We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #160 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
“Beautiful Beach Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I go to South Beach 2 or 3 times a year. Last May I was talking to some girls who were staying at the Shelborne. They told me about the service and location of this hotel. So in December I decided to give a try. Boy was I surprised (in good way) . The front desk Addy very nice and Henry who helped me with my bags was so nice and friendly!!Vicky printed out my boarding pass for when I had to leave and got me a town car to go to the airport . (Same price as a cab but far better seeing how I was by myself). My room was BEAUTIFUL with a balcony facing the ocean.Wonderful to wake up to each morning!!! Breakfast was different cereals ,oatmeal and pastries with coffee and fresh orange juice you can make toast . You can also order breakfast which I did get eggs but I could not have the pototoes so I asked for fresh fruit which was SOOO GOOD !! Always coming out and checking on food and making sure coffee & orange juice was fresh. Pool service GREAT (loved the chicken fingers!!) The beach service was also WONDERFUL!!!

As you can tell I can't say enough about this hotel. REALLY enjoyed my stay and can't wait to go back!!!

Thanks to all the staff that made my stay so enjoyable!!!

P.S. Thank you to Holly in accounting for helping me out with a small problem.

Linda K ( Oak Lawn, IL)

Room Tip: Tell them you would like a ocean view as it is so relaxing to wake up and go out on the balcony to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    63
    68
    135
See reviews for
67
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

First time in Miami and loved my experience there. Loved the location and there was always something fun to do. I was really pleased with the service. The guy at the front desk, Addy was very polite. His smile is warm and inviting. He was courteous and very knowledgable of activities in the area. I'll definitely recommend all my friends in the UK to stay at this hip cool place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is excellent. Wonderful rooms. Beautiful scenery. I am from chicago and was just vising some with some friends. 5 stars. The front desk personel was so helpful. A gentle men name Addy Guerrier showed me to me room when i got lost. He was very polite. He also told me about some nice activites and resturants i should do and visit while i'm here. I wold defintly recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, has an awesome lobby and friendly staff. Our room appeared to be newly renovated. It was clean, trendy, flat screen tv, marble top desk and it had an ocean view. What made our experience amazing was the hotel night manager Kevin Ochieng. My best piece of advice for you is: If you check in at night ask for him. He goes beyond the call of duty to make you happy! We would definitely return to the hotel because of how special he made the experience for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated. The view is amazing - if you like heights ask for a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was put up at the Shelborne over a long weekend and was delighted by the accommodations and the staff. I had a few requests that the staff went out of their to honor and was very impressed. Also, they have a great setup both at their new pool and on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference over an extended weekend. The service was impeccable and the rooms were filled with awesome amenities. Highly recomend the shelborne to anyone looking for great value and service in south beach!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my first Tripadvisor review, and I am writing it because I feel it is my duty to warn others about this property. I have stayed at 500+ hotels during my 25-year career, and this is the second worst. It reminds me of a car for sale that has a bad engine, so the owner waxes the exterior to make it shine, cleans the interior so it looks like new, and then hopes that the buyer won't try to drive it before he/she hands over the cash and signs the sales contract that says "As-Is." When you walk into the Shelborne's lobby, you feel like you are walking into a W Hotel. Very chic and upscale. The desk staff is nice and polite, and you feel like this is going to be a great experience. In my case, I was traveling with my wife, who had to travel to Miami for business, so I was there for the ride. Not my money paying for the room, so I was forgiving and it was not my place to complain to the hotel about the room, but I will share my thoughts with others who are planning to spend their own hard-earned cash on a weekend getaway or vacation. I have listed below the primary issues with the hotel and our room:
1.) The room was dusty, dirty, the curtains were stained, the decor looked like it came from items discarded by Goodwill, and I have seen nicer furniture in thrift stores.
2.) The bathroom had black mold growing in it, and rust was prevalent on many of the metal fixtures. The shower water temperature went from scalding to freezing without warning or reason.
3.) The room temperature was very warm and the A/C blew lukewarm air. We slept without covers or sheet each night. The air conditioning unit was in the closet, and looked like it was an accident waiting to happen, with wires hanging down from the ceiling.
4.) For two of the three days we stayed at the hotel, only one elevator service a 17-floor hotel, and that one elevator went out of service on the night of 12/8, forcing my wife to walk up to our twelfth floor room in heels.
5.) The ceilings in the bedroom and bathroom were cracked and looked precarious, while the tile floor was cracked in places as well, and the door to the balcony was covered by a piece of plastic that was haphazardly attached to act as a window shade.
I could go on-and-on, but I think you get the picture.
6.) We went to the pool twice, and each time they were out of towels. We had to wait 20-30 minutes until towels arrived.
7.) The temperature in the dusty fitness room (can't call it a "center") was set at 79 degrees, and when I asked to have it made cooler, I was told that that was as cool as it would get.
I could go on-and-on, but I think you get the picture. You work hard for your money, and deserve to enjoy the hotel where you stay for your vacation. The bottom line is that you can do much better than the Shelborne.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.