We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #160 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Long Island , ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Shelborne is the perfect location with everything around it. It is located far enough to get some relaxation without the noise but close enough to party the night away. There is Lincoln rd Mall conveniently located two blocks away along with the convention center and restaurants surrounding it. When we first arrived our room was not ready and had to wait two hrs but the staff and manager were very accommodating. The bellhop Raymond was more than amazing, he made sure our luggage was secure, and that we were being taking care off. After waiting for a while , he rushed the housekeeper to prepare our room so that we could change and enjoy the rest of our sunny day. The manager Fernando is very sweet and nice. He goes out of his way to make sure that your stay there is unlike any other. He made sure that i had everything i needed and made sure i got the best room possible despite what i had reserved and gave me a better room. After checking in Fernando(Manager) sent me to the poolside bar to have a Mimosa. The Bartender Guzel which is there on weeknds, is totally awsome and the best! She may come off stand-offish at first but its because she is so busy, but she is definatly the sweetest and funniest girl. Great personality and bubbly. Another awesome person was Isa he is very very funny and always makes you laugh no matter what. There are still alot of renovations being done but and alot of things to be fixed but overall its a great place with great attentive people, in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    63
    68
    135
See reviews for
67
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Shelborne is conveniently located right on the beach as well as in walking distance from Lincoln Rd and Ocean Drive. Upon arriving at the hotel, Addy at the front desk was very helpful. He gave us a choice between two rooms with a beautiful ocean view. Addy also was readily available to answer any questions we had. I enjoyed my stay at the Shelborne.I would recommend it to my family and friends traveling to South Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Waited in the lobby for 2 hours because they could not find my reservations even with the reservation number. The overall attitude was "there is nothing we can do we don't have a reservation and we are booked". I had to call the Wyndham myself and give the manager the telephone. The first room we were given was horrible so we went back down to the lobby and requested another room. The second room was just as bad, but was told that we would get upgraded the next day. The room had mildrew in the bathroom, the carpet was nasty, the bathtub/shower had hair in it, the safety lock on the door was weak at best,...it was a mess. I took pictures. The next day we went down for the transfer as promised and was told the room still wasn't ready it was after 2 pm......half the day wasted waiting for a room. No room service available, the bar was never opened. No continental breakfast as promised. The 16th floor was under construction and the ceiling leaked, there was exposed brick with missing drywall.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

i've stayed at this hotel before and when my family and friends wanted to take a trip to miami i did not hesitate to suggest that we stay at the shelborne again. We loved the location; the ocean was literally in its backyard. My favorite part about staying here was the hotel pool party and the karaoke (we used that to pre game before going out lol). The staff was really easy going and made us feel at home; especially Isa, Addy and Macdally. They put up wonderfully with all my crazy friends and our questions about hot spots, restaurants, etc ! so if you see them ... go talk to them haha they're really friendly :)
i would definitely keep staying there when i visit Miami

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the Shelborne to celebrate my cousin's birthdays and was very pleased with my stay. The staff was exceptional. Shout out to Addy, Raymond and Rafael, who all went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The fact that there are no ice machines on the floors was a little inconvienent however the staff was quick to bring the ice when it was requested. It would be very helpful to put some mirrors in the bedroom or living room area. The staff at Vespars was also on point, shout out to Santiago, Christine, and Guznel. They remebered us each time we came down for breakfast and gave us excellent service. The location was the best for getting to the beach and the pool was very nice too. Rafael made us resevations for dinner and arranged for our transportation upon check out, all went very smoothly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a renovated room which was more spacious than the pictures appear. I would call ahead to assu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here during a trade show in Miami. The hotel rooms were more like C grade rooms reminiscent of a Motel 6 and the carpet smelled grimy and moldy. After returning home we began noticing that there were "additional" charges on the credit card that were not authorized, were not for anything we used, and were not on our bill when we left. Even though the staff promised to make it right, they haven't to date, are extremely unhelpful, will not return calls, and have extremely poor customer service skills. Will not stay here again...ever. Thieves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Lobby and pool are beautiful!!!! Rooms were very average..kind of dated...but the customer service was great! Addy helped us tremendously! He Was very friendly and helpful! Location was also great...beach access was great! Overall enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.