We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach to your Saves list
Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Beautiful Hotel!
The staff in the front desk and everyone we meet was extremly helpful and took care of everything we asked for. Information regarding breakfast-options pool, beach etc. had been useful when we checked in.
The concierge was great, helped us with table reservations and everything else we asked for.
The pool area an beach are fantastic! but the pool/beach snack restaurant have room for improvement, not that good food - and if the intention is to serve on the beach - it`s not working very good.
Room was great, it was near the elevator that was a little annoying and the carpet was kind of dirty - but overall great design and sleeping comfort. No pricelist for the minibar.
The internet was very slow, almost not working - even when we upgraded it.
But the feeling of this hotel and the staff is impressive - we will definetively stay here again if we are traveling to South Beach!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    59
    27
    17
    2
See reviews for
55
99
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were out on business and had an afternoon to sneak away. Alain and Maurice at the beach took great care of us and were a wealth of knowledge. They made the experience perfect and relaxing. Highly recommend them and the beach. They knew the area and gave us a real sense of welcome. Exactly what we needed after a long work day.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Alain with the hotel was very accommodating & we will definitely be coming back to see him! Helped us on the beach with the chairs & helped make it the perfect vacation experience & very peaceful.....

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Katie T,

It is truly wonderful to hear that Alain was very accommodating throughout your stay and that he has gone above to ensure you had a carefree and memorable experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I want to take this opportunity to thank you and your staff for your very kind hospitality. Our stay at the Shelborne has been nothing short of amazing. I never knew what they meant when they labeled hotels as a lifestyle experience but I sure do now! You guys really know how to make your guests feel special. From our first greeting from Eddie at the front desk to housekeeping to Franchesca and the beach staff - we have been treated with and given such courtesy, efficiency and top notch service. We've stayed in Miami numerous times from The W, to The Ritz, Fountainbleu and Eden Roc - but this by far is our favorite. None of those other properties have the charm and warmth this place does. We're so happy that it was recommended to us, and we too will recommend it to our friends and colleagues. The location to the nightlife, restaurants, shopping and beach can't be beat! Needless to say, we will be back - as Miami is our favorite couples getaway and the Shelborne is now our favorite place! Thanks again and keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nu11679,

It is an honor to hear that your stay was not only “amazing” but that our staff was “courteous”, “efficient” and provided “Top Notch Service”. We strive to provide the most personalized and specially curated experiences for our guests and it is truly satisfying to hear that we have accomplished this for you during your recent stay. I look forward to personally sharing your wonderful feedback with Eddie, Francesca and the beach staff. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location for enjoying the beach and sightseeing. Most importantly the staff couldn’t be more polite and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the Bistro where we were served by a friendly and vibrant lady called Jackie who makes excellent cappuccinos. This will be officially our "Go To" hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello 153eric,

We truly appreciate your kind words and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is truly something special as you might have noticed. We are so pleased that we are now your "go to" hotel in Miami Beach. What an honor! I'll be sure to share your feedback with our staff as they love to hear from our guests. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 1 night with kids to enjoy the beach. The valet staff and the front desk staff is very helpful. Barbara offered excellent service. Loved the prescriptions she gave us :-) Brandon made excellent drinks....I mean prescription meds. The nighttime bartender was not as good though. The beach staff set us up with the complementary cushioned beach chairs and the umbrella for a nominal fee ($19). The pool staff was fantastic too. We went to the beach and the pool, returned to the room, took a shower and headed out to dinner. By the time we got back housekeeping had already visited and made the room for us. Note - we did not request housekeeping. The staff is on top of their game. All in all an excellent stay ! We are most certainly going back.

Room Tip: Ask for Barbara and she will set you up. She is on top of her game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Jay201146,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We try our best to accommodate our guest in all ways, and with the upmost standards of service. From our front desk team and apothecary style bar to our beach side service, our goal is to make sure our patrons have a most memorable stay. Thank you for your kind words, and we absoluteky look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards
Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel and stay. The location was great, and it is right on the beach.
Was impressed especially by the beach staff and all the hotel employees.
Service on the beach was quick.
Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello AjayD,

On behalf of our team I would like to thank you very much for such kind words. Our goal is to make sure our guest feel welcome and taken care of, and I am pleased our staff was able to accomplish both during your stay. We will definitely be looking forward to your return, great service and ambience await!

Best Regards
Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look back and dream forward. Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach revives its famed legacy of luxury, elegance and impeccable service. An eminent landmark constructed in 1940 and embellished in the 1950s, this Art Deco Miami modern gem is reborn, infusing modern sophistication into this vintage-chic, iconic hotel at Collins Avenue and 18th Street. Following the completion of a $150 million renovation, the iconic Shelborne resort will reemerge in the heart of the South Beach Art Deco District as the Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach. The illustrious lifestyle destination offers 200 guestrooms, including 11 lux suites, an exclusive portfolio of leisure and entertainment experiences and over 15,000 sq. ft. of expanded event space that includes several meeting rooms, an executive boardroom, breakout rooms, a grand ballroom and flexible indoor and outdoor space. Rising design star Meg Sharpe of Meg Sharpe Interiors masterfully mingles Art Deco details and a playfully modern edge into her design of the hotel's public spaces. Her refined and savvy perspective is complemented by esteemed Architectural Digest 100 (AD100) interior designer and author, Richard Mishaan of Richard Mishaan Design. Mishaan's luxuriously redesigned rooms, suites, meeting spaces and ballrooms evoke the storied glamour and iconic culture of the 1950s. Film and TV costume designer Carol Ramsey creates stylish and vibrant fashion for the staff, drawing inspiration from the trendsetting silhouettes of the late 1950s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.