We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Box Cafe

Ice Box Cafe
1855 Purdy Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2506
(305) 538-8448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice Box Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 833 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent the weekend in SoBe and never ate at Ice Box but we did visit daily for an afternoon sugar fix to go. Everything was amazing and decadent. Key lime ice cream cake, raspberry almond cake, seven layer bars, yummmmmmmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    76
    51
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Yummy spot for cakes galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After reading that the Ice Box provides Oprah with one of her favorite things I wanted to try this café. First the good! The food was very tasty and the cakes were heavenly! It was nice to head out to a casual easy going place that still served quality, tasty, thoughtful and delicious food. I had the short rib papparadelle and it was melt in your mouth like butta perfect! My husband and daughter were happy with their choices as well. The cakes - well it's so very hard to choose! They all looked divine! We had a slice of the peanut butter oreo ice cream cake and the strawberry caramel cake - both were heavenly, I am still dreaming about them!!!! So from a food standpoint, this restaurant is worth the trip and then some!!!!!!
The not so good was service. At first our daughter was handed a children's menu - then it was taken away and we were told sorry that was the wrong menu for kids. And then no other was brought? To be honest, what was on that menu would not have appealed to her anyway, so I didn't consider it a big loss - it was heavy on the veggie stuff. That said I was happy to order her some pasta and she was fine. Also we were asked repeatedly if we were ready to order. There were only two other people in the restaurant. It was odd. When we finally were ready no one was around. After finally getting to order, food came out in a timely fashion. But when we were ready for the check we waited for over 20 mins until I finally went up to the counter and said could someone please bring it to us. Again, there was nobody there so it seemed odd that once we ordered service disappeared. It was probably just an off night, and by no means should be a reason not to dine here. The food was fabulous and as long as you can say that, it's all good. FYI: Limited bar menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rartian, NJ
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lots of healthy and delicious options, relaxed atmoshere, nice decor, great service and to-die-for desserts. The location is just a block away from the Lincoln Road Mall, so it is convenient but it is quiet and less frenzied than all the eateries on the mall. Supposedly it is a fave of Oprah's, I can see why.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Best food and best dessert we had in Miami Beach! We had an exquisite lunch at this cafe tucked 1/2 block off of the busy pedestrian mall of Lincoln Road. We had The Bomb cake for dessert and it more than delivered as promised!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cakes to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you first walk up to this small casual spot right off Lincoln Rd. you see the sign that says the best cake in America as per Oprah Winfrey who had it as her favorite on one of her Favorite shows. Ate here twice. Once for lunch and once just for desert. Lunch was very good, but the desert was YUMMY. we got a german chocolate ice cream cake and a Chocolate Bomb to share. Both were out of this world.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Box Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL

Been to Ice Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.