We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bread pudding.... Oh boy!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Box Cafe

Ice Box Cafe
1855 Purdy Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2506
(305) 538-8448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice Box Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 832 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bread pudding.... Oh boy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place has a selection of bread puddings... there is always "The Bread Pudding of the day" and I have to say... they are AMAZING!!! All of them!!! - with or wthout the ice cream on top- freshly made straight from the oven to your plate... aaahhhhh BEST DESSERT EVER!!!!

On another note, love brunch there.... steak and eggs.... also one of my fav dishes there...

Please go to the new location on purdy ave... very cute and cozy....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    75
    51
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We re locals, living right in the neighborhood. We ve now tried ice box 5 times; all very disappointing. The ambience is gorgeous and that's where it ends. The good is just plain terrible. The staff is very good but with a kitchen that has no clue what they're doing, food is either never delivered, late, or plain horrible and must be sent back. They need to fire the entire kitchen staff and start over. Waste of time and money, go to one of the Pubbelly restaurants. You won t be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, okay food, not worth the money or wait.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday brunch at their new location, waited for about an hour to sit down. The atmosphere is very modern and comfortable, very nice. Service was good, food took 25 min to come out. I had the French toast, it was okay. For the price I expected great food, not okay. Overall, was a mediocre experience and I would not go back, not worth the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the new location, which opened just a couple weeks ago. Gorgeous little place, twice the size at least as the previous location. Just by the marina, which gives it a light and airy vibe. The food is a tad less good than at previous location, perhaps because management is still in the throes of transition. But the menu is varied, fresh, high quality. The ambiance busy and hip.
HIGHLY recommended for anyone visiting Miami. An easy cab across the bridge if you're downtown, which is where I was. This is located at the bottom of South Beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love the NEW location & Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had heard sooo much about Ice Box Cafe.Stopped by the old location on Michigan .. Nice cute little place.Saw the sign that they were relocating to Purdy Avenue. WOW! Gorgeous decor.only problem was .. The FIRST week at their NEW LOCATION, they underestimated how popular it would be & ran out of MOST of their food! There were NO APPETIZER dishes,few salads & only two of their desserts. I tried the salmon which was FANTASTIC. I WILL certainly go back though. The manager & staff were extremely attentive & courteous, as well as profusely apologetic. They took 50% off our bill.Now..THAT'S just good & smart CUSTOMER service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Box Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL

Been to Ice Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.