We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best rooms but great customer service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #156 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Not the best rooms but great customer service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Lobby and pool are beautiful!!!! Rooms were very average..kind of dated...but the customer service was great! Addy helped us tremendously! He Was very friendly and helpful! Location was also great...beach access was great! Overall enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    95
    62
    68
    136
See reviews for
64
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel could be great but they have little interest in guests. Spa is Luke warm. Floors are dirty outside of lobby. Pool is great. Views and location great. No ice. It's like they afraid to let guests have it. I guess the cocktails are expensive so they keep you there. Personally I would take a pass in this one unless you are under 30 and into Spring Break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was a little hesitant about staying at the Shelborne. The reviews were mixed and the three star rating for a hotel on South Beach gave me pause. To my surprise it was a wonderful stay. First of all, most hotels on South Beach are boutique hotels, meaning they have been around for a long time. When I made my reservation I explained that it will be my sisters first visit to Miami and I want it to be memorable and could the make sure we have a room that has been renovated already. There was four of us, and Addey, awesome guy at the front desk, made sure it happened. We had a room overlooking the pool, full kitchen, we were near the exit to the terrace. We were there to party, so whatever noise people were complaining about in there reviews did not bother us. Ideal location. They have a club on the premises, so you don't have to go too far if you do not want to. The lobby, bar and hallways were impressive. We had a great time at the Shelborne and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: The townhouse is perfect for a large party and family. They overlook the pool and there is a pool p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was my second trip to the Shelborne as I stayed the previous year and had a wonderful time. This hotel has a lot of potential but the change in management is apparent. I had contacted the hotel months prior to my visit to ensure a renovated room and received a nice email from the former manager Jay Rosen saying that it would be taken care of. My room was booked as a deluxe through American Airlines and to me that would imply renovated because it cost extra points. I called two months prior to my visit and spoke with Shaniqua who asked me to forward the email from Jay which I did. She was emailed twice but she never responded so I called again, The day before I arrived, I spoke with her and she said no problem on the renovated room. Well upon arrival, there were problems and Shaniqua never appeared even though Addy said she was in the back. He eventually gave me the renovated room but it wasn't ready until 6pm. Check- in is at 4pm by the way. The first night the shower was cold, there was hair on the floor of the bathroom, no robes, and the key cards didn't work at 2am. The night manager Darling was very nice and agreed to a full free breakfast the next morning. The pool and beach area are beautiful and Stan at Vesper is great. Overall though, the hassles with the
room and first night experience does not want to make me come back. It seems like some of the
staff at this hotel value their jobs and others could care less. It is too bad because the hotel is in an awesome location and could be one of the best on Collins if they ever completed the renovations and resolved their management issues. Outlets in the bathrooms and a mirror in the main rooms would also be a good idea!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a beautiful view this is it (but make sure you have a room with a balcony). Beautiful chandeliers and very nice pool. Sparkly tile floors in the lobby. Maintenance was slow to respond. Waited an hour to get our shower fixed. Security was slow to respond to loud neighbors. It's a strong possibility I would go back. Great location too and the gym was nice!

Room Tip: Get the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From looking at the lobby and pool you would think it's a gorgeous hotel. But the rooms will prove this wrong. The first room I checked in to had torn carpets, holes in the wall, beds on loose frame, generally awful and dirty. I complained and they upgraded me to something more recently renovated, but still completely out of shape.

This hotel is a complete rip off. The only good thing I can say is the location is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with some friends. I asked for a upgrade from the street view to ocean view. We (4 girls) were placed in an ocean view room on the corner of the hotel. It seemed smaller than the other rooms (not pictured on the website). Our bathroom needed a few repairs. The cabinet in the kitchen fell off. The curtains looked as if they were taped to the rod. The walls & floors are very thin, heard every noise from other rooms. The front desk was great service, the valet and house keeping was not. We had to explain to the valet that we wanted to pay cash since we were only using the service for night and he gave us a hard time & billed it to the room (it was removed during check out). We asked for wash cloths (they only had 1 in the room) at 12pm, 4pm & 8pm we finally got them at 9pm along with extra toliet paper. Housekeeping also tried to give us a hair dryer which we did not ask for. Dont waste your time on the complimentary breakfast, its only toast, cereal, juice & muffins. Make use the towels/chairs on the beach however I suggest you bring your own cooler as service is slow and sometimes dont have what you really want. We asked for miami vices and were told that the machine was broken the bar tender did not feel like making them so we were limited to certain premade drinks. The food is expensive $5 for one small taco. Even though it costs a little more we took advantage of the late check out (3pm) and luggage storage as we had a late flight. Location was good, near walgreens, liquor store and away from the craziness of ocean if you like the quiet areas. I am not sure if I would stay again as room was $900 & I felt it wasnt worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer or renovated rooms. Also ask to see the room before you actually check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.