We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service ever had, from doorman to hotel manager.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Perry, South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Perry, South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Perry, South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2377 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Gansevoort Miami Beach) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best service ever had, from doorman to hotel manager.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We were down for the Wine and Food Festival. Didn't expect to spend much time in the hotel. But couldn't leave it! Left food festival events early to get back early to hang by the Plunge pool and have drinks in the sun. (What an amazing view of the ocean, great drinks, great food and great service---Need to find out how to buy one of those Circle couches for our home--awesome) We also had dinner at their Asian restaurant one night. The food and service was outstanding. The staff was amazing from the hotel manager , the concierge, to the Plunge manager. All the staff did all they could to make our 20th anniversary celebration spectacular. We knew our wedding was amazing 20 years ago--but never expected hotel management to care so much and make our 5 day stay for our anniversary so wonderful. They upgraded us to an amazing 2 bedroom, 3 bath room. Bought us drinks and cabana bed by the roof top pool while we waited for our room to be ready. Just can not say enough how beautiful the hotel is and how nice the people are. We had so much fun we want to make it a yearly event to get away from the snow every winter for a short trip. Would never think of staying any where else than The Gansevoort South. Have had many trips to top hotels (Ritz, Manderin Oriental, The Taj, The Plaza, The Fairmont, The Four Seasons....) but no one ever treated us like The Ganesevoort did. You will have the same quality hotel, but the main difference is SERVICE. Would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    281
    151
    112
    170
See reviews for
159
379
36
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Just got back from a weekend at the Gansevoort South. The hotel was a complete disappointment. It prides itself in having especially large rooms (as clearly advertised on the hotel's website). However, we were checked into a small room that was 11 feet wide, at best, and couldn't even fit a chair in front of the desk (there were only approx. two feet between the desk and the edge of the bed). Given that we were a party of three, and there were two double beds, we could hardly move in the room.

When we requested to change rooms, we were immediately dismissed by the front desk agent and told to come back the following morning. When I returned the following morning to request a room change, I was told that all rooms with double beds were the same size and that given that the hotel was in high occupancy, they could not upgrade us. I explained that I was not seeking an upgrade, but merely the room that I reserved and paid for approx. $400 per night. After a 30 minute negotiation with an especially unpleasant front desk agent, she agreed to change our room to a room with a balcony, but told me that other than the small balcony, there are no differences between the two rooms, and that our new room is equally small. Not wanting to spend my entire day arguing at the front desk, I had no choice but to accept. At that point I was told to pack our suitcases and leave them in our old room, and that the staff will move them to our new room once it was ready.

Fast forwarding six hours later, we get into our new room, and it is twice the size of our original room. Hence, the front desk agent clearly was not telling the truth when she said all rooms with double beds were the same size. That said, we were very satisfied with our new room.

However, our luggage was still missing. It never made it to our new room. At that point we called the front desk to ask for our luggage and they assured us that they would send it up immediately. Of course, that did not happen. Two hours and two angry calls to the front desk later, I ended up going down to the front desk, grabbing a bellman and going to our original room (where our luggage was left) and taking our bags myself. As a result of this 2.5-hour delay, we weren’t able to make it to the gym and were late to our dinner reservation.

Every other service encounter (other than one helpful waitress at the rooftop bar) was negative. It appears that the staff is conditioned to say only one word... "no"!

When we ordered drinks by the pool (which were roughly $20 per drink) we waited for 45 minutes, only to get cocktails that didn't have a trace of alcohol in them. When we told the bar-tender that we didn't think there was much alcohol in our frozen drinks, he angrily replied that their pour is 1.5 oz and that if I wanted any more alcohol, she'll have to charge me double... hence, $40 per frozen drink!

When we asked for a late check out on Sunday (Sunday night is the slowest night for Miami hotels, so usually shouldn't be a problem), we were immediately told no, even without asking for our room number, or any other specific information. Noon was the absolute deadline.

When we asked the concierge to call our airline and assist us when our return flight was cancelled due to weather, her answer was again... no! She said she was the only concierge on duty and was too busy to be on the phone for us. I had to call myself...

Upon checking out, when I recounted all these encounters to the front desk manager, he agreed with me, apologized and offered me three free drinks... The idea of waiting 45 minutes for alcohol-light drinks, served by a rude bartender was less than appealing, so we obviously skipped that dubious pleasure.

