We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS VIEW!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #149 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Strongsville, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS VIEW!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a beautiful view this is it (but make sure you have a room with a balcony). Beautiful chandeliers and very nice pool. Sparkly tile floors in the lobby. Maintenance was slow to respond. Waited an hour to get our shower fixed. Security was slow to respond to loud neighbors. It's a strong possibility I would go back. Great location too and the gym was nice!

Room Tip: Get the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    94
    61
    67
    136
See reviews for
63
120
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From looking at the lobby and pool you would think it's a gorgeous hotel. But the rooms will prove this wrong. The first room I checked in to had torn carpets, holes in the wall, beds on loose frame, generally awful and dirty. I complained and they upgraded me to something more recently renovated, but still completely out of shape.

This hotel is a complete rip off. The only good thing I can say is the location is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with some friends. I asked for a upgrade from the street view to ocean view. We (4 girls) were placed in an ocean view room on the corner of the hotel. It seemed smaller than the other rooms (not pictured on the website). Our bathroom needed a few repairs. The cabinet in the kitchen fell off. The curtains looked as if they were taped to the rod. The walls & floors are very thin, heard every noise from other rooms. The front desk was great service, the valet and house keeping was not. We had to explain to the valet that we wanted to pay cash since we were only using the service for night and he gave us a hard time & billed it to the room (it was removed during check out). We asked for wash cloths (they only had 1 in the room) at 12pm, 4pm & 8pm we finally got them at 9pm along with extra toliet paper. Housekeeping also tried to give us a hair dryer which we did not ask for. Dont waste your time on the complimentary breakfast, its only toast, cereal, juice & muffins. Make use the towels/chairs on the beach however I suggest you bring your own cooler as service is slow and sometimes dont have what you really want. We asked for miami vices and were told that the machine was broken the bar tender did not feel like making them so we were limited to certain premade drinks. The food is expensive $5 for one small taco. Even though it costs a little more we took advantage of the late check out (3pm) and luggage storage as we had a late flight. Location was good, near walgreens, liquor store and away from the craziness of ocean if you like the quiet areas. I am not sure if I would stay again as room was $900 & I felt it wasnt worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer or renovated rooms. Also ask to see the room before you actually check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The studio was a great value: clean, well-equipped, fantastic location with all of the amenities of an ocean-front hotel. The staff was polite and accommodating and Vicky Reyes, the concierge, was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I entered our room and were disgusted by the state of the bathroom. There were hairs in and around the sink, toothpaste splattered on the tile, and the shower was repulsive. After calling the front desk and letting them know, they gave us a key to an "upgraded room". Our next room may have been worse than the original. I stepped on a pin that was in the rug next to my bed. There were similar toothpaste splatters on the tile in the bathroom. The paint on the walls were chipped and the windows were broken and dirty. The lighting in the bathroom was so awful we had to bring a lamp into the bathroom to put on our makeup. We attempted to leave that night due to our level of dissatisfication but because it was 11:00 pm on a Saturday night we could not find another place to stay. We were told that because our room was already an upgrade they could do nothing else to help us that night. The manager refused to come see the condition of the room and was very rude over the phone. On Sunday morning when I attempted to shower there was no hot water. We called the front desk and we were told a technician would be sent up. After waiting 30 minutes we called the front desk again and 10 minutes after that someone came to our room and fixed the shower. We decided to see what the continental breakfast we had to pay resort fees for had to offer. It was extremely dissapointing. My mom and I checked out two days early and booked a room at the Raleigh across the street. Best decision we have made. It is gorgeous and very accommodating. Overall, the Shelborne was not worth what we were forced to pay. I would not reccomend it to ANYONE. Awful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

So I made a reservation at the Shelborne last week for my upcoming stay in April. I didn't receive a confirmation email so I decide to call back two days later. Too my surprise, no one could find my reservaton?? I gave the reservation department my reservation number, name, credit card information and no one could find my reservation. I was told that the person "Hugo" who took my reservation was rather new. I was told to call back the next day and have been giving the run around for days. I finally got into with Hugo and he said he would speak to his manager and give me a call back. I have called the hotel several times and have been transfered to voicemail. I called and asked for Hugo today and he is now working in the valet department? I am very disappointed in the Shelborne, I work for a very high profile Wedding Company in NYC and I will NOT send any of my employees to the Shelborne. I was just looking to get the same rate I was promised or even a slighter better rate because of their mistake. What would of happened if I would of showed up at the hotel on my arrival date and have no reservation. Sorry Shelborne my staff or myself will not be returning to your hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our stay at The Shelborne was for 6 days. The hotel rooms are under renovation, and lift areas on many floors are in need of skirting boards, but you can see this is in progress.The lifts are diabolically slow The noise in this place is exaggerated due to the thinness of the walls, & the gaps under the doors that have ineffective security catches. There's no hotel compendium which would have been appreciated. Showers are not hot.

Our room had a sink with a wonky mixer, a bar fridge & microwave. There are newish cupboards there but no crockery, cutlery or glassware-not sure if they are trying to make these self catering or what the intention is.

On the 12th floor there seems to be a meeting place for the cleaners as they yell to one another from mid morning to late afternoon.

The Hotel staff at Reception are helpful, and the staff at the entrance are attentive, as were pool and beach staff. We had a fabulous ocean view room which did make up for some of the disappointments.

Would look at other options next time, given the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne
Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.