We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but pricey and average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Apartments to your Saves list
Metropole Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location but pricey and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom suite with two friends. Nothing super special about the hotel. Rooms should be more well kept in my opinion for the price. The bathroom was small and toilet not super functional. They need better lighting in the rooms, has that bachelor pad feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    110
    73
    38
    53
See reviews for
73
107
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Location is amazing, just one block from the main restaurants in Miami Beach.
There´s a public parking very close (half block). Don´t use their vallet cause is quite expensive.

Room is huge. Bathroom is ok, Kitchen, bedroom and living room are very nice.

Problems: room is very dark (dark walls). Blackout curtains don´t work in the mornings so be prepare to wake up early. Our room was facing the street so it was a bit noisy... i would ask for one facing the pool.
Carpets on the room and corridors are a bit smelly... but not terrible.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake City, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Really nice people and service over all great location really close to the beach and shops... Brand stores.. We will return next year... For sure!!!! I loved it so much... We went on our honeymoon , and it was ournfirstbtime in Miami beach and the hotel really is well worth it.. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay very very comfortable and unique... Excellent hotel... We are definitely staying here next year... :))

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Metropole on Joly 17-19, 2012. It was an okay experience, had both its highlights and low points, but we got a great deal on the hotel so I suppose we got what we paid for.

The good: GREAT location! Right in the middle of all of the good shops and restaurants on Collins, a block away from Ocean Drive, just a few minutes walk, but far enough away that the music and energy of Ocean Dr. doesn't keep you up.
Room layout was great, we had a one bedroom; great closet space, nice living room and kitchen area.
Service: Housekeeping was great; Terrence, the night concierge was AWESOME! One of the friendliest and nicest guys!
Courtyard was a nice place to hang out if you had the time-- the pool is really small, more like the size of a hot tub.
Free Happy Hours and shuttle rides are great perks and worth utilizing.

The Bad: The sofa bed was TERRIBLE. It was broken in one spot, so extremely uncomfortable, the 3 of us ended up sharing the King sized bed.. and one night I just slept on the couch itself without folding it out into a bed.
Noise: We were in the room right beside the employee stairwell and on the 2nd floor, so could constantly hear someone slamming the door, people walking in the stairwell, and people moving around on the floor above us. One day, they were doing a complete cleaning of the courtyard, which we could also hear.
Service: The day time concierge, Sebastien, was as helpful as he could be. The bulk of calls coming must be going to him, so understandably he was probably a bit frazzled at times. But we did find we had to call several times to get services done for our room (our safe broke, hair dryer broke, we needed extra towels). And he was the only one at the front desk and answering the phone, so if you went to the desk to ask him something, it could be a bit of a wait.
We asked for a wake up call for our last morning, which they missed by an hour, luckily I was expecting that and had set an alarm on my cell phone.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I got a good deal again and was able to get a room on the 3rd floor and AWAY from the stairwell. Not the worst place, but not the best? Hard to decide my final feelings on it. Hope this review helps you determine, depending on why are you coming to SoBe and how much time you will be spending in the hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
J R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Did you report the sofa bed to management? It is great to know you were able to enjoy the happy hour and utilize the shuttle service. Feel free to contact me directly if you ever decided to return to South Beach so I can help make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed in Miami for 10 days and the Hotel that I always stay was full during the weekend, so I had to move... I was really scared before checking in at the Metropole Hotel, because of everything that is written here, but I have to tell you, it's not THAT bad! The staff is really friendly (everyone was really nice and helpful), and I had a room with a kitchen, a huge living room, an ok bed room, a walk in closet and a mini bathroom...
As I new (because of the reviews here), I asked for a room facing the pool, because of the noise at the street, and I had no problems with that. My room was really quiet!
The room is really great, the only real problem that I see is the bed..... yes, it's old.... the HAVE to buy new mattresses!!!! Please!!! For the price we pay, that bed is completely out.....! Bed mattress was so old that the middle was not "flat"..... And the bathroom is small, that's true, but it's not that bad! They could do something about it, but it's not something that bothered me....
Ok, so in general, the hotel is OK, but I think it's a little overpriced because of these little things... its definitely not a 5 star hotel, and it needs a little renovation, but its good because of the size of the room.... I mean, it's like a little apartment! There are good things and bad!
Ahhhhh they have a FREE shuttle to Miami International Airport, this was really good!!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room NOT facing the street, because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Lsrour,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always grateful for the pro and con review. Your review has been forwarded to the proper department so we can make improvements.
We look forward to your return soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is my third stay at Metropole and as expected they delivered! Sebastian was GREAT help throughout the entire trip as well. Our needs were always address by EACH staff member in a timely fashion! We truly enjoyed our stay- 5 stars without a doubt! I will definitely CONTINUE recommend Metropole to others!

Room Tip: Bottom courtyard area has the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Trayanna H,

We are always pleased to hear we have a return guest. Download our new mobile app for exclusive deals. Our staff will love the positive feedback of there services. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I've stayed at Metropole a few times now. I've had a great experience each time and would recommend it to anyone. The apartments/rooms are plush and very nice; they have a "modern" feel to them with great furniture, lots of space, including stainless steel kitchen equipment. Maybe even better? You can't beat the location, right on Collins and a block from Ocean Drive and the beach.

We recently stayed there in July 2012 - we got a 2-bedroom apartment which was on the 1st floor and our front door led out to the courtyard/pool area (as seen on "Jersey Shore" episode). The beds were comfortable, the living room and couch was cozy for the little time you actually spend in your room, there was an extra dining table and working desk. The rate included free WIFI (although not a very strong signal and fairly slow). It was overall a great experience. A real bonus for us is the fridge, which is really needed when staying in Miami, especially during the summer months. It gets HOT! Go to one of those small markets around the hotel and buy a bunch of water bottles, snacks, etc for really cheap and store them there. It will pay off on your visit....you will need that water and don't have to drink anything out of the mini bar. Also, when you visit the beach, the front desk will get you free beach chairs and towels.

Now to the negatives...there are a few, but this is south beach....were you really expecting the friendliest service in the world? I've actually never had any rude service at MetroPole, just more of the "I don't really care about you" or "I'm busy doing something else so I'm going to ignore you". Just don't get upset about it and ignore them....something to get upset about? If renting a car, the valet parking is TERRIBLE! You pay $32 a night and it takes them 30 minutes to bring your car around. One morning I called ahead 30 minutes and when I came outside, it still took them 15 more minutes to bring it around. It's really bad service if you consider how much you have to pay for it. I've had this issue on all my stays there, so it's not like we ran into bad luck. One last thing I will say is that you have to sign a "party waiver" when you check in, but all the rooms around me played music incredibly loud (there is an I-pod dock with a small sub woofer/speaker system in most rooms) late into the night. But after all, it is south beach so I'm not complaining about that too much.

Overall, my negatives are small and the great things about this place are so worth it. MetroPole's location and room setups will make me come back time and time again. I've been to Miami many times, and bang for the buck, I don't see any better options in South beach!

Room Tip: If you want to stay on the 1st floor by the courtyard/pool area, request Room 106. Best location in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Metropole Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Richiana,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to know you admire the Metropole. For our guest we just launched our new mobile app. It offers our best discounted rates for all of our guest. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Apartments

Address: 635 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Hotel South Beach offers understated elegance and unparalleled service in an intimate, friendly, home-away from home atmosphere. While located in the heart of South Beach, The Metropole's inviting yet private courtyard setting and chic 1 and 2 bedroom suites manage to provide a decidedly residential feel ideal for those seeking calm, in the midst of the action. Production friendly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Apartments Miami Beach
Metropole Apartments Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.