We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place near the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Apartments to your Saves list
Metropole Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little place near the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a comfortable one-night stay in this comfortable well-equipped apartment near the ocean. Don't let the small almost hidden entrance fool you; it opens into a great place with a friendly helpful staff. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Carla S,

Your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you decided to share it with us! I am glad that you had a comfortable 1 night stay with us!
Our staff is always eager to serve you and help to create everlasting wonderful memories!! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    114
    77
    40
    54
See reviews for
80
112
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

So my friends and I wanted to escape from home for a weekend and we of course selected southbeach!
Once in metropole, we felt at home. The whole staff was so helpful and gave us a solution for every request we had.

The rooms are clean,spacious and the courtyard area is beautiful. The price of the room was a bit high but after all the staff did for us it's totally worth it!
Many thanks to rene and marco, you guys were excellent and special thanks to sebastian( I think he was the manager) he was courteous and helped with our needs!
Amazing hotel experience, I will come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Christine_boston123,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! We are glad that you chose to stay with us on your weekend getaway! Our goal is the make people feel at home and comfortable! We are so glad that we were able to do that for you! I will definitely let Rene and Marco know of your kind praise!
We hope to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A group of us booked this hotel for our holiday for labourday weekend we where 2 couples staying here. I was bit worried as the price was not to bad and it was in a great location so I thought it must be rough but the check in was simple the rooms where very clean and ultra modern and the bathrooms where in tip top shape, The service was also good, if there was anything i would fault it would be that they charged me for 2 beers out of the mini bar but we dont dring beer and we did not take anything out of there!!!. We liked it so much here that we extended our stay for a extra 2 days and we didnt do it online we jsut simply called up and they extended it and we got to keep same room score !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Good Afternoon Spit_sp2385,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback! I am very glad to read that you had a smooth check in and what you were content with the cleanliness of your room! I am also very glad to read that you were given exceptional service by our staff, and that you extended your stay with us for an extra 2 nights! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this as hotwire hot rate for my parents. Was apprehensive after reading the mixed reviews.
Upon arrival, was told there were no rooms (water damage, ceiling caving in). Had to take 2 taxis across town to first obtain a key, and then ride to the final destination. Which apparently is operating under the name Sunset Apartments, though was originally said the new place would be "Sunbrite".
The sun should set on this bulls**t. Hotwire said they may be able to give some reimbursement for the taxis, but it is not for sure.
Not a great way to start a vacation :(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Good Afternoon xxxx14,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us and all of our future guests! I am sorry that there were no rooms available for you at Metropole due to some unexpected issues that we were not able to fix in time for your check- in. I am very glad that we were able to accommodate you to one of our sister hotels- Sunbrite Apartments. We apologize greatly for the inconvenience that you experienced while staying with us! We hope that you would give Metropole another chance if visiting South Beach again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A vacation should be a positive and stress-free experience but my stay was anything but.

The facts:

· I called for assistance “Every Day” of our stay.

· Dealing with lights not working

· Flooding in our room

· Never getting anything resolved

· Our stay was uncomfortable and unpleasant

· Health and Fire hazards

I was hoping to get this resolved and speak to someone of authority, but I am now frustrated and as of 5 days later nothing has been resolved. I reported them to fraud dept. with Visa. I am hoping to get full charges compensated. Nothing has been done by Metropole or South Beach Group. I am not sure if I would even book with South Beach Group bantique hotels ever again! I have never been treated like this in my life!

The worst hotel stay of my life!

We checked in to the Metropole at 4:00 pm on Friday, January 25, 2013. We entered a well sunlit room. We were all very tired from our long 5-hour drive and decided to take a nap. It was dark when we woke up. I flipped on the light in the bathroom and immediately one of the two lights went out. I asked my sister to call downstairs and let them know about the problem. Before she got off the phone the other light went out, and before maintenance arrived, the kitchen light went out, too!

We were all very excited to be in South Beach but trying to get ready was a challenge. On the first night of our vacation, all four of us were stuck in the one small room – the only one with light.

Meanwhile, the maintenance man arrived while we were all half dressed and stayed for quite a while (this was very awkward)!!! He did not speak English and had a translator with him who explained that the fire safety light turns off when overheated and are only meant to stay on for up to 15 minutes. He then proceeded to bring some lamps up to the room.

The next morning, January 26, 2013, the lights in the bathroom and kitchen were still not working! We called the front desk and asked for someone who can PLEASE fix the lighting situation! We were heading out for the day, so we asked that they wait until we are gone. When we returned in the later part of the afternoon we realized the lights were still not working! We could not believe this was happening!

Sunday, January 27, 2013. As if the lighting issue wasn't enough, the ceiling had leaked water all night and we now had a huge pool of water in our room. It was a consistent drip and seemed to have been an ongoing problem. After looking at the ceiling, floor, and warped door it was obvious that this was not the first, second, or third time this had happened.

At this point I had had it! We had nothing to wipe it up with because housekeeping hadn't brought us new towels after taking our used ones the day before. So once again, I called downstairs to speak with a Manager. I spoke with Sebastian and told him we needed extra towels to wipe up the floor! They said they would fix the leak. In the meantime, we used a bucket to catch the water. So now, not only is our room dark, it is wet too! YUCK! Not to mention a real safety hazard!


