We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Apartments

Save Saved
You added Metropole Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Dumfries, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girls Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We actually had a room at the Chesterfield but was upgraded to stay at this hotel which was very nice of them. The room is very nice but not much space for 5 people which we was told it was "suppose" to accommodate but we made it work. The staff is amazing in person, over the phone they can be a little rude. We were told that we get a ride back to Chesterfield for happy hour but when we called the front office was told they know nothing of that and it is only two blocks away and we can walk. It wasn’t the point that it was two blocks away, we were told one thing and that should have been a communication between the two hotels. The bell hop has to be one of the nicest people I have ever met. Because we was told once again we would not get a ride after check out to our next hotel the bell hop offer to take our stuff back to chesterfield. Two blocks if a long walk with luggage and in the hot humidity heat in Miami. If you like to shop than this place to be, everything is near it but if you trying to party and be in the middle of everything stay in a hotel closer to 800 Collins. Overall it’s a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good Evening Janina L,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are always willing to upgrade our guests if we are able to! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. I am terribly sorry that you experienced a bit of issue with our staff. I will make sure this issue is addressed with the General Manager so that it doesn't happen again! I see that you were well taken care of by our bellmen. We hope that you would stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    94
    68
    35
    51
See reviews for
61
100
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is just what we needed! After returning from a cruise we stayed over night in Miami. By roll of the die we booked through www.kalexander.paycation.com and what a sweet deal it turned out to be. Our room sat on the back of the hotel, facing Ocean Ave. I thought I was going to spend the evening partying (as I usually do) in Sobe. Sadly mistaken. We got caught during a vicious rain storm. What to do? That question became a moot issue when we entered our room. The full home amenities gave me the feel of relaxation as we watched the rain dance on our window pane. The room was so comfortable. The bedroom had a King bed and wall mounted tv. The living room had a tv as well as iPod docking station/radio combo. A convertible bed was also in the living room. The kitchen was fully equipped and the dining room was set up so cute. Comfort was the feel. Traveling with my 2 children allowed us time to reminisce on the great cruise times, while creating memories of laughter in our room. Windows in every room gave us the outside feel while staying dry. Food from Nexxt cafe and we were set. The hotel has a no party policy which meant PEACE! At 11pm the gates are locked and this becomes a secured building. You must be buzzed in to gain entry. I'm a very peculiar person as it pertains to my travel plans. My Miami visits previously meant I HAD to stay on Ocean. Well, I've had a change of heart. This Collins Ave. hotel gives the convenience of all that South Beach has to offer without the noise factor. My vote, thumbs up! Parking sucks however. $32 a day. There is a lot around the corner I was told that charges $1/hr. I was fortunate and found street parking. Remember, I was only there overnight.

Things that prevented a perfect score: minor things
1. Renovations are still needed on some parts of the hotel (fire extinguisher missing on our floor, I believe it was the 3rd floor had rags propping the door open, etc.)
2. I expected a full sized pool. It wasn't, though the "pool area" was nice.
3. Patio furniture was slightly tattered.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor, rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello divineinte,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! Here in South Florida we can get some crazy storms, that come out of no where. Metropole can make your stormy weather stay comfortable! Full amenities, comfy bed, TV and channels galore. It seems that we made your stay enjoyable, despite the bad weather! We would love for you to come back, again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What is not to like about the Metropole, Zara, Dash, and great shops on your doorstep, best location. Rooms are great, all the mod cons in the kitchen, bathroom could be a little bigger but very serviceable. Very nostalgic feel about the place, nice little courtyard. Staff very helpful, I would stay hear again in a heartbeat. Loved the free drinks at their sister hotels in the evening too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there kevin27,

There is nothing better then a wonderful review, such as yours! Our staff are all working hard to ensure that everyone has the best stay ever! The location of Metropole can't be beat. Shops, shops, bars, restaurants and more shops all around us. Please come back again when visiting Miami! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Metropole has a huge advantage of its location. Simply get out of the Hotel and let the Steve Madden be at your back. Move left and another left.. Go straight and you will find the Miami Beach right before you. Move left and go straight to have a LONG series of some great restaurants and cafes.

Cross the 2 roads in front of Steve Maddens and go right to find the infamous Club Madonna... Again at walking distance.

Bottomline: You have everything except airport in your reach. For Airport, the hotel provide its Shuttle as well. Best of both worlds !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Great review Maaz B!! Thank you for choosing to stay at Metropole, while visiting Miami! :) Steve Madden store is right out front! :) Hard to stay away from there since there are SO many nice things. Everything is within walking distance of the hotel, if not a 5 minute cab ride away. Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to the beach
Kind people on their staff
Nice location
Amazing apartments
Also they have this pool and they keep playing good music all the time

Sure the price is not what i wanted, but considering we are in south beach I can say thats OKAY.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a 1 bed apartment for a week with a 50% off deal. The apartment was well equipped with most things you would need although we had to ask for a few kitchen items that were missing. The location of the beach is so close it is ideal for visiting nearby restaurants and shopping. The swimming pool is only a plunge pool, too small to use which was a shame, it also didn't look too clean. The apartments were cleaned everyday and to a good standard. The bathroom was a small ensuite with no bath just a shower but it suited us fine. The living room and kitchen were great as we like to cook our own food and watch the massive TV in the evening! The air conditioning was amazing and worked all the time it was essential during our stay in August! I would recommend this place for the location and would definitely stay again for the 50% off deal as it was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the building as the road at the front is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there Mussells!! Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am stoked to hear that you were able to get a 50% discount off of your stay! :) We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the hottest spots. Our pool is a splash pool not a full swimming pool. It's for those really hot summer days. Jump in get cooled off and out and on your way again. Please come and stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver spring
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I will give this hotel it's credit that it's beautiful. It looks 100x better on the inside than it does on the outside. It's awesome on the inside.

Cons:
-pool is the size of a sauna and is about 2 feet deep
-service is slow and doesn't seem to care. They also talk about you in Spanish (I'm fluent even though I don't look the part)
-staff doesn't know a thing about customer service (no greetings, nada)
-no house cleaning whatsoever

Anyways.. Don't stay here. I found a cheap price on expedia and decided to give it a chance. But, it's not worth it. Please do not do it.


MUST READ:Do not use SBJ valet parking that is offered on Ocean Drive. They charge you $30 a night while the hotel charges $32. SBJ workers are very unprofessional, move your car w/o telling you & they scratched our car. When we confronted them about it, they did nothing to help us & told us that it's because of the paint of our car. They speak in Spanish about you, but I am fluent in Spanish even though I don't look the part

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good Evening Dontstayatmetropole,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! Our pool is a splash pool, not a full sized swimming pool. It clearly states this on our site as well. We strive to provide outstanding service, so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! I will share this with the General Manager, so that he is aware. We advise guests not the bring their vehicles if possible. Parking has always been a hassle here on South Beach. For those who do decide to bring their vehicles we offer valet parking. We charge a $32 fee for parking per night, with as many in's and out's as you'd like.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Apartments

Address: 635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Hotel South Beach offers understated elegance and unparalleled service in an intimate, friendly, home-away from home atmosphere. While located in the heart of South Beach, The Metropole's inviting yet private courtyard setting and chic 1 and 2 bedroom suites manage to provide a decidedly residential feel ideal for those seeking calm, in the midst of the action. Production friendly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Metropole Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Apartments Miami Beach
Metropole Apartments Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.