We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value, but needs cleaning.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good location, good value, but needs cleaning.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay in the hotel. First time was during a business trip during November 2012, this time was family holiday during July . It is amazing how 2nd views can change your opinion. The check in this time was slow.

The hotel is extensively carpeted throughout but the carpets are very dirty, especially around the buffet area in the restaurant.

The complete breakfast is good value at around 18 usd per person, but I was disappointed to see they still offer the "plastic" processed cheese, and have not yet considered to offer the better quality sliced real cheddar.

British travellers should note that if you bring traveller cheques, the front desk will only cash 100usd per day, and even that may be difficult.

Internet is available at no cost, but it is extremely irritating that you need to re-enter the username and password every time you open the iPad , even if it goes into standby mode for short time.

Pool towels (some very old/ smelly) are available at no extra cost, and you may take them to the beach. We found hotel towels lying on the beach at night so we returned them. It is not fair when people do that, as it eventually spoils it for other guests. It is a pity that the hotel does not negotiate a good rate for beach beds and umbrellas, which tend to be about 10 dollars each per day . One entrepreneur on the beach (turn right on boardwalk, then first entrance to the sand , then look right for the yellow white umbrellas) offered a 10 dollar reduction for holiday inn customers when taking 3 beds and an umbrella.

The pool area has a definite lack of sunshades. There are about 40 poolside beds, and only 6 sun umbrellas. The 5 tables and Chairs each had an umbrella.

We found the restaurant staff and bar staff to be great fun and so friendly. Unfortunately I can't say the same for the check in desk staff , as they gave me the impression that they didn't care.

I would still use this hotel for business purposes, as the location is great, but doubt I would come back for a vacation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Simon P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    443
    244
    82
    45
See reviews for
344
292
43
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. Right on the ocean with a view of the ocean and boardwalk. You do have to pay for parking but it is a small price to pay considering you are right on the ocean. We went in late November and the water was turquois and warm. Nice restraint on site.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an ocean view. Well worth it. Also ask about the parking so you are not surprised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulinek
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. Location was great. Right on the beach. Pool area was clean and well maintained. We especially enjoyed sitting by the pool in the evening when it cooled off and there was less activity. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yismail, Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always a joy to receive positive reviews with only great things to say about our Holiday Inn Miami Beach. Our pool area is definitely a gem and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your early evenings resting in that peaceful environment.

We appreciate your petronage and we look foward to receiving you again on your next trip to Miami Beach.

Sincerely,

The Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms are basic and dark or ours was ,, pool bit murky but Miami beach right outside . Staff friendly concierge helpful bus ride to south beach 4 dollars each pool towels could do with replacing . boardwalk between hotel and beach .stunning clean beach 25 dollars a day for sun beds

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yismail, Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We do our utmost to update our rooms maintaining vibrant wall accent and modern dark wood furniture. We are happy that you enjoyed our wonderful backyard right on the beach and the boardwalk with stunning views of the clear water.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and would appreciate it if you would contact me directly on your next trip to South Beach, to ensure your accomodations and stay is most memorable.

Sincerely,

Yamila Ismail
Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was in a great location right on the water the view from our room was breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable beds, we enjoyed our stayed and would defiantely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is an excellent value. The location is so convenient. It is in the center of South Beach. The views from this hotel are breathtaking. The staff is very courteous and professional. The rooms are very nice, as well. They were very comfortable and clean. I look forward to a return visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yismail, Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review.

We are pleased that you found the hotel an excellent value. We agree that the location could not be more convenient on the breathtaking beachfront and just minutes from South Beach. Our friendly staff is always at their utmost to ensure your stay is most memorable.

Please be sure to reach out to us on your next visit to South Beach. We want to make sure this is your "to go hotel"!

Sincerely,

The Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent 2 days there before a cruise last February. We will be returning next February for 4 days.
This is a gem in a very expensive area. I got an "art deco" feel walking in and the lobby area is very comfortable. All the staff responded with smiles and a willingness to be of service, no matter what the request was. Though the bar area is small, it is comfortable and inviting.
The beach is breathtaking (and I live on Cape Cod MA, so I know beaches!).
Love that we were on the boardwalk and could get around easily.
The Tiki Bar, and hammock were nice surprises. The pool area was also very nice.
This will be our go to hotel from now on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yismail, Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It is always such a joy to receive positive feedback and comments from guest that had a great experience. We agree that this is our little Art Deco gem in Miami Beach.
Than you very much and please do reach out to us on your next trip to South Beach.

We want to make sure your next stay is just as wonderful!

Sincerely,

Yamila Ismail, Director of Revenue
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Address: 4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#87 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Beach hotel has a premium oceanfront location! Welcome to the tropically inspired Holiday Inn Miami Beach - Oceanfront, where our 1950's Miami Modern exterior blends seamlessly with vibrant contemporary South Beach style to wrap you in modern comfort. Eleven miles east of Miami International Airport, our Miami Beach hotel is located where I-195 meets A1A at the Atlantic Ocean.Our hotel in Miami Beach offers you an unparalleled location, with the Atlantic Ocean's sandy beaches as our backyard. Follow the South Beach Boardwalk into the Art Deco world of South Beach for shopping, dining or the vibrant nightclubs. Take a moonlit stroll on the beach by night and play in the surf by day, or simply relax by our large pool overlooking the beach and our lush, tropical garden with its hammock oasis; it's a great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Families will find it easy to get to Miami's museums and attractions, as many are within 15 miles of our hotel.Business guests appreciate the close proximity of our hotel to the Miami Beach Convention Center, two miles away. Our Miami Beach accommodations are within 10 miles of Sony, Mt. Sinai Hospital and the University of Miami. The free wireless Internet access will help you stay in touch while you travel.Our non-smoking hotel is perfect for a Miami Beach trip. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Paradise Cafe, dine in your room, or have a yummy Mojito at our Blue Parrot Bar. We have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.