service in our weekly staff meetings. I am glad that you found the room to be clean. I am glad that you were able to get the refund for the cheese and crackers. We have a resort fee which covers all of the amenities that our guests love to enjoy. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I visited this hotel during Spring Break and very much enjoyed my stay. Upon arriving, we were given a key to our room only to discover upon entering, that it was already being occupied. As luck would have it, the front desk attendant upgraded us to a suite which was marvelous. It was on the "Hotel Leon" side, kinda in the cut but that's what made it even better. The bathroom was clean, it even included a tub, but me being a germaphobe, I just used that to clean my feet every evening after walking everywhere. It's one of the closest hotels to Wet Willies. Some may say location isn't ideal since it's at the very top of the strip but it wasn't too bad . Gave us the opportunity toi walk more than we probably would have otherwise. No pool, but there was an open bar in the evenings, I believe on the weekdays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello Kim,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!! I am very happy to hear that you were upgraded to a suite after noticing that the room they originally gave you was occupied. That was a mistake on our end with the system and I apologize greatly on our behalf!! We have complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8 every night of the week at the lobby bar.
We hope to have you back soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here during this past week. My first time staying in South Beach. Was a bit skeptical at first, because of some of the reviews and the dis.

Upon arriving, I was greeted by ALL the warm and friendly staff, specially Alex (managing supervisor) who not only gave us a chance to choose which room options we preferred but also told us about which local clubs to hit. From the shuttle driver, to the bell man, everyone is very helpful and friendly. They took our luggage up, opened doors and even took our luggage into the cab when it was time to leave. The bartenders aren't as friendly - could be that they thought I was underage, but that wasn't a big deal.

The lobby seemed very quiet to us, but in the weekends there is a DJ. The lobby and bar are in the same area, so if you don't want to go out, you have a bar near your room to grab a drink, eat or listen to music and people watch outside. I didn't get a chance to check out the rooftop deck during my stay.

The rooms are decorated with dim lighting - one could say the decor is "funky" and it took me a bit to get used to. The bathroom wasn't luxurious but it was clean, with lots of extra towels and a nice big shower.

Mind you there are homeless/drug addicts walking around the south beach area, regardless of what hotel you stay in. However, Collins Avenue, where this hotel is located, still seems much safer compared to Washington Avenue (the street nearby). The hotel is one street away from clubs such as Mango's. And nearby the shops! (Victoria's secret, Sephora, Aldo, etc). It's a 15 minute walk away from Lincoln Road which is the main shopping area at South Beach.

I'll be staying here again and again. No doubt.
What I loved was the free airport shuttle, free lobby wifi and free nightly happy hour. Also the location (shopping/restaurants/clubs), clean room, clean bathroom and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello Aisha,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such an wonderful extensive review for all of our future guests to read! I am glad to read that upon arrival you were warmly greeting by the one and only Alex! He is wonderful and provides such good service to all of our guests! Our lobby and outside sitting area is a great place to get some good food and a sip to drink while you people watch- and it's only a few steps away from your room. Miami in general has a lot of "random stollers" that roam the streets. Whether it be on South Beach, Downtown or Biscayne. You just have to keep eyes all around and you will be perfectly fine. They are harmless people- for the most part. We cannot wait to have you stay with us again. Please let me know when you will be down and I would love to take care of your reservation!
We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the proximity of this hotel to Ocean Drive and the beach - couldn't have been any better! We were 9 in our group and everyone commented on how happy they were with the location. The rooms are small but clean. The only suggestion would be is to put some additional lighting in the rooms as they are dark. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Our concern upon booking was the noise because we were there on a Saturday night and needed to get up early. We read the outside partying would be loud and might effect our sleep. We requested and received a room away from the street and could hear it a bit but it did not go all night long and didn't impact our sleeping at all. For the money, this is a good place to stay for sure. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the street and on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello,

Your wonderful feedback is greatly appreciated for all of our future guests to read! I see that you were very content of the location of the property and how close it was to Ocean Drive and the beach. I will let our team know about your comment in regards to lighting in the rooms. I am glad that you were able to sleep nice and tight. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Chelsea
#81 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#99 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#78 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#84 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.