We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach to your Saves list
Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very pleased!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Shelborne this weekend and was very impressed with the friendly, professional staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the quality of the drinks and food. We were upgraded to a beautiful oceanfront room and enjoyed resting in the quiet and comfortable room. Pool area is really nice and the servers are so patient and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    60
    27
    17
    2
See reviews for
56
102
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everyone on the staff that we encountered was helpful and cheerful. they go above and beyond to make sure your stay is delightful. they have an excellent bar and pool bar as well as beach access and nightlife nearby.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at Shelborne for 12 nights in May.
I loved everything about the hotel with 2 exceptions: housekeeping must work better and be more attentive and the pool area should be more "green" - may some flowers or trees should be added. it looks too stoney.

the breakfast/lunch/dinner - perfect!
Beach services - much better than in near by hotels.

I had a wonderful ocean front balcony room with was fantastic for me. a wonderful mix of 1940s and modern styles!!

Will definitley be back at Shelborne!!!

Room Tip: as always in Miami - try to take ocean view/higher floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel comfy beds.. clean rooms.. And the pool was awesome!
We would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a fantastic stay over a long weekend. This hotel was a perfect combination of fancy but not snobby! Clientele was sophisticated and not over the top. The service was impeccable from check-in to check-out. Teddy was super polite and accommodating, offering us a room upgrade and complimentary drinks. We also got a late check-out at 2pm and this made all the difference, allowing us to fully enjoy our last day before flying out. The rooms were so charming. Not huge but we were not in South Beach to hang out in our rooms. I loved the classy decor - even the doors are magnificent. The room we had faced the ocean and that was really worth it for the view. I found it to be really quiet against outside noise but surprisingly the room picked up every conversation from our neighbours through the connecting door. I could hear every word and their TV. Luckily they were almost never there but it could have become an issue. At night, the hum of the AC drowned everything out so that was great. The restaurant offered very good food however the real highlight was the outstanding bar of the hotel. The cocktails were out of this world and we must extend a special thank you to our phenomenal bartender Goran Markovic. He mixes incredible drinks. Just tell him what you like in general and he will come up with something special. We were hooked...and yes, the cocktails are not cheap but when you see the care and work that goes into them, it is worth every penny. The pool area and beach area were lovely. We really had the opportunity to relax. If you are looking for a hotel with a busy people watching scene this is not it ..except on Saturday afternoons where the pool is open to non guests who pay a fee to enter. It gets a little crazy but it is indeed entertaining. The rest of the time the pool and beach are pretty chill. I loved the overall feel and the location is walking distance to some excellent restaurants and not far from all the South Beach action. You can't go wrong. I would definitely return again!

Room Tip: I would suggest ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has two towers and not that many face the beach nor have balconies, but you don't spend a lot of time in your room in Miami. But the pool, restaurants, and location was fantastic, just 2 or 3 blocks from Lincoln Rd and steps to the beach and path to Ocean Drive full of night life meant never having to use a car or taxi nor Uber unless you wanted too. The hotel was spotless all 4 days I was there, the service level very good, it felt full of energy, if the worst thing I can say are slow ocean tower elevators, that is a good review.

Room Tip: upper floors and ocean front but few are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel! First off I was greeted by Eddie Olivares, who absolutely took care of me! The Shelbourne is very lucky to have someone like him work there. I was then given a prescription to The Drawing Room bar, which is an offshoot of the famous Apotheke in New York, (and one of the main reasons why I wanted to stay at this hotel), where bartenders concoct drinks that have a "beneficial" medicinal aspect to them. The owner Albert Trummer's son Jakob alongside Goran Markovic, created the tastiest drinks for me!
Elaine, always managed to set me up in the perfect spot on the beach and Nicole and Alejandro, always managed to keep me hydrated and fed.
My room was gorgeous! I miss it already. I can't wait to go back, I always go to SoBe alone, but at this hotel I was never alone and always taken care of .
The only thing that I would say needs improvement is the elevators, only one was working and there was a little bit of a wait, but waiting is usually part of the experience of being in Miami.
Thank you thank you thank you everyone! Hopefully I will be back for Art Basal

Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look back and dream forward. Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach revives its famed legacy of luxury, elegance and impeccable service. An eminent landmark constructed in 1940 and embellished in the 1950s, this Art Deco Miami modern gem is reborn, infusing modern sophistication into this vintage-chic, iconic hotel at Collins Avenue and 18th Street. Following the completion of a $150 million renovation, the iconic Shelborne resort will reemerge in the heart of the South Beach Art Deco District as the Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach. The illustrious lifestyle destination offers 200 guestrooms, including 11 lux suites, an exclusive portfolio of leisure and entertainment experiences and over 15,000 sq. ft. of expanded event space that includes several meeting rooms, an executive boardroom, breakout rooms, a grand ballroom and flexible indoor and outdoor space. Rising design star Meg Sharpe of Meg Sharpe Interiors masterfully mingles Art Deco details and a playfully modern edge into her design of the hotel's public spaces. Her refined and savvy perspective is complemented by esteemed Architectural Digest 100 (AD100) interior designer and author, Richard Mishaan of Richard Mishaan Design. Mishaan's luxuriously redesigned rooms, suites, meeting spaces and ballrooms evoke the storied glamour and iconic culture of the 1950s. Film and TV costume designer Carol Ramsey creates stylish and vibrant fashion for the staff, drawing inspiration from the trendsetting silhouettes of the late 1950s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.