We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She needs a little TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Perry, South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Perry, South Beach to your Saves list
The Perry, South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2377 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Gansevoort Miami Beach) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
West of the Drink, East of the Swamp
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“She needs a little TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a luxury hotel that overlooks the ocean, but does not have a private beach. There is a large, barren empty lot behind the hotel. Past that, you are off the hotel property and onto the city boardwalk. Step down to the sand.

The rooms and service are perfect. The rooftop pool area is great, and you can enjoy excellent food and drinks delivered to your chosen seat or chair. $$$ There's a charge for some cabana-type seating. Breakfast $$$ is served near the ground floor pool, and there's a fine buffet for those who get breakfast with the room rate.

The STK steak house restaurant is attached to the hotel, but is operated by another entity. The dining is wonderful -- $$$$.

The ground level pool area is attractive but is definitely showing signs of neglect. Lots of cracked and broken tiles, and the non-slip surface applied to many steps is worn away. For this reason, I withheld the fifth star.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GansevoortMB, Public Relations Manager at The Perry, South Beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Hi Larryat27N,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I have wonderful news for you! Since your stay back in October, we have re-done and enhanced our 3rd floor pool and restaurant area. The pool was re-tiled with gorgeous glass mosaic tile, the wood deck has been stained and we also have new furniture and lots of umbrella's! It looks stunning! We are very happy you enjoyed the rooftop pool, the food and our service. Again, thank you for your nice review. We hope you come back soon to see how nice pool plaza looks. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    280
    152
    112
    170
See reviews for
160
380
36
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 days during the Miami Basel Art Fair. I booked a suite with about 5 weeks notice. When I got to the hotel, they had given away my suite. At check in, I was downgraded to a room 1/2 the size. The manager told me to "take it or leave it" and that the hotel was full. I was charged the same amount for the 600 square foot room as the 1,200 square foot suite. I was offered no apology and no compensation. This hotel is totally unremarkable and charmless. I would never stay in any Gansevoort ever again. I hope nobody else experiences this level of total customer disregard. AVOID THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I am staying in this hotel for ArtBasel Miami Beach with a group of collectors and everybody likes this hotel, the rooms are big, the global ambiance of the hotel is nice, it is directly on the beach which is good if you want to go there for running or swimming, there is 2 pools, one on the third floor and one on the rooftop and two bars also. The staff is very nice and there is really nothing bad to say about this hotel, except it is true kids are not allowed on the rooftop.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I didn't stay at this hotel but we visiting the fantastic roof top patio with.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over the 2011 Thanksgiving holiday. I have stayed at plenty of high end hotels in Europe and US.

Major complaints:

1. ROOFTOP POOL IS CORDONED OFF AFTER SUN DOWN.

The beautiful roof top pool and the available views around ARE NOT AVAILABLE AFTER SUN DOWN. The roof top bar section - near the elevators / away from the ocean - is open but the rest IS CORDONED OFF. The section around the bar had some kind of walls / wind protectors, so there were practically no views except at the edges of the cordoned off area. What's the point then of this being roof top bar then if you can't look at the ocean or over the edge?? Too worried about liabilities ? Why don't you advertise that on your web page instead of the pretty after dark photos of the pool?


2. MAIN POOL IS ALSO IN THE DARK AFTER SUN DOWN.

The lower pool is also not really available after dark. You can go there, and go in the pool, but there are no lights, and the bar and restaurant there next to the pool was also closed. It's Miami, it was 78° outside, and yet the pool is in the dark ?? In Key West the hotel pool side / tiki bars were open until 1 am in the morning.


3. $20 BREAKFAST BUFFET SAME QUALITY AS FREE SUPER-8 MOTEL BREAKFAST BUFFET

For $20 you get the "continental" buffet - a few bagels, some pastries, yogurt, some fruits, and access to a toaster. I've had better pickings in motel chains for free, not what I would expect in this class of hotel. For $20 or MORE you can also ORDER an omelet, eggs, a few more choices. We ordered additional eggs. They must have been made it the main kitchen and were delivered room order style and they arrived with cold hard toast. Again, the value and quality of the breakfast is despicable for this class of a hotel.


4. WIFI: SLOW AND CONTINUOUSLY DROPS.
Its 0.5 MB (512 kb)/ Sec. It's been mentioned in a lot of the other posts, so I'll end here.


5. NO COFFEE MACHINE IN THE ROOM.

In an age when even chain - medium class hotels hotels offer Keurig and other high end in-room coffee / expresso machines, the absence of a coffee machine in this range hotel is unforgivable.


