We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the NEW location & Decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Box Cafe

Ice Box Cafe
1855 Purdy Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2506
+1 305-538-8448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice Box Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 842 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Our flagship property in Miami Beach is located in an area of South Beach known among locals for its unique culinary concepts. Our sophisticated and comfortable design offers the perfect framework for the freshly made, seasonal cuisine which, for more than 15 years, has helped to sustain Icebox Cafe as one of the community leaders.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Love the NEW location & Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had heard sooo much about Ice Box Cafe.Stopped by the old location on Michigan .. Nice cute little place.Saw the sign that they were relocating to Purdy Avenue. WOW! Gorgeous decor.only problem was .. The FIRST week at their NEW LOCATION, they underestimated how popular it would be & ran out of MOST of their food! There were NO APPETIZER dishes,few salads & only two of their desserts. I tried the salmon which was FANTASTIC. I WILL certainly go back though. The manager & staff were extremely attentive & courteous, as well as profusely apologetic. They took 50% off our bill.Now..THAT'S just good & smart CUSTOMER service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    60
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Nyc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“THE BEST ON THE BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place was awesome. It had recently moved to this location. The decor was incredible. The Manager Jeff and co-owner Sean were great in being able to accomodate me and my friends ever need. I will never eat brunch at another spot on SoBe. The best dish is the french toast by far. It will make you want to slap yo momma it is so good. They also have this green mint tea, INCREDIBLE.

Thank you Jeff for your extra special touch *wink*. And thanks Sean for sharing your little *taste* of heaven with us.

If you are ever in town, do stop by here and enjoy a fab brunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I just visited the new location on Purdy. The service was slow to say the least. We started off asking for the dessert menu, they gave us everything but what we asked for. We ordered drinks and an appetizer; one of the drinks was pure rum we had to ask for the appetizer to be brought out. They never corrected the drink, by the time they wanted to it was watered down. We finally got our dessert menus and ordered a trio. We repeated our order and still got the wrong dessert. Very disappointing, I've been to the one off Lincoln several times and never had this service. Also worth mentioning the locals sitting at the tables next to us were waited on hand and foot. We felt like 2nd class citizens!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located on an inner street by lincoln road you will not guess the riches inside!. Every plate is to die for. Service is very friendly, the sangria is very good. Try the trout and ask for a side of vegetables. The desserts are extremely good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent the weekend in SoBe and never ate at Ice Box but we did visit daily for an afternoon sugar fix to go. Everything was amazing and decadent. Key lime ice cream cake, raspberry almond cake, seven layer bars, yummmmmmmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Box Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ice Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.