We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and working at the Shelborne Miami during MMW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach to your Saves list
Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #34 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and working at the Shelborne Miami during MMW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed at the SLS South Beach for 4 nights, part work part fun in being that I was able to check out some of the clubs, do a day drinking party and at night listen to Alesso Live 1 door down at SLS.This is truly an outstanding hotel. From the moment I stepped to the reception area until the day we left the hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The valet guys, reception etc. The hotel is very trendy and has a unique design and vib. Even at night between 630PM and 11PM the hotel lobby bar had a DJ.. great touch! The room was specious enough, very well equipped and welcoming. And yes , again a great design. The shower is amazing! Don't be fooled by prior bad reviews this place is a gem!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    53
    18
    15
    2
See reviews for
48
75
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is great, very close to the beach. There are doormen to greet you when you are entering and exiting, so you never have to touch a door! The staff are friendly and helpful. I had a handicap accessible room so it was huge. The only problem is that it was near an elevator so I could hear the sound of the "dinging" when it was on my floor. They have turn-down service and I did not know that, so I went in my room and found my television on when I knew I had turned it off.

All-in-all, it is a nice property with great staff, and a great location. It was within walking distance of the beach, great dining at Lincoln Mall, and the convention center.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

In the middle of it all, the Shelborne Wyndham Grand is one amazing hotel! The Staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the rooms are clean and nicely appointed, the food and drink options are wonderful, and the location is perfect! I could not be happier and will not stay anywhere when I'm in South Beach again!

Room Tip: Get the Oceanview Room...the views are breathe-taking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My friends and I rented a night for my buddy's birthday. We decided to relax and spend the day poolside. As we arrived we were instantly greeted by the attendant that took care of getting us chairs and towels. I forgot his name but he seemed to be older gentlemen, very professional, and friendly though. We decided to head to the bar for a quick drink and that's where Alejandro the bartender who got us some drinks. He made us feel at home right away, as we discovered he had so much in common being that we are all surfers. We ended up staying at the bar for most of our time with Alejandro, it almost felt like he was one in our group. Overall the hotel was great, exceeded my expectations. Our room was nice, but it was our view that really did it. I will totally recommend this hotel, and its friendly staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The recently renovated hotel has rooms that are nicer and fresher than more storied hotels. It doesn't have a hot club or pool scene but is close to those that do. The best part is the outstanding service. Every employee has a warm greeting for the guests and they pay attention (a bellhop noticed that was leaving without my bag). I've stayed at several Miami Beach hotels over the years, but now I've found one to stick with.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Evan T,

It is truly satisfying to hear not only that our staff was warm, friendly and attentive that they provided outstanding service during your stay! Here at the Shelborne we strive to provide the upmost personalized service in South Beach and it seems like we are right on track! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I hope you return to visit us in the near future!

Best Regards,

Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We rented one of their pool cabanas for my wife's birthday. Excellent food, drinks and service. Never felt pressured - but always got what we needed promptly. Thanks to Veronique for great service, Eddie the manager for checking to make sure we were okay, and Alex for keeping our space clean and ready to go.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your recent experience when renting one of our pool side cabanas for your wife's birthday and am so happy to hear the food and service was excellent! I look forward to sharing your review with Veronique, Eddie and Alex and hope you have the opportunity to come visit again soon!

Best Regards,

Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this is an original Miami hotel that was purchased by wyndham, then renovated to look like a 1950's circa hotel. the result is amazing! furnishings very nice, location excellent, bar very original, everything about this hotel is incredible. including personal service by the GM Eddie, he was somehow there whenever we needed him, wow you don't get this service everywhere (anywhere?). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Robert W,

We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the renovations we recently underwent and that you appreciated our efforts in bringing back the glamour of the 1950's. Eddie of course like our entire team strives to provide the most personalized and anticipatory service possible. We are thrilled that we succeeded in providing you an exemplary getaway, and look forward to your next visit!

Best Wishes

Nils Stolzlechner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look back and dream forward. Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach revives its famed legacy of luxury, elegance and impeccable service. An eminent landmark constructed in 1940 and embellished in the 1950s, this Art Deco Miami modern gem is reborn, infusing modern sophistication into this vintage-chic, iconic hotel at Collins Avenue and 18th Street. Following the completion of a $150 million renovation, the iconic Shelborne resort will reemerge in the heart of the South Beach Art Deco District as the Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach. The illustrious lifestyle destination offers 200 guestrooms, including 11 lux suites, an exclusive portfolio of leisure and entertainment experiences and over 15,000 sq. ft. of expanded event space that includes several meeting rooms, an executive boardroom, breakout rooms, a grand ballroom and flexible indoor and outdoor space. Rising design star Meg Sharpe of Meg Sharpe Interiors masterfully mingles Art Deco details and a playfully modern edge into her design of the hotel's public spaces. Her refined and savvy perspective is complemented by esteemed Architectural Digest 100 (AD100) interior designer and author, Richard Mishaan of Richard Mishaan Design. Mishaan's luxuriously redesigned rooms, suites, meeting spaces and ballrooms evoke the storied glamour and iconic culture of the 1950s. Film and TV costume designer Carol Ramsey creates stylish and vibrant fashion for the staff, drawing inspiration from the trendsetting silhouettes of the late 1950s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.