We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient but dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach to your Saves list
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   834 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“convenient but dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pros: location, location, location! Room is big, and with a kitchen -- stove, microwave, a big fridge, bowls, plates, etc.
Cons: Dirty and smelled. The dark maroon color carpet looked really gross. It needs a remodeling. Telephone didn't work and couldn't call front desk. Nobody bothered to take a look after I reported the issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    62
    34
    19
    39
See reviews for
49
67
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Perfect location if you want to be across from the beach and in the middle of Ocean Drive. The units were spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed. We stayed here for seven days and were very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location, large room overlooking ocean Dr/beach! Phone and hairdryer in room did not work though. Man at front desk was a bit snarly but got our room ready before 4pm. Shortest walk to beach and perfect walking distance to everything you need.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Casa Grande after checking this site. I loved that I could cross the street and see the ocean! This hotel is in the heart of the beach within walking distance of everything you could possibly need. There is nightlife, amazing restaurants, beautiful people, EVERYTHING! The staff was professional and caring. There was a mix up with my reservation through a 3rd party site and I was initially upset because I was tired and had a long flight. The front desk staff immediately fixed this issue and got me into a GORGEOUS room with an ocean view. The velet parking was cheaper than a lot of places I went to and they quickly and efficiently got me my car at a moments notice. I highly recommend the Casa Grande hotel to anybody who wants to have a luxurious hotel experience without paying a luxurious price. My new home away from home!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is located in a pretty great spot which is directly on Ocean Drive, where all the action is happening for tourists, however, the rooms are really run down now and in serious need of renovations. The rooms are spacious for sure but the outdated and broken down bathrooms make the rooms "feel" dirty. Many tiles were broken, there's mold in most of the rooms, the toilets have a very slow flush and the shower doors are a liability with an accident just waiting to happen. The carpets are old, ripped and stained badly and the beds are stiff and not comfortable at all. I've stayed here numerous times over the past several years and have had many different types of rooms and they're really almost all the same. Each year I've thought that next time I'm here this will probably all be redone and shockingly nothing at all has been done.

Room Tip: I'd strongly suggest you inquire before staying if the rooms have been renovated yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, General Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Casa Grande Suite Hotel. In all honesty you are absolutely correct with the description of the carpet. As I mentioned to you prior to switching you to another suite we are in the midst of renovating the room you were switched out of. I apologize you had a bad experience with us this time, but have never heard you mention to us any of the above things you wrote regarding your previous stays. I hope the room you were switched to better suited your needs. We in fact did have the black stuff checked in the bathroom and it was old cork, we removed it and it is all freshly grouted and re-corked. We appreciate you always coming back to the Casa Grande and consider you part of the family. Please contact me direclty prior to your next visit at marissa@casagrandesuitehotel.com
Happy Holidays and stay warm!
Marissa Suarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is not easy to find, a tiny entrance in the middle of restaurants and a shop is easily missed.

Pros:

+ Big comfortable living space - LR, DR, Kitchen, bath
+ Microwave, fridge, stove, a few utensils
+ Right in the middle of South Beach
+ Clean if not new

Cons:
- Kitchen barely equipped (one knife, one pot, etc.)
- No facial tissues
- Bathroom doesn't have enough towels
- $25 "resort fee" is bogus this hotel is no resort, doesn't even have a pool, breakfast is a cookie
- $25 "valet fee" which you must use as there is no parking

Nobody bothers you, and the considerate manager who will no doubt respond to this review is nowhere to be seen while you're there.

Bottom line is that you will end up paying about $175/night, but for the area this is still reasonable if you are willing to overlook the skimping on the towels etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good evening Guest,

We thank you for the review you posted regarding the Casa Grande Suite Hotel. I apologize that you did not have all the cooking equipment in your suite and do wish you would have let us know during your stay. We would have been sure to supply you with the missing items so your stay could have been more enjoyable.
Please feel free to contact myself or Marissa Suarez the General Manager upon your next stay at casasouthbeach@gmail.com and we will be sure to have everything you need to cook a fabulous dinner!
Happy Holidays!
Steven Annicharico
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I would stay here again as the location was great if you like being where the action is. I also enjoyed being across the street from the beach. The rooms are all suites which was a plus. However upon arrival we were told that it was an extra $ 25.00 a day for use of the beach towels and for coffee and fruit in the morning (the fruit bowl consisted of 1 orange 1 pear and a few apples) certainly not worth the extra money. The people who work there were very friendly and helpful,

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on the Casa Grande Hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a nice stay and hope you consider us your new home away from home. Please contact me directly next time so I can guarantee your oceanfront suite and we will have some fresh fruits waiting for you and an orange juice maker in the apartment upon arrival.

Happy Holidays and all the best!
Steven Annicharico
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Address: 834 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great 2 bedroom plus a den Condo Hotel in South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.