Lisa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Lisa C,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback!! A vacation should definitely be stress free. I apologize that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! I am very sorry to hear that the lights in your room went out. I find it very strange that they all went out- one after the other. You could have simply informed the maintenance man to come back in 5 minutes, so that you could get fully dressed and felt comfortable. It would have been his pleasure to do so. Can you please provide me with the number to the room that you were staying in. I would love for the head of the maintenance department to go into that room to check the electricity. This has never happened before in any of our rooms and I am starting to have a feeling that the leak has something to do with the lights going out.
Did you ask Sebastian to change your room? To another room that was not leaking and had functioning lights? If we did have rooms, he would have accommodated you with no problem! The last thing that we want to do is have our guests in a room that is hazardous!

I look forward in hearing from you!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I was bit afraid ,to be honest,when I entered the property as I had read mixed reviews and the first thing I noticed was the small entrance. I was then greated by both rene and mr. marcos.
The check in was swift and easy. The room modern and spacious and most importantly CLEAN. The perks are an excellent addition, unlimeted drinks, free chairs and towels for the beach, WIFI and airport transfer. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Colorado223,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us and all of our future guests! They love to read what you have to say about your recent stay with us!! I am glad that you were given great service from the moment you walked in!! I see that you were content with your room and the cleanliness of it! Our amenities are great and all of our guests love them! From the R/T shuttle, to the beach chairs, to the cocktail hour.
We hope to host your next visit to South Beach!!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My first trip to Miami I travel with two of my girlfriends. We searched the web for weeks looking for a great hotel that offered two rooms at a decent price. The hotel was seemingly perfect offering everything we wanted. We reserved the FREE shuttle from the airport we waited for 2 long hours it never arrived. I had call the hotel to my surprise the listed number for the hotel was to the reservation line which was CLOSED me and my friends began to search the web to find a front desk number to no avail. After about 45 more minutes we were some how able to reach Catalina hotel and ask them to get us in touch with our hotel...it took us over 3 hours for the shuttle when we asked the driver what happen he just calmly stated he did not come...I couldn't believe it that leaving guest strained at airport was ok to say the least. Once we arrived I informed the front desk clerk of our 3 hour long issue of not being able to contact hotel and the issue with the shuttle. He then informed us that it is a free shuttle and we should glad it arrived. I am beyond furious at this point so I ask to speak with a manager who would not be in until the morning. I asked that he contact as soon as he arrived. Worst arrival I have ever had.

The front desk and hallway feel more like a dark creepy closet than a warm and refreshing oasis near a beach. Once we were able to reach our room we opened the door to what appeared to be a swarm of flies and fruit flies gross I have never been to any beach hotel and encounter this problem. I must note that I also live near a beach as well and don't have this problem. There were stains on the furniture in the living room the refrigerator look like someone had punched several times. The room was very very s dark not good for putting on makeup or checking yourself in the mirror. But I must say we stay in a two room in the main garden area and the size of the apartment was great. The size of the bedroom a bit of an issue as the bed nearly touches both walls so it's like you have to literally squeeze between the the tv and bed to get to the window on the opposite side of the bed. Oh and the windows have prison bars on them so the only view was of a nasty dumpster in an alley.

The next morning the GM Andreas never called or came to my room I had to call twice before getting his attention in the garden/lobby area. Once informed of the major issue he seem a little careless but stated that he would address the situation. Housekeeping not great left bathroom dirty and no toilet paper or enough towels. The design of the shower allows for water get all over the bathroom floor (safety hazard).

There were some pros to this 5 day girls weekend
The location was AMAZING in walking distance to nearly everything we only caught a taxi once that was due to rainy weather. The apartment feel allowed us to relax and have a few drinks before heading out each night. Happy Hour each night was great too. The splash pool was nice to dip your toes and have a few laughs among friends an other friendly travelers. Check out I encounter the same problem the shuttle never came front desk only offered to call taxi but said again it's a free shuttle so we can't rely on it's arrival. Poor service. This is very cheap hotel in an AWESOME location. not worth the 4 stars it say they should be. Also I don't understand why they promote a free shuttle and charge you a resort fee of 15 dollars at day....In reading a few responses from the hotel mgmt Katrine states the 15 pays for the amenities they offer by the hotel. Hmmm so the shuttle is NOT free at all. Will not be staying here or any other South Beach Group Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden area seem to have the best view of the splash pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello SassiTraveler33,

Thank you so much for your extensive review on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are glad that you chose to share it with us! I apologize that you were not able to get in contact with the hotel. All of our contact information is on the internet for the public to see. Our shuttle service is steadily monitored and the shuttle didn't come, just because he want to come. There are times where there has been an accident or an unexpected traffic jam that we are not aware of, therefore the shuttle can run late. Miami is definitely known for it's lovely traffic. I am sure that the shuttle driver just didn't understand your question, which is why his response was as such.
The personality of our hotel is dark and sophisticated. We do offer extra lamps for those guests who would like a little more illumination in their room. Were you able to ask the front desk or the operator if they could provide you with that?
I apologize about the lack of communication from our team. I am glad that Andreas stated that he was going to address the issue to his staff. We are currently working on finding a solution for the shower.
The location of our property is definitely great! We are in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to all of the major attractions!! I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm!
Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Apartments

Address: 635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Hotel South Beach offers understated elegance and unparalleled service in an intimate, friendly, home-away from home atmosphere. While located in the heart of South Beach, The Metropole's inviting yet private courtyard setting and chic 1 and 2 bedroom suites manage to provide a decidedly residential feel ideal for those seeking calm, in the midst of the action. Production friendly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Apartments Miami Beach
Metropole Apartments Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.