We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    97
    63
    68
    136
See reviews for
66
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Looking at the professional photos on trip advisor i feel like i stayed at a different hotel :( i know they are in the middle of renovations so it's unfair to critique but Our room was very tired and run down. There was rust in the bathroom and paint cracking. The shower was so old I could never work out how to get hot water working- looked like it hadn't been renovated in 50yrs. It was however clean. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was sufficient. There wasn't really anything wrong with the Shelborne, Miami itself just wasn't really my scene. The hotel lobby is impressive, the pool is inviting, very close to shops and the proximity to the beach can't be beaten! South beach and this hotel really are all about the beautiful people, sun baking, drinking, flirting and partying. So if that's your scene than this is perfect! The japanese restaurant in the lobby is delicious but expensive. We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon. As our room was so ordinary I don't think I would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Are you joking? Stayed here in February of 2013. The stay started with the MAID stealing my wifes iPhone 5. The rooms were moldy, toilets dirty, bathrooms were disgusting, bathroom door would not shut, and sheets and towels were obviously used but refolded. I can't believe that this place is allowed to operate in South Beach. If this trip wasn't prepurchased for us as a gift- there is no way on Earth that I would book this tourist trap.

Room Tip: Stay far far away from this tourist trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks. Hotel rooms were not clean and when we got there ,the maid was preparing our room. Throughout the stay we noticed some other things wrong with the room. Broken chair, unhelpful staff ,window couldnt open and nasty bathroom and toilet. please do not book this hotel. Apart from that, the pool area and pool parties held were epic. Would not book again.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is an updated boutique hotel right on the beach. It is very close to Lincoln Rd for shopping and near tons of other shops and restaurants. The rooms are being updated even more. Spacious living space with kitchenette. Nice pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicollette d, Group Sales Coordinator at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear RNJeff1971, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay at the Shelborne South Beach. Its wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our prime location in the heart of South Beach on 18th & Collins and our onsite amenities. We would definitely love to have you back and hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Quaint, Quiet...
Show More
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#116 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Spa, Charming...
Show More
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#39 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#94 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Pool, Ch...
Show More
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#33 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
National Hotel Miami Beach
National Hotel Miami Beach
#78 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
City Center
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.