We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Miami Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Average - at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent the night here and have to say I was somewhat disappointed. The location isn't bad as it's right where South and North Beach meet and it has good freeway access at 41st Street. However, the biggest disappointment is with the service at the front desk. The woman who performed the check in was surly - no exaggeration. She was absolutely rude and surly and mumbled. The room was not ready (not a big deal) but she said they would call me when it was available and that it would be no later than 4pm, the guaranteed check-in time. When 4:00pm came and went with no call, I went back and the front desk had three people there, none of whom seemed terribly interested in assisting. Lo and behold, the keys were ready to go. No apology for not calling.

Beyond the terrible check-in experience, the rest of the hotel was just average. This is clearly an older hotel that has been "refreshed" to bring it in line with the Holiday Inn current standards. The wifi was weak/slow and the shower had intermittent temperature control problems.

I wouldn't recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear LBOskiBear,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not given exemplary service by our staff on duty upon check in. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We constantly strive to provide value to our guests, thus, we are sincerely concerned when we fell short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you and we hope that you give us another chance of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    577
    317
    98
    54
See reviews for
436
368
58
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, ON Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here February 7-10, 2013. Check-in was easy and quick and the lady who checked us in was awesome and made sure we were taken care of. Room was nice and clean. Breakfast is expensive so we only ate there once and we never ate in the restaurant for supper because the food was too upscale for us. We walked down the street to Carrabba's Italian restaurant where the food was amazing and reasonably priced. The pool outside the hotel was well maintained and always had plenty of chairs and towels. The only downside to this hotel was the wifi, although free you literally have to stand on one foot to get a good signal. Overall we would stay at this hotel again based on the rooms and service we received.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent value for the money during a mid-February stay. Older but nicely updated hotel with very clean rooms and extremely attentive staff and service. Beautiful outdoor pool, tiki bar and right on the beach!!

Only downside was there appeared to be no balconies to enjoy the ocean view. And you do need a taxi, about $12, to get to the South Beach hot spots. We walked it once from dinner and Mango's back to the hotel - my feet are still barking!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights before going on a cruise on Feb.1-2, 2013. The hotel is right on the boardwalk which is on the beach, great location. When I reserved the room it was for a King. I got there and they tried to stick me into a room with 2 double beds. After going around and around with them, a king with no view appeared. The room was out-dated and there were holes in the carpet by the bathroom, which was pretty small. Standard size hotel shower, but only room in the bathroom for 1 person. The restuarant was fair but our waiter was pushy and not that accomodating. Overall it was ok, but as far as I'm concerned it was way over priced. You are paying for the location not the hotel thats for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear bcharbonneau,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated our convenient location. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment your room accommodation and the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice hotel, on the beach, very affordable accommodation prices and supportive concierge. Take a beach view and feel like in Miami Beach. Ha ha ha. Special extra is free parking. Would come back again probably with family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean, good service and very well located. Be sure to include in your reservation breakfast because It's quite expensive if you don't have it included. Better if you don't have a car because there is no free parking and valet is expensive. If you need to go to Lincoln Road I recommend you the bus service which is excellent. I recommend this hotel with no doubts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel dependencies such as lobby, common areas, pool and restaurant are nice.
When it comes to room, then it´s another story: old ceiling (styrofoam, like old offices), old bathroom with the pipes exposed under the sink. The most stupid way of turning on the shower: need to pull the tap hard towards you; and it doesn´t keep the temperature, going from hot to cold and hot again... no way to relax.
Despite of that, what I really liked a lot was the restaurant. Great dishes, very well prepared either in lunch or dinner. This saved the stay, together with the fact which has an easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: I saw some reviews either saying the room was good and new and other saying it was old. I guess it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear brazfm,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am so glad you liked our hotel restaurant. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Address: 4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Beach hotel has a premium oceanfront location! Welcome to the tropically inspired Holiday Inn Miami Beach - Oceanfront, where our 1950's Miami Modern exterior blends seamlessly with vibrant contemporary South Beach style to wrap you in modern comfort. Eleven miles east of Miami International Airport, our Miami Beach hotel is located where I-195 meets A1A at the Atlantic Ocean.Our hotel in Miami Beach offers you an unparalleled location, with the Atlantic Ocean's sandy beaches as our backyard. Follow the South Beach Boardwalk into the Art Deco world of South Beach for shopping, dining or the vibrant nightclubs. Take a moonlit stroll on the beach by night and play in the surf by day, or simply relax by our large pool overlooking the beach and our lush, tropical garden with its hammock oasis; it's a great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Families will find it easy to get to Miami's museums and attractions, as many are within 15 miles of our hotel.Business guests appreciate the close proximity of our hotel to the Miami Beach Convention Center, two miles away. Our Miami Beach accommodations are within 10 miles of Sony, Mt. Sinai Hospital and the University of Miami. The free wireless Internet access will help you stay in touch while you travel.Our non-smoking hotel is perfect for a Miami Beach trip. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Paradise Cafe, dine in your room, or have a yummy Mojito at our Blue Parrot Bar. We have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.