We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Major Renovation Underway ... And Mixed Guest Stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Save Saved
You added Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Major Renovation Underway ... And Mixed Guest Stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I am the honourary tourist manager for the city of Miami Beach and regularly peek into hotels to see what's up.
I am displeased with the Loews South Beach Hotel at the moment, as they've taken away the south side pool cabanas and are doing noisy construction. Additionally, Emeril's is closed and there is a sense of off-peak mediocrity permeating across this property.
Meanwhile, big hotels like the Eden Roc and Fontainebleau continue to impress and gain upscale guests, while the Four Points Sheraton and Courtyard are great mid-level choices right on the boardwalk in mid-Beach.
In South Beach, being on the beach comes with some warning -- you get what you pay for.
That being said, the Shelborne is wrapping up a MASSIVE renovation. This was a dump for many years. It was home to Studio, a raunchy yet ridiculously fun subterranian (for SoBe at least) karaoke bar. The place was last remodeled in 1975, I bet.
Now, the place is going to be spectacular by NYE 2012, when Lauryn Hill will perform poolside at the best under-the-radar party out there.
Renovated rooms look great and they've borrowed heavily from the nearby Sagamore circa 2007, with lots of white and elegance.
What's sickening are the postings of unsuspecting foreign tourists that are being booked in rooms as the whole place is a disaster area, with continual construction and major renovations. How can any hotel operator continue to use a property that needed, and is getting, such a major facelift?

Once the renovations are done, it will take better management to make this a five-star property. It has the potential and it's location is superb.

I strongly advise that guests do not stay at this hotel prior to Christmas 2011.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for noticing the improvement in our hotel! It has been a long but exciting process getting the hotel to where it is today. Our guests have been very pleased with the outcome and are enjoying all of the dining outlets and renovated pool and lobby. I'd like to welcome you to come back to dine or stay with us again in the near future. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    95
    62
    68
    136
See reviews for
64
121
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed last weekend at the Shelborne and was surprised by how great the place looks. The lobby, its bars and restaurant are completely new. Sat at the bar a couple of times and not only it looks beautiful but the bartenders and drinks were great as well, drink are a bit pricey but it's worth it. I didn't get to use the pool but it also was redone and looks awesome. Staying in a unit and rented from owner, at a good price, which as well had been gracefully updated and improved. In all it was great experience and after visiting Florida for years, and staying at the Shelborne several times, now the Shelborne for me has become a destination in itself. Hopefully they can keep the place up and offer some of the hotel services like room service to owner's guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Mart- Its great to hear that you are constantly returning to the Shelborne Hotel. It is nicer to hear that you loved the new property and our renovation. We have worked hard to create a beautiful hotel that would be inviting to our guests, and your positive feedback has confirmed that we have done such that! I look forward to having you back at the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa beach
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying in Miami but was let down by our 2 night stay at the Shelbourne. Our 'deluxe ocean view room' had beach glimpses from the broken window. No hot water on the first day and needed a visit from the maintenance man. Paint cracked and flaking, wires hanging out and on the second day the soap holder in the shower fell off the wall. There was a lot of construction going on everywhere.

It's a real shame as the place could be absolutely lovely based on what has been done in the foyer, restaurant and pool area.

Staff didn't seem very interested when we provided some feedback offering another room if we wanted to pay.

I would strongly suggest you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
My apologies go out to you and your guests regarding your experience at the Shelborne. I assure you that we have been working relentlessly trying to make the renovations complete as quickly as possible. I am pleased to read your positive review regarding the rest of the hotel. We are finishing up the renovation and are in the final stage of the whole process. I would like to invite you to come back to the hotel to experience the restaurants and the rooms again. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have stayed at this condo on the 7th Floor at the Shelborne Hotel before. Please note. There is the HOTEL part, and the CONDO part. These are two SEPARATE entities housed in the same building, so your transactions are with the CONDO owners and not the HOTEL part. The room is sunny, not moldy (a first for Miami Beach!), clean, and is equipped with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, glasses, and cutlery. Ironing board. Cable TV. Very comfy. It's on the 7th Floor, and you can see the ocean from the window. The rates are very reasonable. The owner is super responsive and gets in touch immediately if I have any concerns. He is very concerned that all of the HOTEL's construction has marred the reputation of his great room that he offers as part of a b&b service year round. I am already booked for next year. It's a great location, and the lobby now looks Miami fabulous.

I was there during Art Basel, and yes, the construction in the lobby and the corridors was pretty crazy and noisy, but it looks like they finished the lobby for a major party on Friday, December 2, 2011, and much of the carpeting in the hallways - at least on the 7th floor - appeared to be done. I was so busy running around town that I did not have a chance to check out whether the pool was open yet, although I know that residents are allowed to use the pool at the neighboring hotel if the Shelborne's pool is ever closed. So in exchange for very reasonable rates and a few very acceptable rules by the owner, the CONDO, # 741, is a sweet deal. I hesitate to advertise this because I always want to make sure it's available when we go to Miami Beach. ;) I have stayed in a lot of expensive moldy dirty dumps in Miami Beach hotels. So this was a real find. Highly recommended. Owner is great and very professional, too.

