We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When trying to book a reservation with this hotel it was impossible. We called the hotel ready to book a suite in the Shelborne Miami. Customer service was horrific. We were treated horrible, hung up on twice and no one was able to offer a solution. when asked to speak with a supervisor to try and help solve the problem, we were hung up on, and told a supervisor does not exist. Then later was told the supervisor was "Busy". We had full intention to bok a reservation and did not succeed becuase of the inappropriate, disrespectful behavior of customer service by more than 1 staff member. Maybe they are going under and just do not care about customer service but the way we were talked to and treated was just appalling. We warn you if you book here and stay here then dont expect anything besides horrendous service. They have 10 complaints in the Better Business Bureau as well. They obviously don't care about providing satisfactory service for their potential customers. PLEASE BE ADVISED! DO NOT BOOK!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    95
    63
    68
    136
See reviews for
65
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First thing, they had to move us 3 times.. The first room had holes in the wall and mold, the second room was similar to that; the only difference was it was painted.. After getting into a screaming match with the shifts manager in the lobby , we finally got move to a nicer room, with modern amenities.. The positive, it has a great location, easy to walk around; and its ocean front, staff is friendly enough (except the evening manager) the breakfast is include.

The negative: would not recommend this hotel for young travelers; more family orient place. They need to renovate their rooms, management needs to work on customer service, I was double charge, a total of 365 dollar extra came out of my checking account and they had no explanation for it..

But the bar has reasonable price alcohol for a hotel in Miami.. The beach towels and chairs are free, not very nice but still free

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was in Miami for business and the Shelborne South Beach is only a few blocks from the Convention Center. What an overpriced dump! And I think it's unsafe. The water in the showers shifted from scalding to freezing in a matter of seconds and I would not be surprised if children had experienced burns. The black mold around the a/c vents was also disturbing. Finally, my door wouldn't lock and I worried that someone would get in the room while I was gone or asleep. Several calls to housekeeping produced no results. I think you have to be able to speak Spanish to get anything done. Only two elevators service the entire tower, so be prepared to wait. This might be a good place for drunken college students (and there are plenty, so don't plan on getting sleep), but not appropriate for business travelers. If that weren't enough, the rooms seem unfinished. The very aged, squeaky mattress in room had no bed skirt. The bathroom was tiny and frankly dirty. I could go on and on, but it's not worth it. Some reviewers seem to think this place is ok, so I assume there are a few working buildings in the room. The majority of them are dumps, however, and this place should be avoided at all costs. There are plenty of other hotels in South Beach.

Room Tip: I think there is no hope. I suppose you could ask for a room without black mold. And with a door t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Checked in at the hotel was done fine, front desk is very polite and delivered our lugagges to the room.
Once we opened the door we where shocked to see that the curtains were already broken and what a DIRTY DIRTY room!! The bathroom is ridiculous small and the windows of the room facing the ocean need to be cleaned as they were filthy.
At 7am we decided to go to the pool. '' Ohh no towels at this time'' said the pool boy.. So the pool and beach opens at 7am but they have no towels until 9am. This doesn't make any sense.
Moving one to the breakfast, this is the most discousting breakfast I've had in my life( no joke and I am not a picky girl) But a hostel's breakfast is far better than what I've experience here.
The only positive thing about this hotel is the location. THAT'S IT!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned from my third stay at the Shelborne - wouldn't consider booking anywhere else! From the welcoming lobby, accommodating,staff, convenient location, and room's sophisticated decor (and beautiful view) - to the nice, young man carrying our bags and hailing a taxi as we departed, my daughter and I couldn't have been more pleased.

Continental breakfast has been upgraded since my last stay (very nice), and property enhancements continue (still hoping for a wall shelf in the bathroom :)

Visiting with friends at other Miami Beach hotels, and comparing prices/amenities, affirms my choice. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My stay here was a very unpleasant one. Had it not been for the a very nice gentleman at the front desk. I would've gone mad. The managers are never too be found. The housekeepers never have the rooms prepared. There is a useless bar downstairs because its never open. Who ever is running this place does not know what they are doing. They need to invest more time in this hotel instead of the one they built right across the street "the gale " The shelborne has potential. They just need new management.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here twice so far once for miami music conference and once over New Year, its got the perfect facilities i just feel the rooms lets it down. The food, bars, pool, music etc is all amazing, as is the location, the private beach area is lovely as are the staff.

Best room would be 608, but dont go with 730 - its right by the lift and very noisy to the point even with ear plugs i couldnt sleep and was awoken throughout the night.

This hotel is amazing to go for a party, but not for a relazing quiet week away.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room by a lift, 608 is a great room with a balcony looking onto the sea. make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.