We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #156 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The shelborne is located right in the heart of south beach and walking distance to just about everywhere. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Addy who was super nice and helpful. He let us take a look at a couple rooms so we could make sure we were totally happy with what we got. Room was spacious, clean and hip. The hotel itself is very cute. Breakfast is great and convenient and pool is beatiful (with great music). Would definitely recommend for young travellers looking for a fun stay in miami.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    63
    68
    135
See reviews for
67
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

In the past 2 years I stay 3 times at the Shelborne hotel.I usually arrive at the hotel late morning and I get a room right away. I never wait until their check in time and when I request late check out I get it. The front desk people are very polite and especially Metha, I even wonder if she gets a day off.She's always there.The housekeeping is superb and the pool is clean and warm.Well, there is a pool party Sunday afternoon so I stay on the beach or go shopping.There is a resort fee, which include a continental breakfast and if they improve the food and the service,I'd gladly give them top rating.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter" The corner rooms towards 17th street and ocean are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I cannot believe that this hotel gets away with charging what they do to stay here. It's not a five star hotel so I was not expecting luxury but I do expect cleanliness above all and good service.

When we arrived it was really late at night and had been a long day for us. Our room was not ready, a room that we reserved months in advance through a travel site, we had to wait almost an hour to get into our room. When we got to the room we noticed that the room was really old and looked nothing like the pictures online, the carpet was dirty and stained, and the room had an odor. We did not walk on the floor with bare feet. The bathroom was tiny and we saw a roach almost as soon as we got into the room. Gross! When pulling back the bedding to go to sleep we noticed that the sheets were stained and dirty, appeared to be blood but I don't know. We called down to the front desk to request blankets as we refused to get under the covers and decided to just lay on top for the night. We had to call several times before we finally received the blankets.

The next day we spoke with the manager about it all and were told that we would be moved to another room but had to wait a few hours. We left and came back and once again our room was not ready. We waited in the lobby for about 20 minutes before I just informed them that we would go up to our current room and to call us when it was ready. It took about an hour before they finally came to move us to the new room. They then moved us to a room with one bed when we previously had a double. We were moved once again to a room with two beds that looked similar to the pictures but still not great, the room had a tiny bathroom as well.

Positives? Good location. Some of the staff were friendly but whenever we called to ask for something it took forever to actually receive it. We were able to park on the street on the block and walk to the hotel to avoid expensive parking fees. If you park on the street, be advised to not leave any valuables in view. The locals informed us that if something of value is in plain sight, car may be broken into. We didn't leave anything out and everything was fine for us. I told the manager that given our experience we would not pay any "resort fees" and he agreed to waive them. The lobby looks nice so I guess that's what you pay for.

Overall this place is a dump and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I had a good time at the Shelborne, illl mention all my friends to stay there. I had no room and Addy persuad me to stay there. Best decision i ever made. :-) great hotel love it definetly will come again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at The Shelborne for 4 nights in mid February 2013. We checked in early, and we were upgraded into a real nice ocean view room( great view). We had a lot of trouble with our key cards to the room.
The front desk staff was helpful, the beach staff was good, the pool staff on the other hand was completely indifferent. I was very disappointed in that area.
The shelborne is in a great location, it is clean, and well maintained, The nightly rated were very reasonable. The guest rooms do need a little bit of updating.
I would recommend to a friend, and stay here again.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are amazing, request a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When we arrived, we were immediately surprised with an additional $300 charge for incidentals, which is returned at the end of the stay. It would have been nice to have this information shared upfront, so we could plan accordingly. The bell hop was lazy and did not assist us with our bags to our room. Then when a guy noticed we were pushing a cart, he commented that we should not be handling the cart. This is because he wanted the tip! Upon entering our room, we were immediately greeted with a funky underarm-type musty stinch. The images on the internet lead us to believe we were staying in a stylish "boutique" hotel. However, there were no decorations (not even pictures hanging). We noticed mold around the rim of the toilet; clumps of dust in the air vents; and dirt all over the box springs. The air conditioner was loud and annoying and there were no curtains, but instead cheap shades. The windows were so filthy we could not enjoy the ocean view. When I attempted to lower one of the shades, it fell on me. The toilet paper holder is placed in an awkard position (in relation to the toilet). It was located almost behind the toilet. We had to reach back behind our heads to grab toilet paper. The sink was leaking underneath and the remote for the television did not work. Whenever we asked for assistance, no one ever came and no one seemed to care. We asked for towels the second morning and after waiting for three hours, we had to call again. The "complimentary" drinks were weak and depending on which bartender served us, we either received one weak drink each or however many we could down within the hour. The cushions outside in the sitting/lounge areas were filthy with stains and holes. The complimentary breakfast sucked! We had a choice of dry bread, dry danish bites, off-brand cereal, coffee and or orange juice. For dinner, my friend ordered salmon. When asked if we were enjoying our meals, my friend expressed her dislike for the over-cooked fish and the waitress simply walked away without offering to accommodate her. On Saturday afternoon, we decided to hang out at the beach. We paid hotel resort fees for 4 people. Although we paid the resort fees, the gentleman outside managing the chairs and umbrellas charged us an additional $20 because he claimed the fee only included two people per room. Then after a slight disagreement and some research he refunded the money. Before checking out, we called for bell hop. No one showed. We ended up carrying all of our luggage downstairs, in order to avoid late check out fees. After my girlfriend complained, the bell hop became over zealous, to the point that he packed our car with our bags and left my clothes hanging on the rack! He continued to apologize for not initially assisting us. I drove off not realizing my clothes were hanging on the rack. I live out of town, so I had to inconvenience a friend by asking him to drive down from Fort Lauderdale to Miami Beach to retrieve my items. Upon his arrival, the valet attempted to charge him for parking. Then the person at the front desk told him they did not have my items, after they had confirmed with me earlier that day that they did have it. In the end, he did retrieve the items. I will NEVER stay here again and wish we had read the reviews first. This place sucks. If this is the best Miami Beach has to offer, they can keep it! PLEASE BE WARNED THIS PLACE IS AWFUL!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eville, INdiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rented townhouse $850 nightly. Two hours after check in we were put in a room with no sir conditioning and filthy. Did get moved to a nicer townhouse .. first night over 2 hours spent on resolving accomodstion issues . Rude note left under door about issue with credit csrd that turnrd out not to be correct ...another 30 mins st drsk resolving ...staff shortage at front desk.....lsst night there from 2:00am til 10:00 am we had to listen to the pool, pool furnishings and decking being powerwashed .... restaurant good , lucy's cantina good, happy hour nice touch... if Wyndam is tsking over this property they have their work cut out

Room Tip: Have no idea...front desk full of folks complaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.