We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENOUGH TO DRIVE A RATIONAL PERSON TO VIOLENCE. STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Perry, South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Perry, South Beach to your Saves list
The Perry, South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2377 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Gansevoort Miami Beach) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“ENOUGH TO DRIVE A RATIONAL PERSON TO VIOLENCE. STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I feel like I am taking crazy pills. I booked on jetsetter, a respectable site. I checked into the hotel in a fully functional lobby. I get to my room and there is a dude with a jackhammer on my balcony. Like its normal? This is normal?

Stay away. Unless you get a rate of $20 a night it isn't worth the aggravation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    279
    152
    112
    170
See reviews for
159
381
36
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It is a major construction site. Cranes, jackhammers and workers everywhere. It is a complete disaster zone, windows missing from the building, some covered in tarps and plastic. Balconies are missing in sections of the building. No matter how much (cheap?) they want to stay, don't bother - you will regret it. Yes, i would not stay there even if it was free. There are plenty of other hotels to choose from. Can't believe they are even taking in customers, they should be ashamed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am writing this review as I sit in the hotel. The sound is construction is deafening! They did not show anywhere on their website that they were undergoing MAJOR RECONSTRUCTION. The entire hotel is covered in scaffolding. Half of the entrances are closed/blocked. The pools are continuously closed off and accessing the hotel from any side is a nightmare. The balconies are all closed so you're in an enclosed room - not what you come to Miami for. It is so loud in my room right now that I have to scream at the top of my lungs to speak to my husband sitting next to me in bed. And we have a construction worker walking around our balcony doing God knows what (invasion of privacy?!)

Aside from the construction the hotel is just blah. They are milking the fact that they are home to the famous STK steakhouse downstairs. The service is okay. The room we were first put in had a leaking shower door. So when you got out of the shower the entire bathroom was flooded. After a little bit of arguing with the front desk, they switched us to another room.

But the noise and construction is just unbelievably horrible! The hotel both from the inside and outside is a major eye sore. You don't come to South Beach Miami to see an ugly hotel and deal with loud sawing and drilling!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time there; nice location, nice pool, wonderful support from the concierge. The front desk girl adviced about the construction noise, but it wasn't that much disturbing. Recommended! *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a real shame as it's a lovely beach and staff are trying so hard...but I recommend stay away from this hotel. It is a full scale construction site and for eight hours a day they are jack-hammering outside your window (literally each balcony). The room is uninhabitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It says on the website where I booked that there would only be construction Monday-Friday 8-5pm. When I arrived late Friday night I was again told by the front desk there would be no renovations during the weekend. I was woken up Saturday at 7am by a jackhammer. I called down to the front desk to ask why and they informed me again that there were no renovations. When I walked down by the pool I could see the workers in and out of the building working. Do not trust this hotel. They then refunded me for the 2nd two nights since I wanted to leave but would not refund for the night I had already stayed. I am now fighting with them for a refund. They would also not pay the extra amount it cost me to switch hotels on such short notice. Never will I go back even when they are finished because they are liars!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Loved this hotel when it wasthe Gansevoort. Staff is still the same but thereis MAJOR RENOVATIONS GOING ON. Ther is no balco y and you will hear drilling from 8am til 6pm mon thru friuntil theend od 2013. They did upgradeus to a suite, but you will have to complain to the manager. The hotel wasonly at 20% compacity because of the constuction and there is no longer a rooftop party. Our saving grace was our beach cabana boys, Jose and Omar....awesome. Everydaythey greeting us by saying good morning ms ortegea and
ms keyser

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Perry, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry, South Beach

Address: 2377 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Gansevoort Miami Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Perry, South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. The Perry, South Beach an oceanfront resort with lifestyle amenities, where everything you desire is under one roof. Take in the breathtaking views from our rooftop infinity pool, or enjoy the tropical breeze at our Pool Plaza. Browse in our high-end boutiques or treat yourself to a well-deserved spa treatment. Energize your body, by engaging in the David Barton Gym+Spa. Dining in celebrity chef-driven restaurants, STK Miami is guaranteed to please any palate. After, enjoy a nightcap in one of our nightlife "hotspots." We proudly feature the largest guestrooms in South Beach, which are tastefully appointed with European cotton linens and upgraded amenities. Spanning an entire city block, this ultra-stylish Destination Resort sizzles with modern luxury, exquisite accommodations and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Perry, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Gansevoort South Miami Beach
Gansevoort South Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perry, South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.