We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Box Cafe

Ice Box Cafe
1855 Purdy Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2506
+1 305-538-8448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice Box Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 843 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Our flagship property in Miami Beach is located in an area of South Beach known among locals for its unique culinary concepts. Our sophisticated and comfortable design offers the perfect framework for the freshly made, seasonal cuisine which, for more than 15 years, has helped to sustain Icebox Cafe as one of the community leaders.
Miami Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We re locals, living right in the neighborhood. We ve now tried ice box 5 times; all very disappointing. The ambience is gorgeous and that's where it ends. The good is just plain terrible. The staff is very good but with a kitchen that has no clue what they're doing, food is either never delivered, late, or plain horrible and must be sent back. They need to fire the entire kitchen staff and start over. Waste of time and money, go to one of the Pubbelly restaurants. You won t be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    62
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, okay food, not worth the money or wait.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday brunch at their new location, waited for about an hour to sit down. The atmosphere is very modern and comfortable, very nice. Service was good, food took 25 min to come out. I had the French toast, it was okay. For the price I expected great food, not okay. Overall, was a mediocre experience and I would not go back, not worth the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the new location, which opened just a couple weeks ago. Gorgeous little place, twice the size at least as the previous location. Just by the marina, which gives it a light and airy vibe. The food is a tad less good than at previous location, perhaps because management is still in the throes of transition. But the menu is varied, fresh, high quality. The ambiance busy and hip.
HIGHLY recommended for anyone visiting Miami. An easy cab across the bridge if you're downtown, which is where I was. This is located at the bottom of South Beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love the NEW location & Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had heard sooo much about Ice Box Cafe.Stopped by the old location on Michigan .. Nice cute little place.Saw the sign that they were relocating to Purdy Avenue. WOW! Gorgeous decor.only problem was .. The FIRST week at their NEW LOCATION, they underestimated how popular it would be & ran out of MOST of their food! There were NO APPETIZER dishes,few salads & only two of their desserts. I tried the salmon which was FANTASTIC. I WILL certainly go back though. The manager & staff were extremely attentive & courteous, as well as profusely apologetic. They took 50% off our bill.Now..THAT'S just good & smart CUSTOMER service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Nyc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“THE BEST ON THE BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place was awesome. It had recently moved to this location. The decor was incredible. The Manager Jeff and co-owner Sean were great in being able to accomodate me and my friends ever need. I will never eat brunch at another spot on SoBe. The best dish is the french toast by far. It will make you want to slap yo momma it is so good. They also have this green mint tea, INCREDIBLE.

Thank you Jeff for your extra special touch *wink*. And thanks Sean for sharing your little *taste* of heaven with us.

If you are ever in town, do stop by here and enjoy a fab brunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Box Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ice Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.