We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for first-time Miami visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Miami Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for first-time Miami visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights/3 days with my bf and we enjoyed ourselves; Miami is overall very pricey so nothing was unexpected i.e.) ridiculous valet parking charges. We loved the pool and beach, especially the boardwalk (took great jogs along the water). I loved how close Collins Ave was to restaurants; Lincoln Road was amazing as well as Ocean Drive. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious as well as the food at the tiki bar. Very disappointing gym...glad we had nice weather to go for jogs. We had to flush the toilet 2-3 times in order for anything to go down which was a bit annoying as well. Overall for an 'affordable' Miami stay, it was certainly worth it.

Room Tip: If you want good sleep, don't go during Spring Break!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    500
    271
    87
    48
See reviews for
374
323
53
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We decidedly did not want to stay in South Beach because of all of the loud partying, so we found this decent hotel in midbeach instead. Outside pool and direct beach access are nice, staff was friendly (not particularly helpful, but very nice). Workout room is really a 15x10 room with three machines and a television. The location is right on the beach next to a great small boardwalk perfect for evening strolls. Rooms were completely adequate, very clean. Would have liked a fridge. Unlike other reviews, I have found no problem with internet access except for slow download speed (websites run fine).

Other issues came from less the hotel itself, but from the other guests. Despite no smoking signs everywhere, the floors (not our room) always smelled like smoke, and guests all around us were loud in the hallways all night.

Despite what seems to be a mixed review though, we were generally happy with where we stayed because of the location. The beach was less crowded and quieter, and to get to southbeach at night for night life was a breeze on any of the busses than come and go every 15 minutes (2$ for regular bus, $2.35 for limited per person) and took 10 minutes to get to Lincoln Street (the downtown hub for classier night life). Free towels to borrow, and chairs on the beach all day for 10$ a day.

For kosher travelers in particular, this is a fantastic location due to its proximity to the 41st street shopping district, in which there are half a dozen or so EXCELLENT restaurants and a small supermarket. This was some of the best kosher food I've ever had anywhere (and I live outside NYC). All a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

If you want a real workout facility by the way (Jewish or not), the JCC is a 10 minute walk away. It is only 10 dollars a day for a guest pass.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked this hotel thorugh NCL for a couple nights post cruise, as the Marriot Miami Beach was full that we stayed in one night pre-cruise. We were told we would get a very early check-in but that did not happen as the hotel was 100% booked the night previous as it was the beginning of their spring break. The lobby was inviting, the consierge was very helpful and breakfast was good. The rooms need updating, particularly the bathrooms. Our showerhead was terrible and although our room had a partial view of the ocean and bayside, we faced a neighbouring hotel/condo that had an outside bar with a DJ that went on late into our first night and kept us awake. We knew the hotel was at 100% capacity so we didn't bother complaining, but thankfully all was quiet Sunday night and we had a more restful sleep. Porters and doormen were great as well. Although our room still wasn't made up at 4pm on the Sunday after we returned after beign out all day at Jungle Island. As the area was extremely busy this past weekend with several events going on in both Miami and South Beach we relaxed poolside the rest of our stay, but the pool itself was freezing and we decided to avoid Lincoln Road and South Beach and ate north at around 71-72 Streets and Collins at Little Brazil and Rancho Grande both nights and enjoyed our meals at both places in the latin district.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the north side facing the neighbouring property on Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastete, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank You for staying with us after your cruise. I apologize for any wait you experienced while waiting for your room to be ready and appreciate your understanding of the dynamic of the hotel’s occupancy, I am glad that you found our staff helpful and also that you were able to relax and enjoyed your international meals. I hope that you will choose us again on any future visits to Miami Beach.
Francisco Astete CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very close to cruise terminal! Has amenties, close to market. If you're a basketball fan, this is the hotel to go to. Hotel is a little dated, but comfortable.
About 25 minutes to Miami Airport, 15 minutes to cruise terminal

Good value...

Room Tip: Before, or after a cruise, if you're looking for a conveniently located hotel, check this out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear runawaywinterbirds,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention, to give us the chance to improve future guests' experiences. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this hotel, unseen, on the advice of our Norwegain Cruise Line consultant and we are so happy we did.

Walking in you get the feel of the art deco period, the foyer is beautiful with a bar to the right and reception to the left.

The people who greet you on entering are not pushy, just friendly and wanting to assist in any way.

The room was nice and had a view of the ocean. The ocean. OMG, such an unexpected delight.
The hotel is on the boardwalk ( not sure if it is " the" boardwalk).
No matter it was all majestic. One of the best beaches I have seen, and I live on Cape Cod, MA!