6. MULTIPLE MAINTENANCE ISSUES

There were several maintenance issues with the room and it was apparent that they do not do regular maintenance reviews of the room. The fan in the bathroom never came on no matter what button we pushed. The door closets squeaked very laud. The cleaning staff should have noticed both since they went in the closets and bathroom, don't tell me I should have told the managers. There was also a problem with one of the electrical sockets. And its clear no-one reviews the in-room radio, the people before us had left it at a very loud alarm setting with a 6 am wake up so the next day after our late flight we had a rude awakening.


7. LOCATION IS AT LEAST 1.5-2 MILES AWAY FROM S. BEACH NIGHT LIFE

This hotel is on the beach, but it is NOT walking distance to the the Miami South Beach Restaurants / Night Life unless you consider over 1.5 miles walking distance. It was not a big problem, it was a 5 minute cab drive, and there are plenty of cabs, but again it is not walking distance. Across the hotel is a Walgreen and an AVIS car rental place with a torn-up / under construction parking lot. Not the most scenic area. Don't really understand all the laurels about location.


8. STK IS NOT A RESTAURANT IT IS A DANCE BAR/RESTAURANT

The only dining option in the hotel in the evening (since the pool area is closed) is the STK hotel or room service. But STK is not a restaurant per se, its more a dance bar with loud thumping music and guys in high end suits with 3 girls on their arms, that also has a few dining tables. We ate there - amazing food - - eg. $20 WAGYU appetizer burgers, $13 martinis. Gratuity always automatically added. It was fun for one night, but eating in a loud dance music environment is not always what you might want for dinner. I didn't really see other restaurants within walking distance, as I said, maybe 1-2 miles away I saw others, so we used cabs.


If you prefer this class range, the whole Beach strip in Miami beach is full of choices. I would try a different one, this didn't deliver for us. If you plan on enjoying the pools or roof top views after sun down this is not a good optional at all.

Also see the attached photo - showing the art above my bed in the hotel room. I can understand its appeal to some audience but it was a little unexpected in a hotel room. Just be aware - would you stay in a room with that photo on the wall?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Gansevoort is a heavenly hotel with all the offerings a hotel has to have: Big and beautiful rooms, a gym with everything you can dream of - actually like a maroccan dream coming true;-* The pool at the rooftop with the best view to the skyline and the ocean. I could just take off with my wings from there...
But the best of the hotel are the employees. Everyone is so friendly and helpful.
Especially to mention Lisa, the PR manager, who helps us during Art Basel to realize all our needs and supported us in a way that the Art Angel team so very much appreciated. Thank you for that! Love and light - and bless the Hotel!
Art Angel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GansevoortMB, Public Relations Manager at The Perry, South Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your experience while staying with us! The Gansevoort <3's the Art Angel and her team!!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

We went for a family reunion as a party of 8 with people on their 60's, 30's, 20's and my 3 year old.
The pool area is lovely and family friendly, we didn't experience any loud parties or crashing and service is phenomenal.
The only complaint ev eryone in hotel had is that the complimentary wifi is terrible. It fades in and out and getting a signal even on a cellphone is impossible. The business center hotel computers stopped working as well so we were completely incommunicado for a day.
All in all fantastic stay with gorgeous rooms and bathroom but a little bit of a walk to lincoln rd and other hotspots.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GansevoortMB, Public Relations Manager at The Perry, South Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for writing your review. We are currently upgrading the wifi services as we understand access is very important for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our pools and the hotel overall.
Hope you visit us again soon. Safe travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Perry, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry, South Beach

Address: 2377 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Gansevoort Miami Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Perry, South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. The Perry, South Beach an oceanfront resort with lifestyle amenities, where everything you desire is under one roof. Take in the breathtaking views from our rooftop infinity pool, or enjoy the tropical breeze at our Pool Plaza. Browse in our high-end boutiques or treat yourself to a well-deserved spa treatment. Energize your body, by engaging in the David Barton Gym+Spa. Dining in celebrity chef-driven restaurants, STK Miami is guaranteed to please any palate. After, enjoy a nightcap in one of our nightlife "hotspots." We proudly feature the largest guestrooms in South Beach, which are tastefully appointed with European cotton linens and upgraded amenities. Spanning an entire city block, this ultra-stylish Destination Resort sizzles with modern luxury, exquisite accommodations and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Perry, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Gansevoort South Miami Beach
Gansevoort South Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perry, South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.