Bottom line, would not recommend this hotel. The one saving grace... It has very nice pool decks.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Been to SOBE now for many years and usually try and stay at different places. The Gansevoort South is I think the BEST hotel in South Beach. It has it all.. great service and attentive hotel staff, modern spacious rooms, delicious food and heavenly beds... Having stayed at the National, Delano, Ritz, Shore Club, Hotel Victor - now there is no other place to stay than the Gansevoort.

Went down to SOBE this Feb for the annual Wine and food and fest. Arrived on a Thur and were upgraded to a 1000 sq foot Suite. WOW like I said. I think the room at the Delano was the size of the closet in this hotel. The room has it all.. CLEAN, free wifi, DVD player, ipod doc, robes, beach towels, Nespresso coffee maker - etc.

Spent most of our free time at the rooftop adult only pool. WOW. The view is breathtaking. Big, comfortable lounges, great music. Roy "big guy" and his staff could not do enough for us. The personal attention was extraordinary. I can't even count how many times Roy and the staff asked if we had everything we needed. The best part of this hotel was full sun until Sunset when I think the majority of the pools are usually shaded quiet early. Had breakfast and lunch by the third floor infinity pool. Also seemed quite nice but given this was a quick weekend away from the kids, we didn't spend much time here.

Given we spent a lot of timing eating and drinking at the festival, we used the spectacular David Barton gym daily. WOW. For a small fee, you have full use of the facilities. Great spin, yoga and Pilates classes. Best gym equipment. It made working out a pleasure.

Also visited the Cuban coffee shop - amazing cafe con leche and snacks if you need. There is also a Cutter hair Salon I utilized for a Sat night blowout. I can't remember the stylist name (lean, glasses) but he did a phenomenal job and didn't rush even when a reality star was the next one up.

The only negative was leaving. i know a bit corny but now back in the cold snow we can't stop talking about our extraordinary stay!!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrelo, Mendoza
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We had a great stay at the Gansevoort South. Our suite (552) had magnificent views of the ocean. So quiet, so peaceful we could sleep in every day. The fact of being at the end of the corridor made it even more private. We enjoyed having a Nespresso coffee maker in the room, the generous space and relaxed decor. The staff was very accommodating, Nabil treated us as part of the family and it is quite evident that management is very much into detail. We particularly liked the beach services and the location totally unbeatable. We can't wait to return. Thank you Mr. Segal and all your team, you gave us a top hotel experience!

  • Liked — Everything! And we were gladly surprised with the free internet access at the business centre
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

This is a great hotel and a true gem. We had a large room which felt like an apartment. The bed and the sheets were incredibly comfortable and we slept very well. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Everything is new, trendy and very tasteful. The gym is the best in South Beach. The restaurant Philippe is one of the best in South Beach.

The service was excellent and we were treated like family. Everyone was warm, freindly and accomodating.

We will definitely return to the hotel and look forward to sooner rather than later.

NYCGARY

  • Liked — Service, Gym and Restaurant
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

This place was awesome on all fronts. I made the mistake at booking at another hotel and visited the Gansevoort one afternoon then immediately switched it up and brought my bags over. Seems there is a new place (and only place) to be in South Beach !!!!!!!!!! Awesome pool on roof, best resturants, gym & spa that will blow you away + the hottest women in the whole city are staying at this place!!!! No matter what your pleaseure you'd be making a BIG mistake if you dont check this place out.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

I have stayed in many luxury hotels over the years. What separated this hotel from many of the others was the excellent service of everyone involved in running this hotel, from the room cleaners, to the front desk staff and especially the general manager.

The hotel is also fortunate to have a first class fitness centre and spa connected to it which further enhances ones stay. The hotel is also dog friendly which was a great relief to our family pet.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a first class stay and experience in South Beach.

  • Liked — service and location in south beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Perry, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry, South Beach

Address: 2377 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Gansevoort Miami Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#108 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Perry, South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. The Perry, South Beach an oceanfront resort with lifestyle amenities, where everything you desire is under one roof. Take in the breathtaking views from our rooftop infinity pool, or enjoy the tropical breeze at our Pool Plaza. Browse in our high-end boutiques or treat yourself to a well-deserved spa treatment. Energize your body, by engaging in the David Barton Gym+Spa. Dining in celebrity chef-driven restaurants, STK Miami is guaranteed to please any palate. After, enjoy a nightcap in one of our nightlife "hotspots." We proudly feature the largest guestrooms in South Beach, which are tastefully appointed with European cotton linens and upgraded amenities. Spanning an entire city block, this ultra-stylish Destination Resort sizzles with modern luxury, exquisite accommodations and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Perry, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Gansevoort South Miami Beach
Gansevoort South Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perry, South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.