We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Apartments to your Saves list
Metropole Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solid place, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days and it is a very nice place. The room had a separate bedroom which is nice and a mini kitchen. I could even see the Ocean from the window. Location was great, right by the beach and walking distance to most places. The only negatives were the key cards didn't work well and there was no pool. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello Stephen L,

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback, regarding your recent experience with us! Our rooms are like mini apartments. We offer everything that you need to have an exceptional time! We are located just blocks away from all the hottest spots on South Beach. We advise all of our guests not to place their key cards next to their phones. This will deactivate the key cards immediately.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    110
    73
    38
    53
See reviews for
73
107
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went away for a relaxing girls birthday weekend and stayed at this hotel. We stayed in suite 106- Excellent!!! The suite is very well decorated in modern fashion, dark hard wood floors, plush down comforters on each bed. There are 2 bedrooms, each of us had out own space which was great. There were 3 of us and one slept in the living room, which was cool with her, each room has a flat screen wall mounted tv. I just wish the hotel had room service. The hotel is in a great location you can walk anywhere- The suites are also located in a very cool court yard area with a wading pool, I would recommend this hotel to anyone , it feels very exclusive, the staff was helpful and accommodating, allowed us to lay around all day and cleaned the room late- Excellent!!

Room Tip: Book a suite- It is great value- the have full kitchens and dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good Evening nicole c,

We are grateful to read your amazing 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us! It seems like you and the girls had a great birthday weekend here at Metropole! We offer a fun filled time, at a reasonable price, in a killer location. We hope that you and the girls come back for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Pros: location, staff, clean rooms... Oh and did i say LOCATION!

Cons: dim lighting in the room, the only bathroom in the 2br suite was located inside one of the bedrooms

Me & a couple friends came down for Memorial weekend our flight arrived early & since our room wasn't ready we were upgraded into a larger suite with no additional charge, staff was friendly and helpful...guests were quiet and courteous... Location was excellent one block from walgreens, one block from the beach, one block from Washington ave were all the night life begins,10 min walk to Publix grocery store ... Yeah there are sum minimal updates tht could improve on this place but overall it was a great hotel and i will b returning

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello there YorHighness,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your feedback with us! We are located in the heart of South Beach just blocks from all the action. We do like to keep the rooms dark and relaxed. We offer extra lamps for those guests who want more light. We are always willing to upgrade our guests, if we have clean and ready rooms available. Our staff all work hard to make sure that everyone is enjoying their time spent with us! We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is extremely overrated I will NEVER stay here again! Do not let the visual display fool you on their website the rooms are very small. The mirror doors fell down the first night we were there and I complained about it multiple times and they never came to fix it. They charge for basically everything! Cans of Coca Cola were priced at $3.. even the usually complimentary coffee wasn't free. Online it says nothing about a $100 deposit that needs to be held from your credit card so don't let the 1st payment online fool you that is just deducted from total amount, they told me I would get the money back when I checked out and then when I did check out they told me that I should get it back within a week or two which pissed me off even more! The pool is like the size of a bathtub NO IT IS NOT A JACUZZI. The front desk guy would come out and tell us to be quiet or he would call security which I found beyond annoying since we were speaking at a normal volume especially since the hotel was so damn expensive. My hotel room key would constantly need to be reset, and at times there would be no receptionist at the desk...The shuttle bus from the airport was hot terrible AC with only one man working (driving, loading and unloading the bus with luggage.. drop offs were to about 4 other hotels) ... the bathroom has a very large mirror which was great but the toilet button needed to be pushed down very hard and held for a few seconds in order for it to finally go down.. the shower is a stand up shower no tub with a half way glass so water would constantly get on the floor .. there were homeless people sleeping in the patio area which was both disgusting and strange .. Lobby is super small can't even consider it a lobby its more like a closet, my check in process was so long so many things to sign.. Also when it was time for us to finally leave the hotel and head to the airport i schedule at 2pm taxi to pick us up the taxi driver never showed up and the front desk guy told us he was "stuck in traffic" at 2:30pm when i went to check up on what was going on instead of as soon as he found out so we could've been on our way. The shuttle bus from the hotel to the airport starts running at 7am it is not 24hr! I will not recommend this hotel to anyone it is definitely not worth the money! Jersey Shore sure did give this place some good advertisement! that was my first time staying at the hotel in Miami and it definitely will be my last!!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here you're better off staying at the Loews for the amount of money you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello there Diane D,

