We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #158 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel itself is beautiful and the facilities are clean and renovated. However, the hotel services suck! I had problems with my heater twice and they took forever to fix it. They also said they would bring me extra covers and never did. Another major problem I had was with our keys to get into the room. I went down at least 5 times to request help to open the door since there was something wrong every time we would go Back up. The people working there are nice but not very help or efficient. At one point I called requesting to talk to a manager and never got a call back, so frustrating! As I write this I am waiting for the valet to find the key to my car that I requested to be brought to me about an hour ago!
Overall the hotel is nice but it definitely lacks some customer service. For all of you thinking about staying there with family members or anybody else other than your mates, watch out- the bathrooms have glass doors and tons of mirrors so there is basically no privacy what so ever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed utilizing the facilities at the hotel! I appreciate the feedback regarding your service and will let the front desk managers know about the issues that you were having. I apologize for any inconvenince during your stay. Since we are brand new we are working to make sure everything is up to standards for our guests so they can enjoy the most out of their stay. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com if you wish to return to receive a special rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    63
    68
    135
See reviews for
67
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Do not stay at the hotel unless you want to live in hell. My girlfriends and I paid good money to stay here and everything about it is broke, ruined or dirty. We arrived and were given a room that had not been cleaned. We asked to change rooms and then we were given a room that was dirty and there were still cups with drink left in them in the fridge. The hotel manager then began to put the blame on our booking agency. Even the staff think the hotel is a joke. We were told by a very nice bell boy that the hotel staff departments are all not working together because they are sick of unhappy guests. He also said that complaints happen more than you would imagine. Do not take the hotels website seriously because it is nothing like it portrays. Very disappointed is a gross understatement.

Room Tip: No room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Kate- I apologize for the state in which you received your room when you checked in. I assure you this is not what the Shelborne brand is about! During our renovation period we make sure that all rooms are maintained regularly and are thoroughly checked prior to any guest arrival. I would like to invite you back to our hotel to stay at a special rate so you can get a feel for the true Shelborne experience. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com to book your stay or make a reservation at one of our amazing food and beverage outlets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the Shelborne Hotel the Month of Nov./11 We rented the Condo through Sunspot Vacations, who told us all the reno's would be completed. This was not so, Dec. 1st. the day we left it was done. The pool, gym, was closed. Fire alarms going off, constant construction noise even at night. They would shut the air conditioning down. This was the worst holiday ever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Classic "bait and switch" business model. The Shelborne website prortrays the property as a modern, slick resort but the actual property and service tell a radically different story. Realize a majority of the rooms are privately owned. As a result, guest room standards, amenities and updates are left to the owner's discretion. Translation: dilapidated rooms each with their own set of major problems! I saw 5 different rooms upon check-in - each one looked like a dumpy motel room circa 1970. Moreover, each room had a problem: exposed electrical wires, malfunctioning toilets, broken A/C units, etc. To make matters worse some rooms are undergoing gut renovations. I could not use the room from 7a-7p because of noise, dust and hazardous conditions. If you don't mind renting a room in a construction site and dealing with unethical and insensitive management - the website does not offer a construction caveat or provide pictures of the dilapidated privately owned rooms - then this is the place for you. It's worth mentioning that I checked out as soon as possible - SoBe has so many great options - with a 10% refund. Talk about adding insult to injury! Avoid and don't spend your hard earned money and vacation time on a hotel that's looking to simply churn a quick buck!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
I am truly sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay at the Shelborne. We are currently finishing up the last of our renovation process. I Hope that you took full advantage of our amazing food and beverage outlets and renovated pool deck and the minor construction that we are still undergoing didn't affect your stay entirely. I would love to invite you back to the hotel to stay at a special rate. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com to book your stay or make a reservation at one of the restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Six of us "dined" at Vespers on Xmas night. They first seated us next to a table of 10 unruly loud children all under 10 years of age. We asked to be moved. When the drinks finally arrived, the waiter brought the Absolute martini in a bar glass UNCHILLED! The "friendly" waiter claimed to be Itlalian and described the restaurant as an American Brasserie with an Italian flare. When my friend started to ask him about his "home country" in Italian, the waiter did not understand a single word. He finally fessed up that he is acutally Cuban. After waiting for 2 hrs, I asked the Maitre D' to check on our food. She stated that the reason for the delay was because we did not order our entrees at the same time as the appetizers which was completely NOT true. When the food finally arrived 2 1/2 hrs later, they forgot to make one of the entrees. The manager did offer to comp the "forgotten" entree, but it was too little too late. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Andy,
I am very surprised at your review regarding Vesper American Brasserie's service, and I am sorry to hear about your experience. This is unlike the standards that we set for ourselves and we train our staff to deliver elite service to our diners. While it seems that the manager did the best he could at the time with regards to your meal, I would like to invite you back to the Shelborne to dine at the restaurant and have a true Vesper dining experience. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com to make your reservation for a later date. We have great reviews and an amazing menu prepared, I know you will be satisfied with your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

On arrival I was told I had to pay 25usd fee. The rooms were dirty, shabby and the electrics unsafe. Wires were hanging from holes, there was sockets that were unsafe in room. On asking to change room bluntly told no unless if pay 300 usd a night. As it was boxing day very difficult to change hotel. Website is misleading. As it busy in Miami finding it difficult to change room. Please take my advise book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaredGalbut, General Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Were were very alarmed to hear of these issues and all have been corrected that we have found. We will use your comments as training for our staff in the future. Our website indicates our Standard Room (non-renovated) and Premiere Room (renovated), with actual pictures of each. We are not misleading whatsoever and our amenity pictures are actual pictures as well. We like to be upfront and straight forward with our guests. If you have any questions or would like to get the true Shelborne Experience during your next trip, please email guestservices@shelborne.com for arrangements. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband's company had their holiday party at this hotel last weekend. When we arrived, the lobby was very appealing and it is in a good location. when we went to our room, it was a differenct story. The beds were hard, uncomfortable pillows. We found 2 pieces of metal on the floor. The bathroom was horrible-holes in the walls, no place to put your stuff and the shower got you wet when you turned it on. Also, when we went to sleep, there was a band playing at the adjacent hotel and they were so loud that it sounded like they were in our room. When we called the front desk, they said it would be several hours before they stopped. In the morning, the garbage truck was picking up outside our room at 6:30AM. Needless to say, this was not a great experience. When we complained to the clerk, we were told that we could stay there again for a discounted rate. NO WAY.....

Room Tip: there are so many other great hotels in the area-stay there instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami R, Owner at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Under new management. Completely renovated hotel with more amenities coming soon! Three new onsite restaurants lobby lounge, and boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.