We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #158 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here with my GF during the summer and found the hotel to be located close to the bars and clubs in south beach. You can pretty much walk to all of the bars and resturants without the need of a taxi to get you around. I suggest hitting Pizza Bar at the end of the night. They are located a couple blocks from the hotel and are open late. The slices are huge and the pizza taste wonderful. Valet parking isnt free but comes in handy as parking is a pain in the rear in south beach. The hotel has beach access and the pool is nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    62
    68
    135
See reviews for
67
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here during miami music week and absolutely loved it. The weather was perfect and the pool had a great vibe. The rooms weren't in the best shape but still was close to everything on the strip. The beach is gorgeous and the staff is very friendly. Always pleased when I stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we booked a townhouse at the shelborne. We made a trip and before miami we were in LV, in Vegas we got a phone call from the owner Peter Trifunovic​h and he told us that the hotel was under construction but that we could go there if we wanted. We looked at the condo, it was very nice but we were the only guys in the hotel. Everywere was construction work. Some people had to stop woeking for us to walk to our room. The travel agent Roberto from Miami Reservation Center took good care of us and found a very nice other condo for us, even gave us a complimentary trip to the everglades! Roberto did a nice job but Peter Trifunovic​h doesn't even contact us for the deposit we made! He still owe us! Please don't book your trip with Peter Trifunovic​h, for a good help you should go to Miami Reservation Center.
Beside of the bad experience with the townhouse we had a great time in miami!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago on a family vacation to south beach. They were making a porno in the pool when we went here.... the entire pool area and area surrounding it was blocked off... not very good for a vacation with my 3 small children who were excited to use the pool. There is only one functioning elevator in the entire hotel. Staff will rush on the elevator with huge carts before letting the guests on... it took me nearly 20 minutes to get from upstairs to downstairs everytime on the elevator. On top of that the rooms are old filled with rust.The air conditioning does not work. The staff are the most unfriendly people I have ever met in my life, and on top of it all they try and charge you a daily resort fee. Ridiculous. Do not stay here it is a nightmare... it is better to stay in a motel that charges $20 per night... the motel would be much nicer... trust me!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago; actually rented the room out through SOBE rentals, which also are terrible, but I wanted to warn people that although the front lobby is nice, it is all downhill from here. The first night there I had to sleep with the light on because I saw multiple bugs and even an iguana creeping around as soon as I turned the lights out; the window fixtures were minimal so it was easy to see the floor even with the lights out. Furniture was old and the rug seemed so gross that I didn't dare take my shoes off. Shower drain was broken. To top it all off, on Friday night I got a terrible sprained ankle when dancing at a club, and when we returned back to the hotel, I asked for ice and was told that I wasn't really staying with the hotel. I told them I was in great pain and they grudgingly had ice sent up to my room for my blown up ankle. RUN away from this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is unimaginable that a Wyndham property would rent a room (at ful price) in a property that is currently undergoing major renovations. There was mold in the room. Hotel was operating on a skeleton crew. TVs and decorations had already been removed from the property. Most ammenities were not available. It was a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicollette d, Group Sales Coordinator at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
On behalf of the entire Shelborne Team, I would like to apologize for your less than exemplary experience at our hotel. We are taking your detailed feedback very seriously as our goal is to provide exceptional service and create remarkable experiences for all our guests. You are correct, we were implementing steps in preparation for our extensive renovation and we are truly sorry to hear it affected your stay. We hope you will give us another chance so you can experience the newest unique lifestyle luxury resort opening Winter 2013 officially under the Wyndham Flagship. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First impressions look great, the fountain was great, but once you step inside and wait to be checked in, its all downhill from there. I was visiting with a few work colleagues from NYC. The rooms were terrible, the carpeting was the kind of carpeting you find in offices, cheap and nasty. The quality of the room furniture was bad. The bathroom did not have an extractor fan, and in the whole room you could not find a full length mirror.
Pool area was the best of all the amenities. Not big not small but average size. Mixed bag of people were there, from families with babies, to groups of guys and girls partying to not well known celebrities.
My overall impression of the hotel was poor. But it was a bonus they severed a continental breakfast, so the coffee and muffins etc.
I think this is the perfect hotel for people who are going to get wasted / and be binge drinking for the majority of their trip. This is not the hotel for couples who want a retreat.

Room Tip: We were a large group of ladies, so we saw a few rooms, both were of the same standard - POOR!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#158 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.