We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Art Deco jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach to your Saves list
Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #48 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Pavia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Renovated Art Deco jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent Hotel. Renovated in recent months, we checked in the week after the grand opening. Staff was incredibly attentive. The location is great with easy access to the beach and its a short walking distance to the restaurants and shops on Lincoln street.
Rooms are Art Deco touchs but are modern and comfortable. As with all Wyndham hotels, the beds are heavenly. The Frette robes are the best I've ever seen at a hotel. The showers are huge. Careful though the tiles used on the floor are quite slick.
Breakfast at Morimoto is pricey and doesn't begin to compare with say Norma's at the Parker Meridian in NYC.
We hope to make it back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the city view rooms as the noise from the street can be considerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the best hotel I have been to in the longest time. We travel all over the world and stay in the best hotels. We were staying at another hotel and went in to check the Shelborne out. The hotel is beautiful, but what blew us away was how serviceable and friendly everyone was. We were greeted right away. We told them we were staying down the street and just came in to see the hotel. Right away this gentlemen offered to give us a tour. He was just wonderful and took his time. As we were leaving we found out he was the assisted general manager. Wow! We were so impressed how he took his time with us that we decided to checked-out of our hotel and checked-in at the Shelborne. We have never had a better stay anywhere. Thanks to Al and Nicole and Alex at the pool! We are coming back!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a 20 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything was wounderful.
Beautiful hotel, great location! My only complaint is that our stay was too short!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent stay at the Shelborne. Hotel is beautiful....rooms are very comfortable, excellent food at the restaurant, great pool and beach, service was great. No complaints here. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear JodyMc14679,

I am so happy to hear that you had an excellent stay here at the Shelborne Wyndham Grand. With our recent renovations we have updated all of our guestrooms so I am pleased that you felt very comfortable in your room. We truly value our guests feedback, so thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Nils Stolzlechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Weekend stay with friends was a amazing experience. Room very clean and comfortable.Service was exceptional.
Most importantly the staff was superior compared to many other hotels I have stayed at in South Beach.

I would like to thank Luisa for making our stay perfect. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils S, General Manager at Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Janice P,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your visit to South Beach. Our goal here at the Shelborne is to provide the best service on the beach, so it thrills me to hear that our guests feel that our staff is superior. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and we look forward to your next stay!

Best Regards,
Nils Stolzlechner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look back and dream forward. Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach revives its famed legacy of luxury, elegance and impeccable service. An eminent landmark constructed in 1940 and embellished in the 1950s, this Art Deco Miami modern gem is reborn, infusing modern sophistication into this vintage-chic, iconic hotel at Collins Avenue and 18th Street. Following the completion of a $150 million renovation, the iconic Shelborne resort will reemerge in the heart of the South Beach Art Deco District as the Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach. The illustrious lifestyle destination offers 200 guestrooms, including 11 lux suites, an exclusive portfolio of leisure and entertainment experiences and over 15,000 sq. ft. of expanded event space that includes several meeting rooms, an executive boardroom, breakout rooms, a grand ballroom and flexible indoor and outdoor space. Rising design star Meg Sharpe of Meg Sharpe Interiors masterfully mingles Art Deco details and a playfully modern edge into her design of the hotel's public spaces. Her refined and savvy perspective is complemented by esteemed Architectural Digest 100 (AD100) interior designer and author, Richard Mishaan of Richard Mishaan Design. Mishaan's luxuriously redesigned rooms, suites, meeting spaces and ballrooms evoke the storied glamour and iconic culture of the 1950s. Film and TV costume designer Carol Ramsey creates stylish and vibrant fashion for the staff, drawing inspiration from the trendsetting silhouettes of the late 1950s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne Wyndham Grand South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.