We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Box Cafe

Ice Box Cafe
1855 Purdy Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2506
+1 305-538-8448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice Box Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 875 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our flagship property in Miami Beach is located in an area of South Beach known among locals for its unique culinary concepts. Our sophisticated and comfortable design offers the perfect framework for the freshly made, seasonal cuisine which, for more than 15 years, has helped to sustain Icebox Cafe as one of the community leaders.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I just visited the new location on Purdy. The service was slow to say the least. We started off asking for the dessert menu, they gave us everything but what we asked for. We ordered drinks and an appetizer; one of the drinks was pure rum we had to ask for the appetizer to be brought out. They never corrected the drink, by the time they wanted to it was watered down. We finally got our dessert menus and ordered a trio. We repeated our order and still got the wrong dessert. Very disappointing, I've been to the one off Lincoln several times and never had this service. Also worth mentioning the locals sitting at the tables next to us were waited on hand and foot. We felt like 2nd class citizens!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    57
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located on an inner street by lincoln road you will not guess the riches inside!. Every plate is to die for. Service is very friendly, the sangria is very good. Try the trout and ask for a side of vegetables. The desserts are extremely good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent the weekend in SoBe and never ate at Ice Box but we did visit daily for an afternoon sugar fix to go. Everything was amazing and decadent. Key lime ice cream cake, raspberry almond cake, seven layer bars, yummmmmmmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Yummy spot for cakes galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After reading that the Ice Box provides Oprah with one of her favorite things I wanted to try this café. First the good! The food was very tasty and the cakes were heavenly! It was nice to head out to a casual easy going place that still served quality, tasty, thoughtful and delicious food. I had the short rib papparadelle and it was melt in your mouth like butta perfect! My husband and daughter were happy with their choices as well. The cakes - well it's so very hard to choose! They all looked divine! We had a slice of the peanut butter oreo ice cream cake and the strawberry caramel cake - both were heavenly, I am still dreaming about them!!!! So from a food standpoint, this restaurant is worth the trip and then some!!!!!!
The not so good was service. At first our daughter was handed a children's menu - then it was taken away and we were told sorry that was the wrong menu for kids. And then no other was brought? To be honest, what was on that menu would not have appealed to her anyway, so I didn't consider it a big loss - it was heavy on the veggie stuff. That said I was happy to order her some pasta and she was fine. Also we were asked repeatedly if we were ready to order. There were only two other people in the restaurant. It was odd. When we finally were ready no one was around. After finally getting to order, food came out in a timely fashion. But when we were ready for the check we waited for over 20 mins until I finally went up to the counter and said could someone please bring it to us. Again, there was nobody there so it seemed odd that once we ordered service disappeared. It was probably just an off night, and by no means should be a reason not to dine here. The food was fabulous and as long as you can say that, it's all good. FYI: Limited bar menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rartian, NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lots of healthy and delicious options, relaxed atmoshere, nice decor, great service and to-die-for desserts. The location is just a block away from the Lincoln Road Mall, so it is convenient but it is quiet and less frenzied than all the eateries on the mall. Supposedly it is a fave of Oprah's, I can see why.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Box Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ice Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.