We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #156 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
rivedale ga
1 review
“have a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spending our 25 wedding anniversary in Miami. Our stay at Shelborn has been wonderful- the staff is great and our room is really nice with a ocean front view. Thank you so much Bryan, Gabrielle, FD and Robert for making our stay wonderful and thanks so much for the thoughtful anniversay gift. The next time we may bring the kids. We are looking forward to our next visit with you.
Venus and Miles

Room Tip: ask for an ocean front view.....wonderful and so peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Venus Miles,
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great time for your special 25th wedding anniversary. I will be sure to pass your recognition and regards on to Bryan, Gabrielle and Robert. We are truly lucky to have them on our Team. The Shelborne Hotel is looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    63
    68
    135
See reviews for
67
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rented a cabana for a day. Super clean and comfortable.. conditioned for everything we needed.. staff was very friendly and truly took interest in making us have a great experience. The pool was perfect as was the beach. Not overcrowded and a great ambiance.. The poolside food was great. Our hostess was amazingly friendly and really took care of us. Its a place to go back to again and again..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Shelborne is an amazing hotel....Right on the Ocean in the heart of the best shopping and dining in South Beach. The hotel is art deco chic, clean affordable. The mini bars are amazing! You will never want to leave. Feels like being home while on vacation! A best bet when visiting Miami. Ive stayed here often and Ill be back again and again!
Jens Dalsgaard Jens@ConstellationAA.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jens D, WOW! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and your high praise of our hotel. Its great to hear your were able to take advantage of our prime location on 18th and Collins in the heart of South Beach. It’s an honor to hear you consider our hotel a “home away from home” and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am a local so I have stayed at a couple of hotels on South Beach and I have never had such a bad experience. I don't even know where to begin on how horrible this place is. I'll list the good things first:
1- There was one nice waiter at the restaurant who was very attentive
2-Also a nice waiter who served on the beach - very friendly and helpful
3-The pool was very nice and one of the female pool servers let us tan on the large bed even though you apparently have to pay to use those.
4- the food was good

Now for the bad:
1-DON'T STAY IN ROOM M4 - the air does not work! one employee actually said "oh yeah M4 always has air problems" ?!!? seriously? we didn't have cold air our entire stay and were on the phone or at the front desk most of our trip trying to get it fixed. If you know the heat in Miami - you know that we suffered our whole stay just with this alone.
2-They did not clean my room ONCE which later made me realize they did not wash the sheets either. completely dirty, sticky, and disgusting. I never even saw a housekeeping employee. Normally when I stay at a hotel housekeeping knocks on the door every morning (unless i have the do not disturb sign on) this never happened here. not once.
3-went to use the bathroom in the lobby and there was pee on all of the toilets
4-at breakfast the hostess sat us down and no one acknowledged us for 10 minutes until we finally asked the one waiter who was attending to his own section to please at least bring us water.
5-When we went to the beach to lay on the tanning beds, they give you two complimentary beds which is nice, but they ran out of towels so we had to lay on the dirty cushions. I now realize they ran out of towels because that means they would have to do laundry which is considered cleaning.

after all of the fighting for our air they did offer to compensate one night, but sometimes money doesn't make the problem better. in the end i still had to stay in a stuffy, hot and filthy room for 3 days.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in M4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I'm been coming to South Beach for the Last 15 years. It's changed a lot. We had a group of 6 coming down for a family get-away.. We found a large townhouse called the Zen Lofts but it was only available for 5 of our 7 nights.. The booking agent suggested we stay at a Shelborne Townhouse for the 1st 2 nights in Miami then move to the zen lofts. I've actually stayed at the Shelborne Several times but I had no idea they had townhouses there.. The unit we stayed is was located right off the lobby. Unit L6- We we first arrived we were a bit concerned due to the townhouse being right across from the lobby bar and the music from the bar was really loud. Once we got into the unit you couldn't hear a thing.. The unit doesn't have a view... (looks out on the side street) but it was really spacious (I would say about 1500 sq ft) plenty of room for the 6 of us. Also, there was a full kitchen with a stove unlike the smaller studios I've stayed in at the Shelborne. 2 Queen beds upstairs and a queen sleeper sofa downstairs. The pool was clean and the pool staff really nice. I know in reviews I read people complained about the high resort fee. We book through sunspot Miami rentals and they didn't charge us any resort fee.. I had use of the wifi, pool, towels, lounges and even got a free umbrella and chairs on the beach. While we only stayed here for 2 nights before moving into our zen loft (I'll post a review on that one later) it was great.. There was a rocking pool party on Sunday and we got in without a problem even though we were in a private rental and hadn't booked through the hotel. The renovation looks great (I was last here a year ago and the place was a construction nightmare) .. Only downside is valet parking is insanely expensive we drove a block west and parked in a lot and paid 1/2 of what the valet was charging.

Room Tip: Studios are small but nice.. if you need space book a townhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Shelborne just finished a huge makeover in some of their public areas and it looks great. Unfortunately, outside of the lobby, bar and pool area, you're still left with the crumbling, cheaply finished outdated rooms they had to begin with. The location however, cannot be beat, 90% of your $$$ is going to that.

The staff doesn't' keep up. Elevators and hallways are filled with dirt and garbage for hours. Depending on the weekend and neighbors, you lungs will be filled with the secondhand smoke of the rooms around your or the sounds of arguing guests.

The reception desk is rather clueless, they do not seem to be aware of anything that is going on in the hotel so they cannot direct you to the events. some are friendly though.

The restaurants are a different story. Lucy's Cantina serves up some great tacos poolside. Vesper Brasserie, which initially looked sketchy until we went through the kitchen into the true dining room was a hidden gem. The restaurant serves fantastic upscale comfort food with great service in an elegant setting.

Room Tip: Confirm photos and exact room number in your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear MsfabulousNY,
Thank you for your sincere feedback on your recent stay with us. Your positive remarks regarding our restaurants mean a lot to us and will definitely be shared with the Team. I apologize for the less positive experience with your room. Please contact us at shelborneguest@meninhotels.com in order to book one of our premiere, recently remodeled rooms. I hope you will give us a chance to show you what a true Shelborne experience can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently we stayed in this hotel because my sister was visiting. We had two rooms and rented a private townhouse. We parked our car on Friday, July 13, 2012 and retrieved it on Sunday, July 15, 2012. The valet not only stole two pairs of sunglassess, our ipod out of our gym bag and the GPS that we used to get there. The worst part is that the hotel continues to direct us to the VALET manager a Mr. John Perez. After contacting Mr. Perez we have had no response to our previous phone calls, messages, text messages and E-mails. We have also tried to contact the hotel's management and they could care less. TAKE MY ADVISE!!!! This is not the place to stay, at least if you want to leave with what you came with.

CRamirez.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.