We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Apartments to your Saves list
Metropole Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We recently completed a 4 night stay at this hotel and I have very mixed feelings. My family of 2 adults and 1 child thought the 1 BR suite with small kitchen would be a great mix of amenities. First the bad: The rooms are incredibly dark - chocolate-colored walls AND ceiling in all rooms with modest (I would say suboptimal) lighting. Made everything seem even more cramped. The view out the window was of an alley with nearby construction. At 5:03 AM on our second day I was awakened (startled) by the garbage truck emptying the dumpster just outside. At about 8 am each day, construction began so this is not the hotel for you if you are interested in sleeping-in at all. On the second evening we returned from dinner to realize the air condition was not working. We were able to secure another room at about 1 am when someone else did not check in and then moved all our stuff ourselves. This room was equally dark and noisy but entered from the courtyard which was modestly more appealing. One last negative: The TV service was horrible. Despite flat screen TVs in all rooms, the reception was lousy and only provided a handful of channels. While I didn't go to Miami Beach to watch TV, my wife and I enjoy a few minutes of CNN before bed (not available) and I would have enjoyed checking ESPN for March Madness (also not available). I don't think this was meant as a family hotel either despite having some amenities that might be suited to families -- the clientele that we saw tended to be the younger, partying crowd. Also, if you are looking for a hotel restaurant or fitness center this is not the hotel for you either.
The good: The employees were caring and helpful. Without that, this might have been a miserable experience. The front desk agent Carlos was most helpful - Thank you.
Lastly, although separate from the hotel, car valet experience was sketchy. The mantra is "call 30 min ahead for your car." The 3 days that we got our car from valet it took less than 10 min, then 50 min and about 1 hr on the last day.
In summary: This was a relatively inexpensive hotel with a decent location and fabulous employees. I just don't think it was the right one for us.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the courtyard seem most appealing. Check to see the status of nearby construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    121
    79
    44
    56
See reviews for
87
116
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ac
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If your all about location stay here!!! Everything is waking distance beach/clubs/restaurants/ shops EVERYTHING. The suite was so cute! the maids were nice I loved it here! If your looking for scenery ehhh it's mostly buildings but who cares right? Loved the free happy hour we got down the street too

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been transfered to this hotel because of overbooking somewhere else. Service was great, it was beautiful and the outside lounge was very relaxing. The spot is perfect for those who enjoy nightlife and want to party (outside of the room). Full kitchen also, loved it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was booked into this hotel by my travel agent, I was there for business and unfortunately coincided with the spring break.
It was unbearably noisy with no soundproofing, the centre courtyard was party city with partying through to the morning, this would be ok if you were the ones partying, but for a family or business traveller it was not conducive to a restful sleep.
We arrived late for checkin (10pm) and there was much confusion with incorrect credit cards used, no valet parking & assistance of bags from the car to reception and general confusion.
The final straw on the last night was the fire alarm going off (false alarm - a guest had set it off), as we made our way down the stairs we got to the bottom, the door was locked, no way out if there was a real fire.
Value was questionable as I paid as much for my room (3 nights) as I would have in a 4 star hotel a friend was lucky to have been booked into.
In summary, not the best hotel experience I have had in Miami by a long way.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel. Metropole suites in Miami. , was very centrally located right in the heart of the city in the Art Deco district . The South Beach was just a lane away , walking distance . The best part was that there was. Airport pick up . Every evening there used to be a Happy Hour , at Hotel Whitelaw , which was their sister hotel , they offered free drinks for two hours so that was a great attraction. The Hop on Hop off bus was just two lanes away a very convenient and safe way to see the city very informative as one gets to know the history of the city.
The apartment was one bedroom , which was clean with all the amenities . The living room was comfortable and the attached kitchenette was well equipped with all the necessary items. The housekeeping kept the place clean and replaced whatever was required . The staff was very courteous and friendly .
The shopping district of Washington St. And Lincoln St. We're just walking distance from the Hotel. So very convenient.
On the whole a very satisfying experience would recommend people should stay here .

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Your review is stunning atabh!! It sounds like you enjoyed everything about Metropole! From the hotel itself, the cleanliness, amenities, service, and everything in between! We would love to welcome you back to stay with us again, sometime sooner then later! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a group of six girls spend our spring break here and absolutely loved the hotel. It was conveniently located near shops, restaurants, and most importantly the beach! The staff was very friendly and the room was modern yet comfortable. Great for anyone staying in South Beach. A small note, the lighting was pretty terrible making getting ready in the morning or before going out almost impossible. Great kitchen though, we saved money by grocery shopping and could store food in the full sized fridge and empty cabinets. They cleaned our leftover dirty dishes every morning as well which was very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 6 days ago
athames, you are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We do like to keep the rooms dark and relaxed. We offer extra lamps for those guests who want more light. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you back here soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here in spring break with family and can't fault it. The rooms we had where next to the pool area and it was bliss. Great rooms and good staff. The place is central to the beach and valet parking is good. The entrance is hard to find but just look for Steve Madden shoes and its next to that. Would recommend it to anyone and will be going again!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
You like us! You really like us! bennyball75, thank you for making our day with your spectacular 5 star review. We adore having the chance to take care of new visitors like you and can’t wait to do it again! Please email me directly and let me know when you are set to return. I would love to take care of your reservations personally and continue to show the love!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Apartments

Address: 635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Hotel South Beach offers understated elegance and unparalleled service in an intimate, friendly, home-away from home atmosphere. While located in the heart of South Beach, The Metropole's inviting yet private courtyard setting and chic 1 and 2 bedroom suites manage to provide a decidedly residential feel ideal for those seeking calm, in the midst of the action. Production friendly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Apartments Miami Beach
Metropole Apartments Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.