There was also a tiki bar and pool area which was roomy and very natural feeling. An additional surprise was how great the hotel food was. This is a must stay at resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastete, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are pleased to know that you find our location adequate to your needs. I will share your comments with my staff and make sure that we continue providing the same quality of service to all our guests.
Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you back in Miami Beach on your future vacations.
Sincerely,
Francisco Astete CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel definitely meets the expectations and giving everything a tourist wants to get at this price, I can specify the location of the hotel just a wonderful and close almost anywhere,personally I was very pleased.
sorry to say, the hotel have some "noise problem", as the rooms split by drywall or something similar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastete, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Miami Beach. It is important to mention that our rooms are separated by walls with insulation in between and we will do the best to provide comfortable and quiet accommodations. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you on your next trip to Miami Beach
Francisco Astete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pros:

The views from our specific hotel room were amazing. We were on the floor second from the top, with views of the beautiful beach and ocean to our left, and the breathtaking downtown Miami skyline to our right.

The grounds by the swimming pool were well maintained and pristine. When walking by on the boardwalk and viewing the backside of the hotel, the Holiday Inn Miami Beach felt like a hotel we were proud to have chosen.

The hotel staff at the bellhop desk was great. We arrived hours before our check-in time and the bellhop held our luggage, allowing us to get an early start on exploring the area without lugging our bags around. We took advantage of this service again after checking out. The bellhop who serviced us, Steve, was pleasant and had an upbeat attitude.

Our hotel room was clean, as well as the bathroom.


Cons:

While in the room, mainly in the late mornings, we could hear a ton of talking from the hallway and adjacent rooms. Also, at one point we thought the room next to ours must've been a storage room, as it sounded like all types of equipment was being shifted around. Further still, at one point we heard a loud screeching noise above us, that sounded like someone dragging a heavy object across the floor above.

The water temperature fluctuated frequently while in the shower. Every minute or so, the water would become very hot for 3-4 seconds then return back to normal.

Although the room came with a nice flat screen TV, it wasn't tuned to HD. After years of watching nothing but high def, anything less seems archaic. This wasn't a big deal as we were in Miami!!, but I can see how this would bother some so wanted to mention.



Other notes:

We didn't mind staying 20+ blocks north of the famed South Beach. The walk along the boardwalk down to South Beach took 45 minutes at a leisurely pace. The scenery and atmosphere along the boardwalk was so amazing, that we actually prefer to walk rather than catch a cab/bus. We walked back from South Beach late at night along Collins Ave and felt very safe in doing so, as Collins is well lit and always abuzz.

We rented bikes from the Deco Bike station across the street. You can ride down to South Beach in a few minutes for $4. See decobike.com for details.

Holiday Inn Miami Beach is next to Fountainbleau and Eden Roc. We went to both during the evening to experience their immaculate dinner and lobby scene. Checkout my TripAdvisor review of 1500 Degrees, an Eden Roc restaurant.

There are not many restaurants by the hotel. However, we loved Primo Cafe, which was cheap, quick, and very good. Carrabbas is a couple blocks away as well.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Miami Beach and would not be opposed to staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Address: 4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Beach hotel has a premium oceanfront location! Welcome to the tropically inspired Holiday Inn Miami Beach - Oceanfront, where our 1950's Miami Modern exterior blends seamlessly with vibrant contemporary South Beach style to wrap you in modern comfort. Eleven miles east of Miami International Airport, our Miami Beach hotel is located where I-195 meets A1A at the Atlantic Ocean.Our hotel in Miami Beach offers you an unparalleled location, with the Atlantic Ocean's sandy beaches as our backyard. Follow the South Beach Boardwalk into the Art Deco world of South Beach for shopping, dining or the vibrant nightclubs. Take a moonlit stroll on the beach by night and play in the surf by day, or simply relax by our large pool overlooking the beach and our lush, tropical garden with its hammock oasis; it's a great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Families will find it easy to get to Miami's museums and attractions, as many are within 15 miles of our hotel.Business guests appreciate the close proximity of our hotel to the Miami Beach Convention Center, two miles away. Our Miami Beach accommodations are within 10 miles of Sony, Mt. Sinai Hospital and the University of Miami. The free wireless Internet access will help you stay in touch while you travel.Our non-smoking hotel is perfect for a Miami Beach trip. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Paradise Cafe, dine in your room, or have a yummy Mojito at our Blue Parrot Bar. We have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.