Room Tip: The only problem I had was paying for internet service that did not work. This is not the owner'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Wonderful to hear that you are constantly returning to the Shelborne Hotel to stay at one of the Condos! Next time you are in town, definitely check out some of our restaurants on property- Vesper American Brasserie is open for breakfast and dinner, Lucy's Cantina Royale by the pool and beach is open for lunch and happy hour, and Bar Tanaka in the Lobby which is having its grand opening this week is open for dinner for late night sushi and sake bites! Keep enjoying the property and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Arrived at the right time for check-in at the hotel, but the room was not ready. We were asked to wait at the pool-side bar until the room is ready and were offered free drinks (which is positive). The negative was that we had to wait more than 3 hours until our room was ready. We got a room in the 16th floor which sounded promising because we had booked with ocean view. Getting to the 16th floor was a pretty time consuming task since only one of the two elevators was working and the elevator was shared with the service staff and construction workers (which should be in a hotel of this category and price). Well, the elevator got stuck several times during our 5 nights stay which was very anoying since we had to take the stairs from 10th floor several times... The only reaction of the front desk management was: "sorry for that". They did not seem to care about the individual needs of the guests. But let's go back to the arrival and the room in the 16th floor: we opened the door and saw our first surprise: our room was old and not yet renovated. Obviously, we were put into one of the unrenovated rooms left in the hotel without telling us before. The room: nice view through very dirty windows, water tab in the kitchen not working properly (water was brown...) and the sink was leeking from time to time (we called the front desk and the only reaction was: "sorry for that" and they did not fix it). Fridge was not working, shower was not working... it took us several approaches up to the hotel management to get these things fixed, pretty anoying for this price. In the early mornings, the construction workers started with their work on the 16th floor and we can tell you: it was very loud and uncomfortable for us. Guess what the reaction of the staff was: "sorry for that". When we checked out we again summarized our complaints to the front desk team, but did not get any reaction. They just do not care! Well, I have seen many hotels and places in this world, but I can tell you that this was one of the worst experiences every made.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Phil- At the time of your stay we were finishing up our long, but exciting renovation process to create the beautiful new Shelborne South Beach Hotel that it is today. I want to apologize for the inconveninces you experienced regarding your room and the manner in which part of the hotel was kept during your stay. I assure you that this was only temporary as we were in the midst of completing the renovations. I would love for you to come back to the hotel and get a true Shelborne experience and try our dining outlets that have recently opened. Please email shelborneguest@meninhotels.com to make a reservation. Again, on behalf of myself and my staff at the Shelborne I am truly sorry about the inconvenience. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The hotel told us that the construction was going to be done by the time we got there and that the rooms would be renovated. What a disaster this place was. When we go there, there was a full crew on every floor with construction materials outside of every elevator. only 10 of the rooms were redone and the place was a total mess. We moved rooms multiple time during our stay and every room was awful, it either smelled moldy or the showers didnt work or the beds were old, it was a total nightmare. Stay far away. Though i will stay the staff was very nice. The manager even said that just about everyone staying there had complained!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
I apologize for your experience at the Shelborne South Beach. While we are now nearing the completion of our renovation process, I regret to hear about your inconvenience during your stay. We have been working hard to speed the process along, however it is important to us to make sure all aspects of the renovation are completed to our high standards so that our guests can be given the true Shelborne experience. I would like to invite you back to our hotel to stay with us and try our new dining outlets, now that the renovations have are just about complete I know that you will enjoy the new Shelborne South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

I recently stayed a four day weekend there and had a wonderful time! The pool hadn't opened yet and the driveway was not finished so was kind of hard to find a way in at first. Other than that the hotel was a great place with great remodeled rooms and lobby, staff was great and karaoke bar was great! Great location, walk to everything!!! Will diffenitly will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate

Address: 1801 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a multi million renovation to be complete at the end of 2011, the Shelborne makes a re-entry to the Miami Beach scene in a classic rebirth of perfect Art Deco style. Modern accommodations and amenities meld seamlessly with tropical retro ambiance while an amazing beachfront location calls you to relax among gentle ocean breezes. Offering an unbeatable location in the heart of the South Beach, the Shelborne is one of the largest meeting and event spaces with over 8,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor flexible space. With three amazing dining outlets on site, there is something to meet everyone's likings. Greet the day with a warm espresso at Vesper American Brasserie outdoor cafe. Lunch and Dinner served daily both in the outdoor cafe and the indoor brasserie. Lucy's Cantina Royale serving up the best in tacos and homemade guacamole with chips made daily. Bar Tanaka is the newest sushi spot to hit South Beach, located in the lobby of the Hotel. Chef Zama Tanaka brings his skills from Philadelphia to serve some of the best sushi dishes Miami has to offer.Let Shelborne play host to any milestone event. Choose from four renovated spaces to accommodate intimate occasions or lavish affairs. Our referrals for preferred event planning specialists and our own onsite catering personnel and wait staff are here to assist with any and all event needs leading up to the big day. From weddings to Bar Mitzvahs, holiday parties to work conferences, Shelborne’s goal is to provide guests with our signature brand of all-inclusive hospitality. Utilizing the top resources on Miami Beach, we’re here to cater to your special celebration. Kick back and enjoy the festivities – and leave the heavy lifting to us. Vesper is the ideal setting to host an engagement party or rehearsal dinner. With three beautiful backdrops to set the tone for your big day, state of the art AV technology, and delicious fare, Vesper American Brasserie will leave both you and your guests extremely satisfied. Lucy's Cantina Royale is the perfect back drop to walk down the aisle as the sun is setting or an oasis to host your guests at a beachfront taqueria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelborne South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Shelborne Beach Hotel
Shelborne Beach Miami
Hotel Miami Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelborne South Beach, Wyndham Affiliate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.