We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Spacious Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach to your Saves list
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   834 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, Great Staff, Spacious Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great fun with family.....all adults. Across from the beach and great places to eat. I wouldn't bring small children to this property. Loud music and young adults partying into the early morning. Both Ronnie and Taylor at the front desk were very helpful. Good strong coffee and hot cookies each morning in the lobby. Room was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 406 - 2 queens, 1 sofa bed w/kitchen. Comfortable and spacious. 18 year old had hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    76
    39
    20
    42
See reviews for
58
80
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This MOTEL gets no stars from me! I was scheduled to stay at the casa grande suites from 7/24-7/28, however, I did not survive that long. When you think of a suite in Miami you would assume the hotel knows there will possibly be more than 2 people in the room. This is Miami and people travel in groups right? So upon arrival we find out that in addition to the cost of the room we would have to pay $50 extra per person per night once you exceed 2. There were 4 of us so that totaled $400 extra which brought our total for the 4 night stay to over $1300.
Now that's great if this is the Westin or Eden Roc but clearly not!
Now let's get to the room... It had a very old and aged feel. You could tell the upkeep was poor. There were chipped counters and ledges with the side peeling off, paint coming off of the walls etc. The furniture did not look bad at first until I noticed the couch was covered with a sheet and thank you for that because it was filthy underneath.
The kitchen was fine. It had an oven, fridge and microwave. The ice maker in the freezer didn't work but that's on the bottom of my complaint list. The bathroom made me squirm, it was old fashioned and poorly upkept. I wanted to wear shower shoes as if I was back in my college dorm. The towels had stains on them from previous users which grossed me out as well so I went to the store and purchased my own. The bedroom had the same dingy sheets as the couch.
The view was awesome if that helps at all.
Regardless of these things, we were still going to make the best of it because we needed this vacation badly.
Now let's get to the service and what ultimately led to me leaving the hotel.
As if it wasn't bad enough we were paying these ridiculous extra fees, every time we exited or entered the hotel the front desk agent, Damien, would ask who we were with and what room we were in. This happened repeatedly even if he had just seen us a few minutes ago. I felt like a prisoner. On the second day in the morning I went downstairs to ask for extra towels because there were only 2 in the room. Damien who was on shift again, accused me of having 6 people in my room and was adamant about it. This was possibly one of the most insulting, demeaning experiences of my life. I am now defending myself and my family to him when I am the GUEST! He gave me the towels after a hassle. Later that day after returning. from the beach we came back to an 85 degree room. The AC had broken and the temperature was unbearable. My sister went downstairs to speak to Damien once again, and this time he was full on rude. He brushed her off completely while he dealt with another guest checking in because surprise surprise she was also upset because she had just learned of the extra fees for her stay. When Damien finally addressed my sister it was rude and led to a shouting match at which point he threatened to come from behind the counter ( this really happened). When she shouted back at him he said that we have to leave and he called the police. It was the most obnoxious, unnecessary thing ever. The police came and agreed with us so we had a report filed. We checked out and got a refund (which they tried to fight), and went to stay at the Holiday Inn on Collins ave which I highly recommend!
Overall the hotel is shabby and the service is beyond poor. I am a restaurant manager and I would never employ or tolerate someone as ignorant as this man. Please do yourself a favor and NOT stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last weekend my partner and I had the chance to return to Ocean Drive and relive a peace of our childhood!!! A weekend in South Beach. We are Cuban Americans, and this great city is what we get to call home. So for us to leave our home and head out for a beach away is leaving home, until you arrive at Casa Grande and you realize your feeling of home just got upgraded. We found ourselves in this beautiful gorgeous classy apartment with a view of the grand ocean right from our living room, just across the street.. It was my partner's birthday celebration and all I can say it was beyond our expectation. From Pedro the parking assistant offering Cuban coffee in the morning, to Ronnie the front desk main man that welcome us with a great smile, energetic and so cheerful saying "Happy Birthday!! Welcome to Casa Grande and have the time of your life" There to help you in anything you needed. We truly did have an amazing bday weekend. Saturday night it was 11 and we were hungry and all you had to do was go downstairs and News Café or Larios were right next door to enjoy an evening appetizer and cocktail. Location is Priceless. This place is yes, in old style Miami Beach but with all the perks and upgrades. You can tell there is a special, detailed and very experienced conductor behind the scenes running this special gem.........Marissa you do an amazing job, Thank you for offering us such a great oceanfront place to call home, and to think... it's right on our backyard.........!!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

By far the staff was very courteous and professional. Front desk checked us in quickly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The clock had a iPod doc. They had Bed and Body Works toiletries. Our flight didn't leave until the the evening and they were gracious to keep our luggage as we hung out on Ocean Drive until it was time to go to the airport. Overall my stay was fantastic!

Room Tip: Across the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I stayed at Casa Grande Suite a couple days before my bachelorette festivities kicked on in Miami. The hotel is nicely decorated, but you can tell that it is an older property. I loved the location, because it was so convenient to all of the bars, restaurants and shopping I could need. The beach was also directly across the street. I enjoyed that the hotel is adjacent to a restaurant and bar that you can access from within. The room was incredibly spacious. I really wished that I'd had friend there with me. It was way more room than I needed. It was something like a studio apartment. A nice sized sleeping are with TV, iPod stereo doc and 2 full beds. There was also a kitchen and dining area that were of considerable size. I would say the room could easily sleep 4-5 people comfortably. There was plenty room for roll away beds. The one draw back was the bathroom. It was pretty small. Only one person could really fit in there at a time without it feeling cramped. Overall, it was a decent stay. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed it. I bought it on special, so for me it was a great price. The price the rooms go for online are a little high, but sometimes they have specials so it's definitely worth looking into if you want convenience and space. As for amenities, I know there is a spa on site, but I never saw it. I didn't see a pool or fitness room either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The Hotel South Beach was a great little find . The staff was amazing , very helpful and attentive . They made you feel important and apprecited . The rooms in the new wing which are on Ocean dr are decorated in a very cool art deco design . The rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable . There was a little courtyard that you could have your meals at , that was quite charming . Great little find in the heart of South Beach . Oh Thanks Davide for all your help .

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

From the second we pulled up, "Edson" was there to valet our car, to when we checked out with "Ronnie", our entire stay was perfect! Located in the heart of South Beach, you will enjoy this hotel. The one bedroom was huge, even had two bathrooms, with full amenities! Steve the manager was on hand to tell us all the must see spots and was even able to recommend great places to eat! Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Ocean view room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Address: 834 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great 2 bedroom plus a den Condo Hotel in South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.