We value all of our guests feedback, and we would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. We do offer rooms that are larger for those guests who want more space. It clearly states that we will place a hold on your card for incidentals. The hold is released as soon as you check out, so long as nothing in the room is damaged. It can take anywhere from 7-10 business days for the funds to be released back onto your card. Our pool is a splash pool and it clearly states so on our website. We advise our guests not to place their key cards next to their phones. This is how the key cards are deactivated. Our shuttle picks up and drops guests off from other hotels in our group as well. Sometimes there is unexpected traffic due to accidents or what not. We do the best that we can to get guests on time. We are terribly sorry that your time was less then enjoyable.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Valet didn't offer help with luggage, receptionist was unfriendly, incompetent and didn't understand English very well. We had to wait 20min to check in, even though the receptionist was not occupied with other guests. The one-bedroom suite with sofa bed was dirty (hair in bathroom and on towels, dusty and stains on the bed sheets). The sofa bed was not prepared for the night (we were four guests) upon arrival. Even though we asked the receptionist to have housekeeping make the bed, it still wasn't made when we came back 4h later. We confronted the receptionist with the situation, but she couldn't help us because the housekeeper had already left. In the end, we had to do it on our own. Also, the sofa bed was very uncomfortable, as the mattress was very thin.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Good Evening Mjcsch,

We value all of our guests feedback. Thank you for sharing yours with us! We strive on providing outstanding service so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! I am sure that the front desk made a mistake and checked you into a room that was not ready. I am sure you can understand that a pull out is never very comfortable sleep on as adult but typically is used when guests have children. I am sorry you did not enjoy you stay.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were a group of 5 staying in one of the 2 bedroom suites (Room 415) and while the room itself was nice, there are definitely areas of improvement the management should address.

From looking at the hotel from the street, you would never know it existed. The outdoor sitting and 'relaxation pool' was often overrun by the people staying on the first floor and would play their loud music and make it really uncomfortable for anyone else to sit there and enjoy it with them. Management should have put an end to that from the first day since it is supposed to be an area for the entire hotel.

Once in the suite, the air conditioner return was right above the door so you were bound to get hit with water coming and going from the room. There was also obvious water damage to the floor so this has been going on for quite some time (maybe years). The second bedroom that had the bathroom was very cramp - it would have made more sense to have the bathroom door off of the main common living room than from a bedroom - or maybe add another bathroom off of the master since the closet was enormous with tons of wasted space? Either way, it was a weird set up so if you are staying with a group of people do not expect to have much privacy - not only before of the bathroom but because the bedroom door did not shut all the way or lock!

Aside from that, it was a convenient hotel and close to everything. The staff was friendly and it helped to have a full kitchen at our disposal in our room. I'd probably use this place as a last resort for any future visits as other hotels offered many more amenities (actual swimming pool, bars, restaurant, etc) that we would have enjoyed to use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello there danic1229,

We take customer feedback very serious. Thank you for sharing yours with us! I will make sure to pass on your feedback to our team, regarding the noise from the pool. It is constructive feedback such as yours, that allows us to make the necessary changes we need to make the necessary changes. We hope that you would come back to stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We checked in and the Receptionist was very nice and helpful. The General Manager saw I was with 3 teenagers and recommend we take the 2 bedroom apartment and graciously upgraded us because he thought the room would be better for us. It was absolutely gorgeous!! We were so thankful and loved it.. IT had a kitchen and full bathroom with separate bedrooms and dining area. great for long or short stays. Ultra modern and the place was spotless very clean too!

It was close to all the restaurants and shopping. Great location. Thank you for your hospitality and we will be joining you again in the near future!!

We had just come from the Fountainblue and this place made our stay in Miami..

Room Tip: all rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good Day familytravlers71,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are always willing to upgrade our guests, if we have clean/ready rooms available. Our apartments are complete with everything you need to feel as if you were at home. We are in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action. We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Apartments

Address: 635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Hotel South Beach offers understated elegance and unparalleled service in an intimate, friendly, home-away from home atmosphere. While located in the heart of South Beach, The Metropole's inviting yet private courtyard setting and chic 1 and 2 bedroom suites manage to provide a decidedly residential feel ideal for those seeking calm, in the midst of the action. Production friendly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Apartments Miami Beach
Metropole Apartments Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.